We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Incredible Indian”
Review of Cassia @ Skycity

Cassia @ Skycity
Ranked #24 of 1,982 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Cassia is a modern Indian restaurant by award winning Chef Sid Sahrawat. A la carte and tasting menus available.
Reviewed 21 October 2017 via mobile

Indian authentic avec fusion de starters incredible.
Caramel kumara and carot... Bhel puri delicious..in final one famous curry : lamb week kabab, bhuna massala ,ginger exceptional....

Date of visit: September 2017
1  Thank alsacien75
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (603)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

221 - 225 of 603 reviews

Reviewed 21 October 2017

There are achingly cool restaurants, there are restaurants serving superb food. It’s rare that the two combine at the same location, but Cassia is one such serendipitous restaurant.

Located in the heart of the city, not far from the waterfront, it’s underground, all concrete, cleaned brickwork and exposed lighting. We were very fortunate to get a walk-up table, albeit at the bar.

The menu verges on the minimalist, but the really friendly, chatty, staff were more than happy to guide you through it and recommend if necessary. We decided on Pani Puri for “nibbles” - puri like I’ve never had before. Mouth-sized little pots of intense flavour combinations. Starters of Scallop & Scampi and Tuna. Both beautifully presented and so carefully flavoured. Mains of Delhi Duck and Snapper. Gorgeous plating, great attention to detail in the myriad of flavours - all complementing, never competing. Both the duck, and especially the snapper, were cooked to perfection, and never overwhelmed by the accompanying sauces. All of this accompanied by an excellent Clos Henri Sauvignon Blanc.

Superb food, great surroundings. Friendly, knowledgeable staff. This was one of the best restaurant meals I’ve eaten; probably the best Indian meal I’ve ever had; a meal that I will remember for a very long time. NZ$149 for all for this is a bargain. If you’re in Auckland, Cassia is a must. But unless you’re lucky, try and book first.

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank DadaGee
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 October 2017

Okay voted best speciality restaurant and I must say I did enjoy the evening. Must admit when we arrived there was a little bit of attitude, which some times happens when restaurants win awards. The cocktails were sensational and the small plates were tasty and if I went back again I would only order these. I would not order the curries as we all found that whilst they were tasty there was very little substance and too much sauce. The Duck curry as an example was one small duck leg but a bowl of sauce and of course not cheap. How does one share that and we were told they are all share plates. The wine list is costly with nothing under $80. Still overall good and loved the decor.

Date of visit: October 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janwholeboxndice
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 October 2017 via mobile

Cassia deserves is spot as best restaurant in Auckland! The food was exquisite, really inventive and super delicious. We love Indian food but Cassia takes it to the next level. Really modern and interesting dishes, we loved everything we ate! The wine list is great and the service was great too. Our English waiter was friendly and down to earth but super efficient and a pleasure. Can't praise this place enough.... best dinner in Auckland!!

Date of visit: July 2017
Thank ChelseaR328
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 October 2017 via mobile

Visited Cassia for the first time for a colleague’s fate as heard about it being an award winning restaurant twice in a row for 2 years. Certainly lived up to expectation. We were served by a very knowledgeable and friendly staff member , the food was well presented and very delicious. Must try is the Malabar chicken! Service was quick and efficient. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: October 2017
Thank 819ashas
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cassia @ Skycity also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Cassia @ Skycity? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.