We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments
Ranked #10 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Certificate of Excellence
north yorks
Level 6 Contributor
121 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
Reviewed 8 January 2017

Hope these wound be similar to merit on/ quest but a bit disappointed . Firstly arrived on a Sunday no reception and phone nos not answered had to wait for someone to come out to get in! Not a good start . Apartment clean but balcony not, small and ok but very basic plain white walls no pictures wasn't cheap hence disappointed

Room Tip: Fine if you want basic
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alfie08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Manager at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Hi from The Team @ Auckland Waterfront
Thank you for your comments. We are sorry your experience with us was disappointing. With reference to your comment 'no reception'. We wish to advise we clearly state on all information we provide our guests that unlike a Hotel there is no reception/office. Arrival and check-in details were emailed to you with the information you needed. It was unfortunate that we could not answer your immediately, obviously we were on another call.

Thank you.
Kind Regards
The Team @ Auckland Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

262 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    200
    45
    9
    3
    5
See reviews for
71
111
7
25
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 December 2016 via mobile

Attending a conference at the Auckland Hilton this year a group of us chose to stay in a 3 bedroom apartment in the complex. Value for money was there as it worked out way more affordable then if we were to book individual hotel rooms. We arrived late at night/early morning and it was a little bit of a hassle trying to get into the room but we got there. The main room was a decent size. The other two rooms a little small for twin sharing - we ended up setting one person up in the living room. The kitchen and living/dining rooms were great useful spaces. We got caught in the elevator for 40 one day and residents reported that this had happened a few times recently so perhaps the building could do with some upgrading. Lots of restaurants within close proximity which was one of the best features of the accommodation. Overall we were happy with the stay and would return if wanting to stay in this part of the city again.

Stayed October 2016, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Manager at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Hi Rebecca

Thank you for comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay. It was unfortunate that you experienced the elevator issue. We wish to advise Princes Wharf Management ( the company that has control of the wharf ) are exceptionally good managing maintenance issues and respond to complaints very quickly. These issues arise from time to time and this was one of those days sadly.

Thank you and we hope you will return another time.
Kind Regards
The Team @ Auckland Waterfront

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Invercargill, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 December 2016

We had a wonderful 4 night stay in Auckland 1-5 December. We travelled as a group of 5 (2 adults & 3 teenage children) staying in a 3 bedroom, 2 bathroom apartment at Shed 23 on Prince's Wharf. We were given clear directions & the apartment was easily located. Once there, we were met promptly by the friendly hosts Maureen & Roger who were more than accommodating & saw that we were settled in. It was a nice surprise to receive a bottle of bubbly & chocolates on arrival. Our apartment was lovely. We entered into a spacious foyer with 2 bedrooms (double & twin) downstairs, adjacent to a large bathroom/laundry. Upstairs was the master bedroom/ensuite & large open full kitchen/dining/lounge with stunning views & glass stacker doors along two walls allowing the sunlight to flood in. The stacker doors opened onto a 2-sided, spacious balcony with outside table & seating for 6. All rooms were light, airy & very comfortable.

The location of the apartment was fantastic. It was surrounded by a good variety of cafes, bars, shops, liquor store, dairy & taxis. Public transport for trains, buses & ferries is only a very short walk away. We found our apartment to be quiet, despite so many amenities nearby.

There was no gym for the apartments. However, our children joined a 24 hour gym with pool & tennis courts within walking distance for $5/day.

We had many things planned for our short stay in Auckland, but found it very easy to stay & relax in this lovely, sunny apartment while watching the activity nearby & on the harbour.

This is definitely an apartment we would love to stay at again.

  • Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cinders41
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Manager at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Thank you for the great comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to you returning another time.

Kind Regards
The Team @ Auckland Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Johannesburg, South Africa
Level 6 Contributor
395 reviews
104 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 137 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2016 via mobile

We arrived after midnight, yet Graham was patient and friendly in settling us in. The accommodation is very spacious and our view across Viaduct and the yacht basin really very nice. It is a short walk to the Viaduct, restaurants and the shopping area. Highly recommended.

Stayed December 2016, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Leon V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Manager at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 January 2017
Thank you for your great comments, we are pleased you enjoyed your stay.
We look forward to you returning another time.

Kind Regards
The Team @ Auckland Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 December 2016

Photos on website are a combination of various units and we didn't know which unit we'd get until we arrived. Check in went smoothly, and we were led to No. 76, in shed 23, at center of the wharf. Allison's directions were clear, and she greeted us with warm hospitality on time. The complex of sheds (buildings), is on Prince's wharf, a fantastic location, next to ferries and the marina where most tours depart. It's surrounded by water, pubs, and eateries of every kind and the Auckland Hilton is toward the harbor next door, (note that views from rental units on that side of wharf facing ferries, can be blocked for 2 days at a time as it's a cruise ship dock. So though the view from our unit was a peninsula of oil storage tanks, parking, and barges, it was dependable, with water between them and us, views of the bridge beyond, harbor views to the right, and marina views to the left). As for unit 76 itself, it had a nicely outfitted and updated kitchen and updated bathrooms. But the decor and furnishings felt more obligatory, ithan accommodating, lacking flare. It's a shame, as this could be a fabulous trendy place - and they plan to remove the oil storage tanks which will eventually improve the view. There was a nice shelf of books. There were no dressers or benches for suitcases. We only found one folding luggage rack, so my daughter and I turned the large twin bedroom downstairs (with walk in closet and shelves) into a dressing room, using the beds for our suitcases. We used the other two bedrooms for sleeping. Housekeeping could have been better with more attention to detail, as there were sticky spots on kitchen floor, and hairs and white flakes on sofas, which prompted me to spend our first hour double checking sheets and other areas, and re-sanitizing toilets. Armed with sanitizing wipes in one hand and a glass of complimentary champagne and a chocolate in the other, (welcoming gifts from management), I made the best of it! BTW - sheets were clean; didn't check mattresses; carpet was clean; dinnerware and nice Riedel wine glasses were clean; 1 toilet needed a bit more help; sofas needed dusting off).
You enter unit on the lower level where there are 2 bedrooms that share a spacious , nicely updated bath with shower, tub, 2 sinks, (though not much counter space), and laundry.1 bedroom is very large with balcony and impressive walk in closet and twin beds. The other bedroom is very small with a large bed, small closet, and little floor space around it. The main dining/kitchen/living areas and views are upstairs as well as a large balcony and mid-sized bedroom with king bed and a small armoire (no closet). This bedroom has a very tiny on-suite bath with 1 sink, toilet, & shower. The unit is a good value if compared to rates of Hilton and other nearby hotels, but it's an average accommodation - not near as nice as the well located 3 BR Chambers Penthouse we subsequently booked in Queenstown for a little more. We would consider a nicer unit at this complex, but won't take this unit again unless it's redone - and I'd love to be the one to redo it! It's a diamond in the rough!

Room Tip: Views on ferry side can be blocked by cruise ships for 2 or so days. Ask for photos specific to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ruth S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
awsa, Manager at Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments, responded to this review, 14 December 2016
Hi Ruth
Thank you for your constructive comments which have been addressed with the owner just prior to your stay. We are pleased to advise an upgrade is currently in progress.

Thank you
Kind Regards
The Team @ Auckland Waterfront
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Auckland hotels
0.9 km away
Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.1 km away
Hilton Auckland
Hilton Auckland
#6 of 67 in Auckland
2,267 reviews
1.1 km away
Adina Apartment Hotel Auckland, Britomart
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 km away
The Sebel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
0.9 km away
CityLife Auckland
CityLife Auckland
#9 of 67 in Auckland
1,247 reviews
1.1 km away
Crowne Plaza Auckland
Crowne Plaza Auckland
#10 of 67 in Auckland
1,752 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments

Property: Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments
Address: Shed 24, Prince's Wharf | 143 Quay Street, Auckland, New Zealand
Phone Number:
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland Region > Auckland
Amenities:
Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 118 Speciality Lodging in Auckland
Price range (per night): $238 - $438
Hotel Class:4 star — Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury 1, 2 & 3 bedroom self contained apartment accommodation with fabulous harbour views at Prince's Wharf, right on Auckland's waterfront - the perfect hotel alternative. Minimum 3 night stay.All apartments have fully equipped kitchen with dishwasher, fridge/freezer, oven, microwave, toaster and tea/coffee making facilities. Also Wi-Fi Internet, telephone, television, CD player/radio, cooling fan, heater, auto washer, clothes drier, iron and balcony with outdoor furniture. Secure on site car parking available on request. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia APAC, Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auckland Waterfront Serviced Apartments Hotel Auckland Central

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing