We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Tessnjosh
New Plymouth, New Zealand

Great place for a weekend in the city

Review of SkyCity Hotel
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 May 2024
We stayed for a long weekend get away and had a great time. Perfect place to stay if you want to be in the heart of the city and not have to go anywhere. Onsite restaurants and activites , close to shopping , queen st, the viaduct etc. Room was nice and clean and decent sized, bed was comfy. The only let down was the shower pressure , ours was pathetic and only a little better than a trickle. Also feel like the requirement for a bond of $100 per night should be made a bit clearer when booking. All the staff were super lovely and friendly. Thanks Sky city team!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tae Kang, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 3 Jun 2024
Thank you for the review and feedback. We hope to see you again in the near future.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$180
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
0.5 km from SkyCity Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
$79
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Priceline
0.9 km from SkyCity Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Priceline
  • Lol.travel
    $197
  • MGallery
    $220
0.6 km from SkyCity Hotel
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $196
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from SkyCity Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • Lol.travel
    $202
  • Priceline
0.5 km from SkyCity Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $287
  • Priceline
    $270
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from SkyCity Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $245
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from SkyCity Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Building
  • Algotels
  • Lol.travel
    $119
  • Hotels.com
0.8 km from SkyCity Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $170
  • Priceline
1.2 km from SkyCity Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (2,622)
Filter reviews
2,622 results
Traveller rating
1,246
941
302
70
63
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,246
941
302
70
63
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky city hotel orbit restaurant valet parking central location new zealand room was large the heart of the city mini bar buffet breakfast fortuna auckland concierge harbour foyer checkin viaduct
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 2,622 reviews
Reviewed 24 May 2024

This hotel is the best hotel I've ever stayed in. The front if house staff are extremely professional, helpful, and patient.
The rooms are impressive, clean, and extremely comfortable. I simply did not want to leave.
Breakfast in the buffer is one if the best I've ever had.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendog28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tae Kang, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 May 2024

Thank you for the amazing feedback and awesome review. We are thrilled to hear you had a great time with us and hope to see you again in the future.

Safe travels back home!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2024

Overall all was impressed with the service, was disappointed I was charged twice for the breakfast when I had already paid at the counter, lucky I had kept receipts, so was sorted when I checked out.
Other wise enjoyed the dinning bars restaurants especially the orbit would highly recommended

Room tip: Pre booking really helps
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NorthStar51866820784
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tae Kang, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 23 May 2024

Thank you for the amazing review and we hope to welcome you back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2024 via mobile

We are a family of three and booked a family room to celebrate our daughter’s 7YO birthday (with her bestie in tow). The room set up was amazing, the bunks and kids room had so many kid friendly extras, a sanity saving door between the parents room and superb finishing touches (like kids dressing gowns alongside the adults). The team went the extra mile to make our daughter feel special with writing on the windows and birthday cards and treats. We spent the whole weekend in and around the CBD and principally the Skycity district - so much to see and do, truly living up to eat, stay, play.

Room tip: Buffet is worth it, we also really enjoyed Andy’s burgers with the robot servers.
Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank MagsX2
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tae Kang, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 15 May 2024

Thank you for the epic review and so glad to hear you and your family had an amazing time with us! We hope to welcome you and your family back in the near future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 April 2024

I asked for Early check-in during the booking of the room. We arrived at 10am and requested the staff for early check-in. Even after waiting there for hours, nothing was done. They kept telling that room isn't ready. How many hours does it take to get the room ready? I saw other guests allocated rooms before us. We were given room at 3pm. Worst customer service after paying so much. Chromecast didn't work half of the time. Showers didn't have much water pressure. Hair on the bedsheets.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Flyer61816412722
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tae Kang, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Thank you for the review and feedback. Disappointing to hear your room was not prioritized as our team are usually very good with accommodating early arrivals.

Please feel free to get in touch directly with your booking details so I can look into this further.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 April 2024

Outdated bathrooms, while checking in reception staff look bit lost and while checking out again no thank you and please no eye contact felt awkward.
Study table drawers were opening all the time because there channels were loose. This was our 5-6 stay in last one year.. highly unlikely we will be back. Felt really bad this time. Housekeeping didn’t make our room and when came back the call centre lady said because the room was discounted we don’t do housekeeping.. Room 216 date 24-26 April 2024.

Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank sameer2101
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tae Kang, Guest Services / Front Office at SkyCity Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 3 May 2024

Thank you for your time over the phone. Your feedback has been taken onboard and we strive to provide the service that you are used to and have experienced before.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews