We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Save
Book In Advance
Tours from Habitat Tours tend to sell out - travellers recommend booking in advance!
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Reviews (138)
Filter reviews
134 results
Traveller rating
131
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews night tour flora and fauna picnic lunch waitakere ranges bird species kauri trees regional park anzac biscuits forest walk new zealand homemade cookies and tea interesting insects delicious homemade food kiwi spotting bird watching tour tour covering learned lots
Filter
Updating list...
120 - 125 of 134 reviews
Reviewed 28 February 2014

That is absolutely an unforgettable experience I've ever had in NZ!
Our guide--Tristan is a very kind and police man,and also a great cook!I must firstly thank you for making such a delicious picnic dinner for us,at the first time I really thought that was took out from a restaurant :)
The forest tour in the afternoon was fantastic---there was so quite and cozy,nearly no tourists around,and Tristan knows a lot about the bird and animal,we've learnt a lot from him.
After,we went to an amazing beach--the water is cristal clean and we can see everything in the ocean,the wave is big and we enjoyed it so much!
The night tour after dinner is interesting,too, we saw a lot of birds and insects that can't be seen in a day time,we were also surprised to see the light blue wave(with krill in it)at night.
Thank u so much for guiding us in this tour,we've learnt a lot from it.
Lastly,I must mentioned again that the dinner was absolutely wonderful!Thank u soooo much:)

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank DANIA1993
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2014

What can I say? Gorgeous! yes ... this is the word that best suits this fabulous place!
The nature and New Zealand landscapes gave us many great surprises!
I'd like to thank Tristan for his professionalism and all his knowledge of fauna, flora and their country.
Tristan first introduced us to the different places in which we are to go to reach the regional park, then he took us inside the forest (he explained the different kinds of animals and trees in the park) then we had lunch on the beach (the meal was very good and plentiful). After a good walk and swim on the beautiful beach, Tristan led us to trees that are about 800 years old. What a great day!
Thank you again to Habitat Tours for this organisation!

Que puis-je dire? Magnifique! oui ... c'est le mot qui convient le mieux à cet endroit fabuleux!
La nature et les paysages de la Nouvelle-Zélande nous reserve beaucoup de belles surprises!
Je tiens à remercier Tristan pour son professionnalisme et toutes ses connaissances de la faune, de la flore et de leur pays.
Tristan nous a présenté les différents lieux que nous avons traversé pour atteindre le parc régional, puis il nous a fait découvrir l'intérieur de la forêt (il a expliqué les différents types d'animaux et arbres dans le parc), puis nous avons déjeuné sur la plage (le repas était très bon et copieux). Après une bonne promenade et baignade sur la belle plage, Tristan nous a conduit à des arbres âgés de 800 ans. C'était un grand jour!
Merci encore à Habitat Tours pour cette organisation!

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank christophe s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

Awesome !!! This place is one of my favorite in New Zealand, very quiet, almost no tourists (except us), and we can observe a very rich nature and often endemic. The organisation was very good and Tristan knows perfectly is country, providing us plenty of information about fauna and flora.
The lunch in the shade on the beach was very good and the swim in the crystal clear water a great fun time.
To finish this lovely trip, we saw a huge Kauri tree, one of the symbol of Aotearoa.
A must do !!!

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank Antoine P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 February 2014

The predator fence has transformed this peninsular. The volunteers deserve a medal. It is truly noisy with bird song. One of the best bits about Tawharanui is that it offers several environments - beach, estuary, swamp, farmland, water reservoir and native bush in a very compact area. So, an amazing variety of species. The bellbirds were almost a nuisance, there were so many. Seeing the Brown teal coming back from the verge of extinction was terrific. Saddlebacks used to be rare and there I was watching a family of four with two chicks being fed. Tristan, the guide really knew his stuff - not just birds but the plants and the history. He's a safe driver with a good people carrier and then there was the 'picnic'. Wow. Who prepared that? I've left the best bit til the end. No, not the Moreporks, although they were neat. I did the day/ night tour. Three metres from a totally wild Kiwi doing its own thing in its real habitat was unforgettable. I can't think how Habitat Tours could improve on their offering. Thanks a ton Tristan.

Date of experience: February 2014
Thank snorkellingphotogr_y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 January 2014

Tristan is the most professional zoologist which can talk for hours on every plant and bird , the site seen is astonishing not to mention the Michelin starred lunch

highly recommended for non extreme hikers

guy yaffe

Date of experience: December 2013
Thank Guy Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews