We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Poor experience at The Sugar Club”

The Sugar Club Auckland
Ranked #48 of 1,982 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $30 - $139
Cuisines: New Zealand
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: The Sugar Club, sits majestically 53 floors above Auckland City and is the jewel in the crown at the top of the Sky Tower. With a Chef's menu that champions seasonality, combining the best in local sustainably sourced produce with the boldest flavours from around the world. The kitchen focuses on flavours and texture, whilst the dining room and bar are an experiential destination with breath-taking views of Auckland City and the Hauraki Gulf. There is no better way to re-define your dining experience with fine food, creative cocktails and a well curated wine list in a relaxed and chic atmosphere. Discover The Sugar Club, your destination for a dining experience that you will never forget.
Reviewed 24 June 2023 via mobile

We had a very special night out planned for some time with our three adult children and their partners, all aged 22-27 years. We eat out regularly at top Auckland restaurants, choosing the Sugar Club on this occasion for its special location and previous excellent experience there. One of our guests is an Australian on her first visit to New Zealand.

This was the first time we had ever encountered a restaurant demanding to see New Zealand photo ID from our adult guests once we had seated and placed our wine order. Our Australian guest had her NSW license and a photo of her passport, but no, this was not sufficient. NZ ID or a passport or you don’t get served alcohol. Not only was this utterly embarrassing and rude but we had had no prior warning of this request despite an email confirming our booking and a phone call during the day. A ‘special’ exception was made for our guest, but this most certainly put a dampener on our evening.

My pan fried fish was raw (as was another member of our party’s fish), so had to be returned and recooked. The rest of the meal was pretty good, but we will not be returning to the Sugar Club nor recommending it to our friends.

Date of visit: June 2023
2  Thank Tourist03755360666
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,020)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

10 - 14 of 1,020 reviews

Reviewed 9 May 2023

Absolutely flawless. Beautiful scenery as expected, but in addition to that was amazing service, delicious food, and a fantastic overall vibe that made for a lovely anniversary dinner.

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Finlay0803
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 May 2023

Food was bad. Cold Meats and everything was full of flowers. Noise cancelation was good, so me and my family had lots of laughtefull conversations. But food was horrible, for the price I thought it would be much better. Too much on the presentation. Waiters and Waitresses were all amazing though.

Date of visit: April 2023
1  Thank Trip02556691678
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 1 May 2023

Fine dining so be prepared for a very large bill. The waitress we had was lovely, she was from another restaurant in the Sky Tower and had no knowledge about the food or wine.
I was a little taken back when the beer that was ordered was just placed on the table in a can and was not even poured into the glass. We put the beer can on the edge of the table to indicate we were ready for it to be taken but after the staff coming to our table over three times it was only taken away on the fourth visit.
The food was amazing. I just don’t think the cost justifies the expense or the experience at all.

Date of visit: April 2023
Thank IanthyMarvi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2023

Food and service was amazing from beginning to end, friendly up beat waiter made our experience weven more enjoyable.

We ordered the deluxe taste menu and absolutely loved every dish, even some we normally wouldn't choose, the Lamb and the Salmon where the stand outs but all our dishes where delicious.

Date of visit: March 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank SuzyM311
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed The Sugar Club Auckland also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to The Sugar Club Auckland? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.