We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wahhhoo top food !!”
Review of Thai Street

Thai Street
Reserve a table
Ranked #153 of 1,978 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 6 May 2024

Awesome and epic
10/10
Food is amazing, great service
We booked on first table and was impeccable
Will definitely be back again!

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank Dion A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2024

If you go to Thai Street with a group of friends, your payment option is one bill per table. This means that one person pays the entire bill and they will need to recover the money from the other diners. It was not always like this but now it creates an unpleasant end to the dining experience.
The restaurant has a nice atmosphere with friendly wait staff. The range of dishes is large and the food is tasty. However, it has been noticeable over time that many dishes now come with increasing portions of vegetables and less meat and fewer prawns.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alistair4540
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2024 via mobile

Wow, our thirst for delicious Thai while visiting Auckland was certainly met at this hidden gem. The menu is excellent and offers many choices. We had the Tom Kha Gai and the Tom Po Tak medium size and boy was that more than enough, it was a huge portion that could have been easily shared. We also had Pad Thai Prawn (amazing) and the Narm Tok. Both entrees were outstanding! We couldn’t finish our meals there was so much food. We can’t wait to return! Service was excellent too!

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank RJB1215
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2024

I visited Thai Street on a Monday evening around 5-5:30 and it was relatively quiet – but one of the busiest restaurants at that time. I did not have to wait to be seated and the service was exceptional. Seating is available indoors and outdoors.

I ordered the Gai Pad Met Mamuang by recommendation of my server – she mentioned it was one of her favorites and a popular item from guests. It was really good (not spicy) and it comes in larger portion size. The meal itself did not come with rice - that is ordered separately.

Travel Tips:
- When you’re finished eating, go to the bar/front area to pay vs. wait for them to bring the bill.
- Tipping is not common in NZ unless it's fine dining and you have exceptional service, although it's always appreciated. If you decide you want to tip and are paying by card, tell them before they run your card as their receipts do not have the option to add a tip after.
- If paying by international credit card, a 2-3% GST fee is added on top.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Momelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

Found this place close by to our hotel and it definitely didn’t disappoint. The quality and size of the dishes exceeded expectations. Would recommend the entree sampler for 2, chicken pad Thai and the massaman curry.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Adrian632
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Thai Street also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Thai Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.