We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, service, and atmosphere”
Review of Thai Street

Thai Street
Reserve a table
Ranked #153 of 1,968 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Thai
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 12 March 2024

I visited Thai Street on a Monday evening around 5-5:30 and it was relatively quiet – but one of the busiest restaurants at that time. I did not have to wait to be seated and the service was exceptional. Seating is available indoors and outdoors.

I ordered the Gai Pad Met Mamuang by recommendation of my server – she mentioned it was one of her favorites and a popular item from guests. It was really good (not spicy) and it comes in larger portion size. The meal itself did not come with rice - that is ordered separately.

Travel Tips:
- When you’re finished eating, go to the bar/front area to pay vs. wait for them to bring the bill.
- Tipping is not common in NZ unless it's fine dining and you have exceptional service, although it's always appreciated. If you decide you want to tip and are paying by card, tell them before they run your card as their receipts do not have the option to add a tip after.
- If paying by international credit card, a 2-3% GST fee is added on top.

Date of visit: February 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Momelco
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (209)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

4 - 8 of 209 reviews

Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

Found this place close by to our hotel and it definitely didn’t disappoint. The quality and size of the dishes exceeded expectations. Would recommend the entree sampler for 2, chicken pad Thai and the massaman curry.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank Adrian632
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 November 2023

The first time we went to Thai Street, we walked past, it was open and we were hungry. It did not disappoint. Gorgeous food, fantastic staff and we keep coming back. We are regulars there for birthdays and celebrations and just any time we look at each other and say, "Thai Street?" and get in the car and go!

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank snakefangnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 September 2023 via mobile

We stayed at a local hotel and discovered this wonderful thai restaurant by accident. The food and service was exceptional.
We loved the flavours of the food.
The cocktails was staff pick and we enjoyed all of them.
We will definitely return here on every trip to Auckland

Date of visit: September 2023
Thank 60darrenp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 August 2023 via mobile

Stumbled upon this gem of a resto. Joy, the spicy resto manager (I think she may remember us) was awesome, friendly & hospitable. We requested for everything to be extra spicy for takeway. The food was really good that we had it for 2 nights in a row as our stopover trip. Joy & colleagues made it a fun place to sit & chill. Thank you!

Date of visit: July 2023
Thank FYLP2202
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Thai Street also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Thai Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.