We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Service and Great Food”
Review of Ortolana

Ortolana
Reserve a table
OR
Reserve a table
Ranked #46 of 1,982 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Cuisines: Mediterranean
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 5 weeks ago via mobile

Walked into the restaurant with no booking and staff managed to get me a table. The lamb was fantastic and service was good

Date of visit: June 2024
Thank lkfonsa1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,048)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 1,048 reviews

Reviewed 25 April 2024

Absolutely fantastic food and service. Was not going there particularly, the restaurant was recommended by a local shopkeeper when we asked about a nice place to eat in downtown. Would go back in a heartbeat. The staff were very good as well, great service.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roz T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 April 2024 via mobile

I’ve always loved the restaurant and try to come back every time we visit. The food is exceptional but the service has declined substantially. The lacklustre attitude of the staff removed a lot of the shimmer from the experience. No one at the restaurant entrance so we kind of milled around waiting to be seated and then noted this happening to all new diners. Had to top up our wine which was out of reach of the table. We ordered a side of broccoli but were not informed by our server that the mains had a substantial broccoli base (not mentioned in the description). Hope this is not the way the restaurant is going and that next time will be back to normal.

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank BeeTeeLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2024

My husband and I had the best meal of our visit to Auckland at Ortolana. Everything was exceptional. The restaurant has a really nice atmosphere that is relaxed but feels special. (loved the seating with lots of pillows and interesting lighting) We had a lovely starter (burata salad) with delicious focaccia bread and lamb entrees. The wine choices were very nice as well. Make a reservation for dinner so you won't be disappointed.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank RRCTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 14 March 2024

Chose this place for its quiet location and refined ambience and had a fantastic meal. Service very attentive. The lamb was generously portioned with a delicious salad of greens. We had sides as well, which were not really necessary. Didn’t need dessert either, but shared one anyway. Highly recommend it.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne P
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ortolana also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Ortolana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.