We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great variety Indian, excellent service”
Review of Little India

Little India
Ranked #94 of 1,968 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $13 - $21
Cuisines: Indian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Description: We have chosen to present some of the more characteristic, yet legendary dishes from North India, especially the Punjab. Our preparation makes our food beautiful to behold and addictive to the palate.
Reviewed 31 December 2020

It was my birthday week, a place that some friends recommended. I have gait/walking challenges (stroke); I wear a legbrace. Spacious and welcoming as soon as you enter, via the entrance from within Waldorf hotel. Really good Indian, great variety lots of choice - we had a selection of platters to share between 4 – the meat was very tender and great vegetarian option. All the mains were delightful, a couple of naan bread, jugs of beer, a bottle of wine. Great service, ambience and value.

Date of visit: June 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank jacquitohc
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (266)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 266 reviews

Reviewed 5 April 2020

If you like Indian food you’re probably going to like eating it here. The staff are pleasant, the menu has lots of choice, the food is good and it’s good value for money. We were asked how spicy we wanted our food to be and ours came out not as spicy as we’d imagined it would be. I think, coming from the UK, we must normally eat more spicy dishes than people in NZ!

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Bon444
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 31 March 2020

We had a meal here while staying at the hotel it is tagged too..... We had the poppadoms and pickles along with onion bhaji.... These were a little bland but ok. We then shared a curry which again wasn't as spicy as we thought it was going to be. That said it was a lovely meal and ideally located after a day out driving ll day. Worth a visit if you are staying in the area.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Ste7373
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 February 2020 via mobile

Taste and texture was mediocre at best - food came out surprisingly fast, but overall the amount we paid was more than double we would normally pay for food this bland. Sadly I would rather have gone with fast food. Not a restaurant we will visit again.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank keba007
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 February 2020

Good flavoursome food.Nice environment. good service. Didn't have to wait too long for the food.....

Date of visit: January 2020
1  Thank WestAucklandFoodie
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Little India also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Little India? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.