We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Country luncheon”
Review of Calendula Cottage

Calendula Cottage
Ranked #444 of 1,980 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Restaurant details
Reviewed 18 September 2020 via mobile

A lovely country cafe to visit for lunch. Pretty setting. Both cabinet and menu food was delicious and excellent choice of wines.

Date of visit: September 2020
Thank Suevan2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (83)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 83 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2020 via mobile

We went to our local as were able to take our dog too. Food was nice, especially the desserts. Service was ok, one staff was friendly & had a smile, the others sullen & disinterested. We had brioche French toast, pictured & pumpkin fritters which were beautiful & delicious

Date of visit: June 2020
3  Thank YvonneWR
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 March 2020 via mobile

It’s a very pretty setting.

My partner and I went for breakfast. The food was adequate if uninspiring but the service definitely needs boosting. The girl behind the counter was friendly but no other staff made any contact. Food was delivered and plates cleared with zero interaction. We asked for a coffee to be heated, this was done but with no verbal contact. If you like standard fare and aren’t bothered if the staff talk to you it’s fine.

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank vanessarE5877XL
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2020 via mobile

My daughter and I felt like a nice big breakfast and we remembered how lovely the food was here after last time a couple of years ago. I ordered The Stack as I'm a mushroom fanatic and daughter the eggs Benedict - her favourite. This visual delight appeared not long after ordering. Beautiful in taste and looks we thoroughly enjoyed every mouthful. Lovely garden setting and a pleasure sitting and looking at the surroundings in our ever continuing hot summer. I decided to try a sweet treat and the Banofee Pie was exceedingly good but beat me after a few mouthfuls. A case of eyes being bigger than the belly!!! It came home for hubs treat! All in all a very pleasant interlude.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank 1818Chrissy67
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 February 2020

I have visited Calendula Cottage several times as I really like the setting. It is a unique country setting in a nice garden with little summer houses. In general the service is fairly average - neither good nor bad. However, when I visited yesterday the service was appalling. I asked if there were vegan options, and the staff member on the till just dismissively waved her hand toward the menu and said "it's on there'. I picked up the menu as she fanned her face (not the best look) and while there were vegetarian options, I could not see anything vegan. That is OK - usually a cafe can accommodate if you ask them to make a vege option vegan, but this time I could not be bothered to begin the process. There was no eye contact, not niceties, just disinterest. My partner and I left and I won't go back on principle. I

Date of visit: February 2020
    • Service
Thank Lynley T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Calendula Cottage also viewed

Waiuku, Auckland
Waiuku, Auckland
 
Waiuku, Auckland
Auckland, North Island
 

Been to Calendula Cottage? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.