We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrific tour guide”

Twin Harbours Tours
Ranked #62 of 181 Tours in Auckland Central
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: More than 3 hours
Owner description: Let these passionate kiwis take you on a boutique family-run tour of fantastic Auckland and the region, showing you our favourite spots and incorporating your interests. There's nothing like exploring a fabulous new location with locals. Our passion is that you leave us having experienced something of why we love diverse, beautiful Auckland so much. Feel free to get in touch to discuss your requirements. We can pick you up from, or drop you off at anywhere, after we have let our beautiful country awaken your senses, rekindle your soul and excite your imagination.
Reviewed 25 February 2016

Ian picked us up at the Auckland airport from our very early morning flight. From the very beginning he was welcoming and willing to do the little extras to make us feel comfortable after the long flight. We wanted to see the Auckland area but also get out and walk around so that we could adjust to the time change from the USA. Ian put together a perfect itinerary that drove us through beautiful countryside but also let us get out and see the beaches and parks and views of the city. We stopped at a cute place for lunch and he helped us with the customs on how to split dining bills (which came in handy again and again on our trip) and how tipping was not customary in restaurants. He was so open and informative about New Zealand and the changes he has seen. He answered all our questions no matter how unusual the subject. Ian was a very safe driver as reinforced during the rainstorm we encountered. I would highly recommend Ian and Twin Harbours Tours.

Thank BarbaraBenicia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian b, Owner at Twin Harbours Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Hello again and thank you so much for taking the time to write.

I enjoyed the day with you and hope the rest of your time traveling was smooth.

Regards
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
Filter

10 - 14 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 15 February 2016

We too, arrived very early in Auckland and were looking for something to do while waiting to check in to our hotel. We were met at the airport by Fleur and spent the next 6 hours being treated to a great tour, feeling like a friend was showing us around. Very personal tour by someone who is clearly enjoys where she lives and what she does. We too, met her parents (and the group mentioned in the earlier post). My husband, being an outdoor enthusiast especially like the added botany information :)
Karen and Paul
Ontario Canada

Thank KEC_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian b, Manager at Twin Harbours Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Karen and Paul,

It was a pleasure to spend the day with you. Thanks so much for your kind feedback, and it would be great to meet you again -if you are in these parts let us know.

All the best
fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2016

I was traveling with a group of 7 friends. We were arriving on an early morning flight (6:00 am!) from the U.S. Since we wouldn't be able to check in to our hotel until 2:00 pm, we had several hours to kill. I did some research and found Ian and Twin Harbor Tours on TripAdvisor.

I contacted Ian to enquire about an airport pickup with a half-day tour of Auckland. He was extremely responsive, even to my very detailed questions. We ended up booking with him at a very reasonable rate, not only for the airport pickup and half day tour, but also for a full day excursion the next day to Waitomo and Rotorua.

Ian hired a comfortable van that was big enough for all of us and our luggage. He was very accommodating - we were able to stop for a coffee and at an ATM before heading out on our tour of the Auckland area.

We're a very inquisitive lot, and Ian was able to answer our questions about not only the sights, but political, economic and social issues as well. In fact, he had done some research on some of our questions and came prepared with those answers on our excursion the next day.

Ian is very personable, and during our lunch stop in Auckland we met his wife and daughter (who are also involved in business). . We had a really great time, and I would totally recommend Ian and Twin Harbor Tours and would totally hire him again should I have the opportunity to visit Auckland in the future.

Thank Karen S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian b, Owner at Twin Harbours Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you for this review. I am so glad you enjoyed the day so much and found our service agreeable. I hope you are all doing well,
Kind regards,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 April 2015

Ian picked us at the airport the first day and then spent the next two days showing us Waitomo Caves, Rotorua, Raglan (new route), North Shore, Piha and Auckland vicinity. He even showed us where he lives, his boat parked at the wharf and went with us into the gloworms caves. We thoroughly enjoyed his stories, sense of humor, and his company. It's like spending a couple of days with an old friend who is proud to show you his country. He drove us around in his Mercedes 10-12 hours per day and was a very safe driver.

3  Thank Eric C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ian b, Owner at Twin Harbours Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 31 October 2016

Thank you for this kind review, I am pleased you enjoyed your time in New Zealand and appreciated our service.
Take care,
Ian

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 6 January 2015

Saw Twin Harbours Tours on Tripadvisor, read the reviews and booked. Perfect tour for the end of a cruise, saw so much of this beautiful city from the luxury and comfort of a limousine. Our driver, Fleur, picked us up from Princess Wharf showing us all the sights with informed and personal commentary, giving us a sense of what living in beautiful Auckland is like.

A totally enjoyable and fascinating experience, cannot recommend highly enough!

Carolina & Stuart

Thank CandSviews
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
IanBourgeoisAuckland, General Manager at Twin Harbours Tours, responded to this reviewResponded 11 February 2015

Thanks so much Carolina and Stuart for taking time to write a review. We are stoked that you had so much fun on the day- Auckland certainly helped by shining her pretty sunshine. It was great meeting you both and hope we see you again sometime.

kindest regards
fleur

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Twin Harbours Tours also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Twin Harbours Tours? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing