We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Anonymous855
Trabuco Canyon, California

Small hotel, renovated rooms...get a corner room for space

Review of Hotel DeBrett
4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Apr 2024
Nice appearing bathrooms but the doors open in awkward ways. Standard room is very small so the buy up for the bigger room is worth it. Staff was especially nice, good wine in the bar, French press coffee in the room is lovely. Easy location to things in the CBD, quiet in spite of business around it. Although breakfast was large in quantity, flavor was lacking for such gourmet food. Fair price and they deliver a nice boutique experience. There is no library!! It is adjoining the bar now so you can still sit there unobtrusively.
Date of stay: March 2024
Room Tip: Get a corner room
Trip type: Travelled with friends
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
4.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this review
Responded 7 May 2024
Kia Ora, Anonymous855

Thank you for your feedback! We're glad you enjoyed the renovated rooms, friendly staff, and convenient location. We appreciate your suggestions for improvement and hope to welcome you back soon.

Ngā mihi!
Jess Singh
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$195
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $195
  • Agoda.com
    $157
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$233
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
  • ZenHotels.com
    $197
  • travelup.com
    $262
0.5 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
Pool
$117
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $166
  • Vio.com
0.8 km from Hotel DeBrett
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Building
$162
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $162
1.1 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $56
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.2 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $199
0.5 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $305
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Priceline
0.3 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $245
  • Priceline
  • Cordis Official
    $242
1.2 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
Pool
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $169
  • travelup.com
    $160
  • Priceline
0.7 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Twin Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $105
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Hotel DeBrett
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (1,650)
Filter reviews
1,650 results
Traveller rating
1,199
313
94
30
14
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,199
313
94
30
14
Show reviews that mention
All reviews loft suite lovely boutique house bar small hotel central location sky tower auckland waterfront
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 1,650 reviews
Reviewed 9 April 2024 via mobile

We started off our trip to NZ with a few days at Hotel DeBrett. The decor is super sweet and the staff were incredibly kind and helpful. We enjoyed the location and proximity to downtown and various museums and restaurants. Breakfast was tasty. We were also offered a welcome glass of wine, which we enjoyed in the bar. This is not a large group hotel and it’s not corporate. We enjoyed it.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank PattiJ515
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Kia Ora, PattiJ515
Thank you for staying with us!
We're glad you enjoyed our charming decor, helpful team, and convenient location.
It was a pleasure hosting you, and we hope to see you again soon!
Ngā mihi!
Jess Singh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 April 2024

Hotel DeBrett is in a great location in central Auckland. We were able to get around easily and it was close to the ferry harbor. Its style is a little quirky (I would describe it as 1960's Mod), but fun. Breakfast was excellent and the staff was very professional and courteous. Some parts of the hotel could use a little refreshing, but overall it was a good experience

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Elyse T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2024

Kia Ora, 43elyset
Thank you for your feedback! We're delighted you enjoyed our convenient location, quirky style, excellent breakfast, and fabulous team. We'll take your comments about refreshing the hotel into consideration. We hope to welcome you back soon for another good experience!
Ngā mihi!
Jess Singh
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 March 2024

We stayed at Hotel DeBrett when we first arrived in New Zealand, at the start of our holiday. We were very pleased with our choice.
The hotel has a fabulously 'fun' feel about it - looking like Sir Paul Smith had designed it. (He had not, but it has the same 'fun' feel' to all aspects of design in rooms and common areas.)
Room 2.5 had a corner aspect, and was lovely and quiet, despite being so centrally placed. The bed was a little softer than we are used to at home, but obviously this is to be expected, and it certainly did not stop us from getting a good night's sleep. The shower was one of the very best in any hotel we have used.
Breakfast was excellent, as was the steak at dinner one evening.
Staff were cheerful, and helpful, and it really was the perfect place to start our holiday.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank spenceleysUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Kia Ora, spenceleysUK
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel Debrett!
We're glad you had a great start to your New Zealand holiday. It's wonderful to hear you enjoyed our hotel amenity and the room was quiet and comfortable for a good night's sleep despite the softer bed. We're thrilled you liked our shower too! We hope to see you again soon!

Ngā mihi!
Jess Singh
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

We had a super stay at Hotel Debrett on our first night in New Zealand. We loved this art deco hotel which had been sympathetically refurbished so it blends the art deco features and furnishings with all the facilities that you could expect in a modern hotel.

Our suite was lovely - especially the cabinet with our teas and coffees in! (See photo) And we enjoyed the bar area too with our ‘complimentary drink’ voucher. The food looked delicious in the restaurant too!

We had a problem with our mobile phone which wouldn’t work in NZ and a very kind man on reception helped us to sort it out by letting us phone the UK from the front desk at no extra charge. Thank you! That really helped us out!

A lovely hotel in a super spot - a short walk from the main shopping road and the restaurants around the harbour.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ScrumptiousSolent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Kia Ora, ScrumptiousSolent,
Thank you for staying with us at Hotel DeBrett!
We're thrilled you had a great experience on your first night in New Zealand. We're glad you enjoyed our modern facilities and enjoyed all the amenity. We're happy our team could assist you with your mobile phone trouble, and we're glad it helped you out. We appreciate your kind words about our hotel's location. We hope to see you again soon!
Ngā mihi!
Jess Singh
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2024 via mobile

One of our art deco favourites in Auckland! Central to everything, and eclectically styled to honour a deco history. Our loft suite featured a fabulous spiral staircase, expansive bathroom, and separate lounge area. Welcoming & professional staff from reception, to the charming deco bar, made for the perfect stay : )

Date of stay: April 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank FiveCatPalace
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Jess Singh, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel DeBrett, responded to this reviewResponded 5 April 2024

Kia Ora, FiveCatPalace
Thank you for your kind words! We're delighted you enjoyed central location and appreciated the unique features of your loft suite, like the spiral staircase and the bathroom. We're glad our team made your stay perfect. We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Ngā mihi!
Jess Singh
Assistant Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews