We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Movenpick
$199
Booking.com
$199
ZenHotels.com
$182
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
TawnaNZ
Auckland, New Zealand

Great view, awful bed

3.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Apr 2024via mobile
My husband booked a night here as a staycation for my birthday. The staff at the front desk and housekeeping were lovely and our room was exactly what we wanted - it had a king bed and an ocean view. It was tidy and clean, and the shower was amazing, but the bed was incredibly uncomfortable for us both, so our sleep was fitful, to say the least.
We really enjoyed the Chocolate Hour from 3-4pm after we checked in. So many tasty choices! The continental breakfast served in the hotel restaurant, Boda, had plentiful options to choose from. We both had the scrambled eggs, bacon, sausages and hash browns, but we were very disappointed to find it was all cold! We found this very odd, especially since it was all kept on plate warmers. When we checked out later in the morning, I completely forgot to mention this.
Due to the reasons above, we likely would not stay here again for any future staycations nor recommend it to others.
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SEAN SLATTERY, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this review
Responded 4 weeks ago
Kia ora TawnaNz

Thank you for your review.

Disappointing to hear you did not enjoy your stay due to the beds. Our beds did get replaced when we became Movenpick and we always receive numerous praises on how comfy they are. We do have options to add and remove toppers and also choosing different pillows.

I have also spoken to the F&B team about the cold buffet items, I can assure you this is a one off and we do pride ourselves on our breakfast selection and service.

We do hope you reconsider staying with us again.

Ngā mihi
Sean Slattery
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $222
  • Priceline
    $222
  • Hotels.com
    $222
0.3 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
TheHotelBritomart
$287
  • Booking.com
    $287
  • Hotels.com
    $271
  • Expedia.com
    $272
0.1 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Vio.com
    $144
  • Official Hotel
    $185
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$158
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Expedia.com
    $123
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$225
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    $252
  • Hotels.com
    $237
  • Vio.com
    $223
0.7 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Priceline
    $199
0.4 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Cordis Official
    $200
  • Hotels.com
    $215
  • Priceline
    $215
1.5 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$246
  • Hilton
    $246
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Hotels.com
    $246
0.6 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $68
  • Vio.com
    $54
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.5 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$190
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Priceline
    $190
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
441
287
80
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
441
287
80
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor great location accor member nice hotel sky tower central location quiet room waiheke island buffet breakfast vue harbour auckland city ferries viaduct cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 10 April 2024

I stood at this hotel for one night and wished that I could have stayed longer!

The location is excellent. It sits right at the end of Queen Street and is almost directly on the harbor. The walk to the ferry for Waiheke Island was conveniently maybe a 2-3 minute walk away and the Commercial Bay mall was about a 1 minute walk away, which had a nice large food court amongst the shops.

I had a room that overlooked Customs Steet and really enjoyed my view. I especially liked the window nook, as it was big enough for me to sit on and lay my legs out while working on the computer and having a great view out the window.

I was located in a room that was literally directly in front of the elevator. I was initially concerned that I'd be able to hear people going on/off the elevator, but thankfully, I did not hear anyone and the location of the room was not a problem whatsoever.

The room itself was very clean, very modern and overall, just really great. The hotel was busy, but the staff were helpful and stored my luggage both before check in and after check out. There's a taxi stand literally right as soon as you walk out of the front doors, so that was convenient as well.

Overall, I had a really lovely time here and will definitely be staying here the next time I'm in Auckland!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BecauseAfterAll
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SEAN SLATTERY, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Kia ora BecauseAfterAll,

Thank you for your wonderful review and we look forward to you staying with us again.

Ngā mihi
Sean Slattery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2024

Location was great, one block from the harbor; room was comfortable and spacious; good shower, breakfast was delicious with a good assortment of items. Only negative was that our paid reservation for early check in wasn’t available at the time but they did accommodate us by deducting the cost from our bill and we were able to check in an hour and a half later.

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank kwest56
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SEAN SLATTERY, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Kia ora Kwest56

Thank you for your top review!

Sorry we couldn't accommodate your early check in, it is subject to availability but thankfully it wasn't too long before we got you to your room.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Ngā mihi
Sean Slattery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 March 2024 via mobile

From the moment I was greeted at check in, until the moment I checked out, this stay was perfect.

The staff were all welcoming and friendly, and my room was perfect. The mattress toppers ensure a great nights sleep.

The hotel bar/restaurant on the top floor had amazing views, and the prices were actually cheaper than most venues around the Viaduct Harbour Precinct.

Will I stay here again, a resounding yes, would I recommend this hotel, also a resounding yes.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank Jomebr
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SEAN SLATTERY, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Kia ora Jombr

Thank you for your fantastic review and I will be sure to share it with the team.

We hope to see you again in the future.

Ngā mihi
Sean Slattery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 March 2024

Stayed Fri/Sat March 2024. Firstly - if offered rooms on the alley side (rooms numbers 1 2 3 on floors 6 - 10 on these nights - then get them changed immediately ! There is a nightclub that will be playing LOUD music until 0300am ! You will definitely hear it. There is no noise suppression - and it would appear that this nightclub is/has been allowed to get away with it. And it's in the same building. At 0230am I went to reception and asked if another room could be made available for the following night. Secondly - THANK YOU in allowing me to change rooms (and move from single twins to double twins) for the 2nd night of the stay : got to sleep that night !!

This hotel is not 5 stars. 3 -4 at best. It's an old hotel, redone with a basic transformation. The 3 lifts can require bit of a wait (busy Friday !) - more so when one was out of action for most of the 2nd day. Given the age of the building the noise from the street will still be heard. There is no lounge area, bar a few seats at the reception area. It's handy to Queen Street and the mall area. It offers a mini bar (why ?) and the smallest glass cups for a coffee (no point even using them). Entering the room you will find a desk light placed right in front of the TV (maybe consider not having it so it blocks some of the view). It's clean and handy - but that NIGHTCLUB noise is something that urgently needs to be addressed.

Communications are provided by a card/barcode to which you will need to download via your phone / iPad. There is no information about the Chocolate Hour (times - unless you just happened to see it on the TV 'home page' ) and details on Happy Hour at the restaurant aren't to be found. If you are going to 'communicate' with your customers, it might be best to provide more direct ways (instead of the writing on the glass mirrors).

Room tip: Don't accept any room on the alley side on a Fri/Sat night - not until that night club is forced to suppress sound (it plays to 0300am !!)
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank tonyjg2224
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SEAN SLATTERY, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 March 2024

Kia ora tonyjg

Thank you for your review and i do apologise for the noise from the nightclub that is unfortunately located under our building. We are dealing with the owners to try to put restrictions in place and currently going through this process.

Our 3 lifts are always busy on these days however we do have a large lounge area on our top floor restaurant which is enjoyed by all guests. We will definitely work on our communication and again sorry you were not informed about our chocolate hour which happens everyday from 3pm-4pm.

We do hope you stay with us again.

Ngā mihi
Sean Slattery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed 2 nights here before boarding our cruise.
It's in an ideal position for anyone picking a cruise up in Aukland as it's a few minutes walk to the docks.
Also very handy for the city bus tour as the stop was just across the road.
Our hotel room was very nice, spacious, very clean.
All staff were very helpful and friendly.
We had a lovely meal in the restaurant one evening, there is a great view of the harbour from the restaurant.
Breakfast was very nice with most things you can think of to eat for breakfast.
They had a handy launderette which we used.
Recommended for a short stay.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Robbo55Kent
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SEAN SLATTERY, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Kia ora Robbo55Kent,

Thank you for your review and recommendation to stay with us!

Great to hear you found our location very handy and that you also enjoyed our amazing Boda restaurant with views across the Harbour.

Ngā mihi
Sean Slattery

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews