We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Movenpick
$199
Booking.com
$199
ZenHotels.com
$182
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Sid V

Movenpick one of the best hotels in Auckland

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 14 Oct 2023
The hotel is located in the best part of the city at Britomart walk to hop on hop off bus, ferries, restaurants and Sky tower area. The daily chocolate hour is very good. The managers are very attentive, polite and as an Accor status member look after guests. The breakfast has a good selection with very gourmet egg dishes made to order. A barista coffee service would be great. Overall a very nice stay.
Date of stay: October 2023
Trip type: Travelled with family
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
SEAN SLATTERY, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this review
Responded 16 Oct 2023
Kia ora Dr Sid V

Thank you for your fantastic review!

I look forward to sharing your review with the team and hopefully we see you again in the the future.

Ngā mihi
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $222
  • Hotels.com
    $222
  • Vio.com
    $222
0.3 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
TheHotelBritomart
$287
  • Booking.com
    $287
  • Hotels.com
    $271
  • Expedia.com
    $272
0.1 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
    $185
  • Vio.com
    $144
  • Hotels.com
    $185
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$158
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Expedia.com
    $123
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
0.4 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$246
  • Tripadvisor
    $246
  • Hilton
  • Priceline
    $246
0.6 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Pool
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
Booking.com
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $68
  • Vio.com
    $54
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.5 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$162
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $190
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $223
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
441
287
80
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
441
287
80
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor great location accor member nice hotel sky tower central location quiet room waiheke island buffet breakfast vue harbour auckland city ferries viaduct cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
40 - 45 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 1 September 2023 via mobile

I’ll start with the good - clean and modern hotel with a great location! The room was quite comfortable and facilities generally good as well. Ate at BODA restaurant one night as well and nice food with a great view.

Unfortunately it goes downhill from here. The staff can at best be described as apathetic, and it’s clear there has either been no customer service training or management simply encourages staff to disregard it’s customers. They don’t make eye contact or smile, and seem uninterested in helping guests.

Beyond that, there were several instances that I just found to be unacceptable. One day we received a letter under the door stating there would be a “momentary loss of power at 10pm, that should not cause a significant disruption.” This outage lasted 3.5 hours while it was 6 degrees outside. The room was freezing and it was unsafe trying to navigate around it with my phone flashlight, which then died when I had no was to charge it. I get this may not have been in their control, but the lie about a momentary loss was not ok.

The following morning, the hotel was doing some photo shoot and when we tried to walk to our $50 a night valet car, the employees doing the photo shoot yelled at us that we couldn’t go (into the car pick up area). Instead we were told to go outside around the block and get the car there. And on the valet “service”, 2 out of 4 mornings my car wasn’t ready when I had requested it, with one day being 15 minutes late and another 45 minutes after requested. I would suggest parking in a public lot and not leaving your car with them.

Other simple things such as the coffee machine being broken at breakfast and rooms not cleaned by 4pm just lead this hotel to being a 3 store property, not the 5 star it claims to be, and certainly not worth the money.

Room tip: Don’t use the valet service!
Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank CronullaTim
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 11 September 2023

Kia ora Tim

Thank you for your review and I do apologise we did not meet your expectations.

The power outage was out of our control and we can only follow what the power company had told us, definitely not an excuse and next time we will be better prepared to provide extra blankets and to have power banks available.

Our team are usually very bright and super helpful and will speaking to the departments about dealing with out of the box issues better than what we currently are doing. On that note valet parking is something we are trying to improve and do apologise you had delays in getting your car.

Ngā Mihi
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2023

Central location and helpful staff. Great places to eat nearby being close to the waterfront. Nz nightlife can be a bit noisy but always enjoyable. They could perhaps employ a barista to augment their otherwise excellent breakfast offering.

Room tip: Maccas downstairs very convenient
Date of stay: August 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Alex L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Kia ora M9122Lalexl

Great to hear you enjoyed our location. We will take your Barista consideration on board and currently recruiting for one.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Nga mihi
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

We chose the hotel based on location and the view. We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our holiday and 1 night at the end.

We were not disappointed, easy to walk everywhere.

We visited chocolate hour and happy hour twice. Dined in the Boda restaurant twice which was really good.

Very comfortable room and bed.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank surfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Kia ora Surfoz

Thank you for your fantastic review, I look forward to sharing your review with the team.

Nga mihi,
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2023 via mobile

I visit Auckland monthly for work and have stayed here the last two months. The hotel is superbly located and well appointed with the most fantastic staff.

The breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor overlooking the harbour is the highlight for me. Liza is there to greet me by name every morning (I don’t know how she remembers my name and room number, but I love it) and the food selection/quality is second to none.

I’ve stayed in a few hotels in Auckland and this is one of the best.

I will be returning here regularly and recommending it to all my colleagues.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JeremyM2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Kia JeremyM2533

Great review! We are very proud of our breakfast team and their commitment to service. Liza is a huge asset to Movenpick Auckland and we are very lucky to have her.

Look forward to you staying with us again.

Nga mihi
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2023

Great central location, close to everything (including transport) and with clean, comfy rooms. The only downside was the service, which was very hit and miss; some staff were really friendly and helpful... others promised to call back and didn't, multiple times.

There's definitely a gap for training here. If you offer a pillow menu, you really need to have different pillows ready to go... and to train your staff to know the difference between a foam and a feather pillow. It took me 3 calls and over 3 hours to get 1 feather pillow. By the time I was waiting to go to bed, and fielding the 3rd call, I really wasn't feeling it.

Room tip: Don't expect the staff to know the difference between a foam pillow and a feather one.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Kia ora Karen B

Thank you for your review.

Fantastic to hear your loved our location and found our rooms to be clean and comfy. We do pride ourselves on service and very disappointed that the team has let us down on the pillow menu. This is something that I will address immediately and do apologise that this spoiled your experience with us.

I do hope you stay with us again in the future.

Ngā mihi nui
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews