We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Movenpick
$227
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$219
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Alex L

Close to the action

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 28 Aug 2023
Central location and helpful staff. Great places to eat nearby being close to the waterfront. Nz nightlife can be a bit noisy but always enjoyable. They could perhaps employ a barista to augment their otherwise excellent breakfast offering.
Date of stay: August 2023
Room Tip: Maccas downstairs very convenient
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
4.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this review
Responded 28 Aug 2023
Kia ora M9122Lalexl

Great to hear you enjoyed our location. We will take your Barista consideration on board and currently recruiting for one.

Hope to see you again in the future.

Nga mihi
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$158
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $154
  • Agoda.com
    $126
  • Expedia.com
    $154
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Priceline
    $199
0.4 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Tripadvisor
$272
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Hilton
    $272
0.6 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Pool
Restaurant
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$173
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $173
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $226
  • Vio.com
    $226
0.3 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Hotels.com
0.1 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $158
  • Official Hotel
    $180
1.0 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $223
  • Algotels
0.7 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $194
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $69
  • Algotels
1.5 km from Mövenpick Hotel Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (863)
Filter reviews
863 results
Traveller rating
441
287
80
32
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
441
287
80
32
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews top floor great location accor member nice hotel sky tower central location quiet room waiheke island buffet breakfast vue harbour auckland city ferries viaduct cruise
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
42 - 47 of 863 reviews
Reviewed 25 August 2023 via mobile

We chose the hotel based on location and the view. We stayed 2 nights at the beginning of our holiday and 1 night at the end.

We were not disappointed, easy to walk everywhere.

We visited chocolate hour and happy hour twice. Dined in the Boda restaurant twice which was really good.

Very comfortable room and bed.

Staff friendly and helpful.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank surfoz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Kia ora Surfoz

Thank you for your fantastic review, I look forward to sharing your review with the team.

Nga mihi,
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2023 via mobile

I visit Auckland monthly for work and have stayed here the last two months. The hotel is superbly located and well appointed with the most fantastic staff.

The breakfast in the restaurant on the top floor overlooking the harbour is the highlight for me. Liza is there to greet me by name every morning (I don’t know how she remembers my name and room number, but I love it) and the food selection/quality is second to none.

I’ve stayed in a few hotels in Auckland and this is one of the best.

I will be returning here regularly and recommending it to all my colleagues.

Date of stay: August 2023
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank JeremyM2533
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2023

Kia JeremyM2533

Great review! We are very proud of our breakfast team and their commitment to service. Liza is a huge asset to Movenpick Auckland and we are very lucky to have her.

Look forward to you staying with us again.

Nga mihi
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2023

Great central location, close to everything (including transport) and with clean, comfy rooms. The only downside was the service, which was very hit and miss; some staff were really friendly and helpful... others promised to call back and didn't, multiple times.

There's definitely a gap for training here. If you offer a pillow menu, you really need to have different pillows ready to go... and to train your staff to know the difference between a foam and a feather pillow. It took me 3 calls and over 3 hours to get 1 feather pillow. By the time I was waiting to go to bed, and fielding the 3rd call, I really wasn't feeling it.

Room tip: Don't expect the staff to know the difference between a foam pillow and a feather one.
Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Karen B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 15 August 2023

Kia ora Karen B

Thank you for your review.

Fantastic to hear your loved our location and found our rooms to be clean and comfy. We do pride ourselves on service and very disappointed that the team has let us down on the pillow menu. This is something that I will address immediately and do apologise that this spoiled your experience with us.

I do hope you stay with us again in the future.

Ngā mihi nui
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 July 2023

Great location right in the heart of Auckland, close to shops, restaurants and transport options. Very clean and comfy rooms, with everything you need.

The only downside was very variable service. Some staff were lovely and very helpful, whilst others didn’t follow through at all. One example: despite an advertised pillow menu, it took me 3 separate requests (and over 3 hours) to get one feather pillow, and multiple staff couldn’t tell foam from feather, which I suspect was half the problem. There’s an apparent training gap here.

Date of stay: July 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Kiwisetter
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 24 July 2023

Kia ora Kiwisetter

Thank you for your review and really happy to hear you found our hotel to be in a great location.

Disappointing that our service was not your liking and I will look into our pillow options and ensure the team is trained on this to avoid further complaints.

We do hope you chose to stay with us again.

Ngā Mihi
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2023 via mobile

We had a delicious lunch here to celebrate a birthday. It serves Asian fusion, and as the chef is Korean, I believe it has a lot of delicious Korean inspired dishes. We had the Grilled Prawns, Fried Chicken and Meat Balls. All served beautifully, the tastes a delicious explosion of flavors in the mouth, and so yummy, I could have kept on eating. The views are enormous!! So lovely - soaking up the sun, being served by a lovely friendly chatty waitress, and eating delicious food, with amazing views and eating yummy food with great company. We will be back.

Date of stay: June 2023
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank AucklandWiz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Mövenpick Hotel Auckland, General Manager at Movenpick Hotel Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 19 June 2023

Kia ora AucklandWiz,

Fantastic to hear you enjoyed Boda! The team up there is really dedicated to service and quality. I look forward to sharing this review with them.

Ngā Mihi
Sean Slattery
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews