We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 9:30 AM - 5:30 PM
Save
Review Highlights
Upgrading the facilities

It wasn't the best day for an outdoor outing due to the occasional showers but it was quite a good... read more

Reviewed 25 August 2021
Acineto
,
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Fun family outing

Took the kids here during the school holidays and they had a wonderful time at the zoo...its a nice... read more

Reviewed 22 July 2021
8victorias
,
Dunedin, New Zealand
via mobile
Read all 3,518 reviews
  
Recommended experiences in and around Auckland Central
from US$249.67
More Info
from US$66.06
More Info
from US$199.01
More Info
from US$107.62
More Info
Reviews (3,518)
Filter reviews
3,518 results
Traveller rating
1,982
1,140
289
74
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,982
1,140
289
74
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews animal enclosures red panda animals seem great family day kiwi bird all ages new zealand on display tiger meerkats kea devil kiwis exhibits auckland picnic conservation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
167 - 172 of 3,518 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2019 via mobile

Very cold the day we were there, so there were not many people. This was like having the zoo to ourselves. The range of wildlife was impressive and the chance to see New Zealand native animals without any crowds was wonderful. A lot of building work at the moment and I would like to see it when complete.

Date of experience: June 2019
Thank Darren G
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 20 June 2019

Very nice and informative visit, which can only get better over time with the massive improvements currently in progress.

Date of experience: June 2019
1  Thank 572dereka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 June 2019 via mobile

Auckland Zoo is probably the smallest zoo compared to zoo's around the world. It is also a bit expensive. But great fun for the kids as they enjoy learning about different animals. This zoo is always in a developing mode. Hopefully they can add more areas to go around but keep the price same or less. Shop at the exit is also expensive. Great friendly staff though

Date of experience: February 2019
Thank NavandNeetu
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2019

Having visited zoos overseas I realise the Auckland Zoo is very small. Due to the many renovation projects, it was hard to get a sense of flow with all the white walls and high fences. However, I can see how with color of flora and fauna, both animals and humans will enjoy the finished product. I look forward to when the renovations are all done.

Date of experience: February 2019
1  Thank HelenLuka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 16 June 2019

The zoo is undergoing renovations, it will be even better when we return.
The zoo is very walkable, animal enclosures are generous, the variety of animals is excellent, special features include discussions and feedings. Don't miss the kiwis. There is a petting zoo, good for when the baby is a bit older. We were impressed enough that we bought our kids a season ticket.

Date of experience: April 2019
Thank Norman L
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews