We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Booking.com
ZenHotels.com
$222
No prepayment needed
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Andy H
Yuma, Arizona, USA

Great Location

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 26 Mar 2024
Wonderful hotel, extremely clean and friendly service. The location is perfect if you don't have a car. Restaurants nearby, plus shopping and the Sky Tower. A 10 minute walk to the waterfront and wide variety of shopping. Highly recommended.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
4.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Shin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this review
Responded 9 Apr 2024
Dear W3448NYandyh,

Thank you for your positive review, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Our location is certainly one of the amazing perks of staying with us, and I am glad you mentioned that here!

We appreciate your kind words, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $185
  • Vio.com
    $144
  • Official Hotel
    $185
0.5 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$158
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $115
  • Expedia.com
    $162
0.3 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $222
  • Hotels.com
    $222
  • Expedia.com
    $222
0.7 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$305
  • Tripadvisor
    $288
  • TheHotelBritomart
  • Priceline
    $287
0.7 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$186
  • Priceline
    $204
  • Vio.com
    $165
  • ZenHotels.com
    $166
0.3 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
  • Cordis Official
    $200
  • Expedia.com
    $215
0.9 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
0.4 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$190
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Hotels.com
    $162
  • Expedia.com
    $161
0.4 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Pool
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
Booking.com
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $68
  • Vio.com
    $55
  • Expedia.com
    $75
0.9 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$263
  • Hilton
    $263
  • Priceline
    $263
  • Expedia.com
    $263
1.1 km from The Grand by SkyCity
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (3,207)
Filter reviews
3,207 results
Traveller rating
1,875
922
274
93
43
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,875
922
274
93
43
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky tower harbour view room star hotel valet parking mini bar central location buffet breakfast restaurants and bars queen street gusto depot auckland concierge gym doorman luxury minibar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,207 reviews
Reviewed 26 March 2024 via mobile

One of my favorite things about this hotel was the breakfast options. Fresh squeezed juices, fresh pastries and great hot options. Additionally, the hotel was walking distance is the viaduct, shopping, casino, bars and restaurants. That being said, the concierge didn’t appear very knowledgeable about immediate surroundings.

Room tip: Walking distance to ferry departure ports.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank KasHaley
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Shin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Kashaley,

Thank you for your positive review regarding breakfast, and we will ensure your kind comments are shared with The Terrace team. We appreciate your feedback towards our concierge, and your attention to these matters goes a long way. We will ensure to provide our team with correct training to ensure we improve and remain knowledgeable for all our future guests and inquiries.

Thank you, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 March 2024 via mobile

Very nice hotel comfortable and clean. Helpful friendly staff and a room in 21st floor very nice. Breakfast good quality and variety. Easy access to city and location 2 min walk to Skycity casino and sky-tower. Lots of restaurants and bars within 2 block walk. The gym and pool were good the only issue no lockers in this area. Concierge said desk helpful and luggage taken to room quickly on check in.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Guide28684202446
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Shin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 10 April 2024

Dear Guide28684202446,

Thank you for your positive feedback, and we are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. We will ensure that your feedback regarding breakfast, location, concierge, and our reception team is passed on to their respective departments, and I am sure you have made their service even better!

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2024

We were welcomed at the door and helped to offload bags then directed where to park the car, a helpful greeting so far!

The room was clean and well sized for a city. We had a city view which looked onto the Crowne Plaza block directly across the road, slightly worse than expected given some of the city view pictures advertised.

There was plenty to do at or within the hotel complex and information was well presented. We had a poor experience with the concierge who confirmed a request but after some chasing returned saying it was not possible, not quite a 5 star service there.

A good option for a city stay close to some attractions.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Adam M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Shin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 13 March 2024

Dear AdammB2648WT,

Thank you for your positive review, and we are pleased to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We appreciate your time and effort leaving a valuable comment that portrays our pros and cons, and I certainly will share the feedback regarding our service standard to its respective department. We aim to consistently deliver a 5-star service to all guests, but we have let you down in this occasion. I am happy to understand what request got denied, so I can further investigate and inform the team if needed. Please send an email to SkyCity directly and please kindly ask to forward it to Angela Shin at the Grand by SkyCity.

Thank you for choosing to stay with us, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024 via mobile

Very good hotel, breakfast excellent and great location next to the Sky Tower, only issue that stopped a five star review was that we had to wait for valet parking to return our car on leaving, solely because the desk was unmanned, he was saved by the Concierge who was excellent, also lady concierge made fab restaurant recommendations

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank HuntingdonTrees
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Shin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Dear HuntingdonTrees,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us such a positive review. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. Your feedback regarding the concierge desk has been shared with the team, and we will ensure that there is always a concierge available to assist our guests.

We appreciate your kind words about our staff, and we look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel in the near future.

Warm regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 February 2024

Functional; competent; clean - just uninspiring as it's a chain in the CBD of a big city. Right next door to sky city - hence the name - good value compared to the general prices of Auckland city. They have a pool which we didn't use so I won't hold that against them! The night desk was indispensable because our plane landed at 2330 zzzz

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank miniman2804
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Angela Shin, Guest Services / Front Office at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 3 February 2024

Dear Miniman2804,

Thank you for your feedback. We appreciate your time in leaving us a review and commenting on our SkyCity location, the premises, and the overall value of our hotel. We will take your feedback into consideration and ensure that we constantly learn and strive to improve to provide the best service and experience to our future guests. Thank you once again, and we hope to welcome you again to our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Angela

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews