We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
US$195
View deal
Official Hotel
US$206
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
Reserve now, pay at stay
Trip.com
US$189
View deal
Free cancellation until 07/08/21
Expedia.comUS$195
Hotels.comUS$195
CheapTicketsUS$195
View all 20 deals
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (3,105)
Filter reviews
3,105 results
Traveller rating
1,817
906
261
83
38
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,817
906
261
83
38
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky tower harbour view room new zealand star hotel valet parking mini bar central location the heart of the city restaurants and bars spacious room buffet breakfast long flight queen street gusto masu depot auckland
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
304 - 309 of 3,105 reviews
Reviewed 26 September 2018 via mobile

Stayed here for two nights. We were fortunate to be upgraded due to our honeymoon and we were overjoyed! The bed was super comfortable, the separate bathroom with a bath was magnificent and the comfort of the room was spectacular. Our thanks to Alison who left a lovely note for us. Everything here works well and we would not hesitate to stay here again.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank VicJen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 9 October 2018

Dear VicJen

Thank you for sharing your special honeymoon experience at The Grand Hotel. We love to recognise special occasions and I am delighted you enjoyed your stay.

Once again, congratulations from all the team!

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018

High end entrance way and reception area, Dining lounge and drinks bar area
Room very nice and spacious with nice fittings and seating, with big windows, moderate city view.
Bathrobes and slippers always a good touch, many options of complimentary tea bags flavors, and coffee sachets,
close to SKY TOWER ( 2 mins walk )

Date of stay: August 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BlairD21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 24 September 2018

Dear BlairD21

Thank you for your lovely feedback!

We like to think that the "little things" we offer are what make our guests' stay memorable and it's great to hear that you enjoyed your time with us.

We hope to welcome you back soon.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Skycity grand is, for the most part, a good four star central city hotel. We’ve stayed before but this time round booked into a standard room (auction win at a primary school fundraiser!) and the rooms are ok but the bathroom has a cramped feel.
We had room 803 which overlooks a smokers courtyard. The smokers were a friendly bunch waving up at us but it makes getting changed in the room a bit difficult so avoid this room unless you have exhibitionist tendencies.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
3  Thank IsaacC550
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Isaac C

Thank you for reviewing your stay with us.

I am sorry that your room on this occasion did not quite meet your expectations. Please do make a note on your next booking that you prefer a room on a higher and we will be happy to help - or, just email me before your arrival.

We look forward to your next stay.

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 September 2018

Hotel feels newish/ modern and contemporary. We were greeted promptly when arriving at 6am (after an international flight). They looked but due to a conference the day prior our room was not ready - but we were given temporary keys to the workout facility in order to shower/ freshen up - which was greatly appreciated. They then texted/ called me as soon as the room was available - well before the advertised check in time, again appreciated after 15 hours of travel.

The rooms are decent sized with the choice of a shower or a tub. We had a shower and it was an open concept shower - it was spacious and nice, the only complaint was it got a bit cool from the room so did not stay as warm as some enclosed showers and a bit off water tended to get out on the bathroom floor unless you angled the shower head correctly.

The hotel is situated next door to the SkyCity hotel and there are several restaurants in the immediate area. There is a tour bus stop/ pick up within 1.5 blocks of the hotel and the hotel is a short walk from most areas of the city (around 15 minutes to Viaduct Harbor, the University, and more).

Date of stay: September 2018
Thank MichelleJ3260
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear MichelleJ3260

Thank you for your feedback following your stay at The Grand Hotel,

I am so pleased that our friendly team member looked after you on arrival and you were able to freshen up and relax while the team worked hard to have your room ready as soon as they were able to.

We hope you have a wonderful holiday in New Zealand

Kind Regards

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2018

Booked three rooms on the 8th floor to coincide with an anniversary and took the entire family along and as per the subject heading, an excellent stay and I think the highlight for the grandchildren was the lap pool which was extensively used both the day we checked in and the morning before checking out. Front desk service was superb, both with checking in and checking out.

Date of stay: September 2018
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Warwick H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alison B, Guest Relations Manager at The Grand by SkyCity, responded to this reviewResponded 25 September 2018

Dear Warwick H

Thank you for sharing your experience with our readers, we are so pleased that the whole family enjoyed their time with us to celebrate your anniversary. Our pool and spa facilities are fantastic which young and old all enjoy!

Thank you again for your compliments and we hope to welcome you back very soon.

Kind Regards

Alison Borland
Guest Relations Executive
alison.borland@skycity.co.nz

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews