We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (236)
Filter reviews
236 results
Traveller rating
152
62
12
6
4
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
152
62
12
6
4
Show reviews that mention
All reviews newly refurbished hotel duchess suite refreshing tea executive assistant manager luxury boutique hotel stayed in a junior suite enjoyed a night stay queen street nz hospitality loading zone downtown city north wharf lovely boutique beautiful hotel terrific location nespresso machine turn down service
Filter
Updating list...
41 - 46 of 236 reviews
Reviewed 6 September 2018

Like the other reviews mention, it is very centrally located. That being said, on the weekends it can be somewhat noisy. The rooms were smaller (more like European sizing), but very charming and clean. But the best thing about this boutique hotel is the service!! Every single member of the team couldn’t have been nicer and more concerned for our happiness. We experienced some extremely loud guests one evening (not the fault of the hotel at all) and we were quickly given another room that was perfect. The concierge staff were top notch and I would definitely stay here again. By the way, their restaurant Cookes was absolutely delicious. We ended eating there every morning for breakfast and twice for dinner, pretty unusual for us when visiting a new city. The food was just so good, we couldn’t help ourselves. Enjoy!

Room Tip: Our room was 604 and so very quiet!!!!!
Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Andrea O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendes_Carol, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Andrea,
We really value our guests feedback and are delighted to hear you had a great experience.
I'll make sure to pass your kind words on to our memory makers (team members) but if you want to also place your critic on our restaurant on Cooke's own page here on TripAdvisor, I am sure Alessandro (our restaurant manager) and his team would be more than happy to read and respond in person.

We hope to see you again soon.

Kind regards,
Carol Mendes
Front Office Manager
Hotel Grand Windsor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2018 via mobile

Location and luxury within a reasonable price range, this cute hotel has been modernised with all of the amenities with a touch of grandeur.

We loved the decor, the over-sized shower and the swivel lounge chair. The free still and sparkling water was a nice gesture and the service was excellent - thank you Rishabh.

Some might say the hotel rooms are small but given it is in the heart of the CBD, we thought it was pretty reasonable.

Photos on website are accurate.

Stayed: September 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank Nicholas C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mendes_Carol, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 weeks ago

Dear Nicholas,
Thank you very much for your detailed and sincere review of our hotel.
It was a pleasure to welcome you to our property and we look forward to seeing again soon.

Kind regards,
Carol Mendes
Front Office Manager
Hotel Grand Windsor

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018 via mobile

Traversing Queen St for the first time while looking for the hotel was a bit tricky as I was not exactly sure where the hotel was. I missed it the first time round because there was no obvious parking but got it the second time. If you don’t know the hotel, I recommend ringing them while you are in transit (if you can) so they can meet you outside outside the hotel. It is a taxi/loading zone but you can park there for a short period to disembark with your luggage and if one of the concierge staff is handy, he/she can take your keys and control of the car.

Check-in was different - sitting down at a desk with a refreshing tea.....nice! The room was very nice, the staff accommodating, breakfast was a little different which made a nice change so overall, a good vibe. I did not eat at dinner so no comment there.

I like it but you just had to hope there was a parking spot to offload your car at the end of the day (don’t forget to ring ahead). The hotel was close to Viaduct Harbour, the restaurant precinct on the harbour as well as several craft beer bars, so big tick in my book.

Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
Thank Michael B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NivzerD, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good Morning Michael

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review.

While we are pleased to hear you enjoyed the experience of the team, the arrival setting, breakfast and the overall experience, we also appreciate your feedback about the arrival with your car. We are in the midst of a very busy Auckland city street which makes it tricky however we ensure we have a concierge team representative out at most times to assist with a swift arrival. We will ensure this is available at all times.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Grand Windsor in the near future.

Warm Regards
Nivzer Dadabhoy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 September 2018

We stayed over a long weekend, and reallly like the hotel. The location is very central, and the service was the standout of our stay. Everyone was really friendly and helpful, nothing was a problem - they even gave us a takeaway breakfast on our departure day because of a very early flight. The hotel is small but very good looking. The rooms are extra small, but clean. There is no carpark closeby, so that can get quit expensive if using the valet everday. The only downside was the noise from the street on the Saturday night - no fault of the hotel but rather the cars with very loud music.
Overall we really enjoyed our stay.

Stayed: August 2018
Thank HappiTravels29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NivzerD, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good Morning HappiTravels29

Thank you so much for staying with us and for your review.

We lay a great emphasis on our guest's experience with us and we are glad to see this reflect during your stay. The noise is an issue we are working to isolate and have made great progress in reducing its impact. May I suggest booking Superior Queen rooms in the future which are the quieter rooms and a little bigger than the Classic Queen rooms.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Grand Windsor in the near future.

Warm Regards
Nivzer Dadabhoy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

A hidden gem in the middle of Auckland CBD. Trouble is if everyone learns about it I'll never get to stay again...

Walk off Queen Street into a beautiful hotel lobby leaving the busy world behind and are met with staff who seem genuinely please to be of service.

All the staff encountered were delightful - warm and welcoming, efficient and courteous.

This is an Accor hotel but with a boutique exclusive feel both in service and style The rooms a beautifully fitted out, plush and classy. I room I had wasn't huge but it was gorgeous, lovely colours, great bed, large bathroom and quiet.

This will be my place of choice in Auckland.

  • Stayed: August 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jill M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NivzerD, Front Office Manager at Hotel Grand Windsor, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2018

Good Morning Jill

Thank you so much for staying with us and for this wonderful review.

Your comments will please the entire team here who work incredibly hard to create superior guest experiences. We are lucky to represent this unique jewel in the heart of Auckland city.

Thank you again and we look forward to welcoming you back to Hotel Grand Windsor in the near future.

Warm Regards
Nivzer Dadabhoy
Front Office Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews