We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Rydeboi
Sydney, Australia

When late check out is not late check out

4.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 23 Apr 2024
Room 706 In 17/4/24 out 20/4/24

I can not fault the friendliest of the staff, the room, the housekeeping, the sauna/spa/pool.

The reason for not giving 5/5 but 4/5 is the package we had included late check out of 12pm. At 10.15am Reception called asking when we were checking out - advised we had late check out for 12 noon, they said thank you. Then at 11.45am housekeeping knocked on the door also asking when we were leaving. We were going to wait another 10 minutes as the shuttle to the airport was booked for 12 noon but felt pressured to leave the room straight away after having a phone call and a knock at the door. That said no other complaints, they were so close to full marks.
Date of stay: April 2024
Room Tip: They have next to the gym an indoor pool, spa, pool and sauna they also have an outdoor pool and...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
3.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
4.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Khoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Auckland, responded to this review
Responded 23 Apr 2024
Dear Rydeboi,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at The Heritage Hotel Auckland. We are delighted to hear that you found our staff friendly and were pleased with your room and our amenities, such as the sauna, spa, and pool.

We sincerely apologise for the confusion regarding your late checkout. It seems there was a miscommunication with our team, and we regret any inconvenience this caused. We appreciate you bringing this to our attention, as it allows us to improve our guest experience.

Your feedback is invaluable, and we are taking steps to ensure that our communication is clearer in the future to provide our guests with the seamless and relaxing experience they deserve.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back and deliver a flawless experience.

Warm regards,

Adrian Khoo
Rooms Division Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$210
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • eDreams
0.5 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$305
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Expedia.com
    $305
  • Priceline
    $305
0.6 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$185
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $185
  • Vio.com
    $148
  • Expedia.com
    $185
0.8 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$242
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $269
  • Agoda.com
    $208
  • Hotels.com
    $269
0.3 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
$154
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $157
  • Agoda.com
    $109
  • Vio.com
    $111
0.6 km from Heritage Auckland
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Building
$112
  • Expedia.com
    $112
  • Priceline
    $90
  • Algotels
    $112
1.1 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Priceline
    $191
  • Cordis Official
    $209
1.2 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Priceline
    $199
0.8 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
$109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $100
  • Vio.com
    $81
  • Expedia.com
    $109
1.1 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$151
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $151
  • Hotels.com
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $151
1.1 km from Heritage Auckland
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (2,409)
Filter reviews
2,409 results
Traveller rating
1,087
833
297
114
78
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
1,087
833
297
114
78
Show reviews that mention
All reviews rooftop pool tower wing harbour bridge new zealand room was spacious washing machine great room queen street auckland city kitchenette tennis gym stove concierge sky
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 2,409 reviews
Reviewed 15 April 2024

I stayed at the heritage for 2x nights for work in one of the deluxe double rooms. or thought definately dated and could do with a bit of a refresh the room was super spacious and clean and it was cool to read about the history of the building in the hotel guide. The bed was really comfortable and cozy and i had a really restful sleep. I went for a swim at the rooftop pool and was really impressed with this area, so nice to relax and unwind with a swim after a busy day looking at the lights in the city with the sky tower looming overhead. Nice and centrally located, close by the sky tower and bars/restaurants, supermarkets and the viaduct. Would definitely stay again.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tessnjosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Khoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Dear Tessnjosh,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience at The Heritage Auckland. We're delighted to hear that you found your stay comfortable and enjoyed the spaciousness and cleanliness of your deluxe double room. It's wonderful that you appreciated learning about the history of our building through the hotel guide.

We're thrilled to know that you had a restful sleep on our cozy bed and that you were able to unwind at our rooftop pool, enjoying the city lights with the iconic Sky Tower in view. Being centrally located, close to key attractions and amenities, is indeed one of our advantages.

We truly value your feedback and look forward to welcoming you back for another enjoyable stay.


Best regards,

Adrian Khoo
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024 via mobile

In March 2024 I was due to board a LATAM flight between Auckland and Santiago. This flight was cancelled and LATAM put me up in the Heritage hotel.

On arrival staff at the Heritage hotel made clear that there'd be no room service and no complementary breakfast. Then there was the issue of checking out, a process which soon became fraught with confusion and inconsistencies. I was given three different check out times; 10am, 12pm and 5pm. At 12:27 pm the manager personally walked up to my room to expel me. However, my friend who was in a different room was allowed to stay indefinitely. Why the different treatment? Also, why didn't Heritage staff liaise with LATAM about check out times? This approach would have been more appropriate than expelling passengers from a stranded flight to the street.

While I was not a paying customer, I was shocked at the rudeness and disorganisation of this hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank lexanderf
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Khoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2024

Dear lexanderf,

Thank you for bringing your concerns to our attention. We deeply regret the inconvenience and confusion you encountered during your recent stay at The Heritage Hotel Auckland, particularly regarding check-out times and the communication regarding the services available to you.

I would like to clarify that upon learning of the cancellation of your LATAM flight and your subsequent stay with us, our team proactively reached out to the airline to inquire about departure times and any specific needs for our guests. Unfortunately, despite our efforts, we were unable to obtain the necessary information from the airline in a timely manner. This lack of communication certainly contributed to the confusion, for which we are truly sorry.

Additionally, it’s important to note that on the day of your departure, our hotel was fully booked, which regrettably restricted our ability to offer extended check-out times. We understand the frustration this may have caused, especially under such unexpected and stressful circumstances. We strive to accommodate our guests’ needs to the best of our ability, and it saddens us that we were unable to do so to your satisfaction on this occasion.

Please be assured, we are taking your feedback seriously. We are reviewing our procedures for handling such situations in the future to ensure better coordination with airlines and clearer communication with our guests.

We value your feedback as it helps us to improve our service and ensure that we can offer a more supportive and welcoming environment for all our guests. We hope to have the opportunity to better serve you in the future and to restore your confidence in The Heritage Hotel Auckland.

Warmest regards,

Adrian Khoo
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2024

This hotel is really two interlinked hotels. We arrived at the wrong entrance where there is a reception desk, but then had a five-minute walk across to the second tower hotel. It seems the hotel is made up from old shops and offices that have been converted.
The room was fine with not only all the usual hotel facilities of shower and fridge, but a cooker, dishwasher, washing machine and drier.
It was quiet and had plenty of room.
The main hotel has an independent restaurant only open in the evening and apparently breakfast is served in a local café, although we went elsewhere.
When it came to leave, our taxi arrived at a different door again, and so there is a clear issue with this hotel.
It is relatively conveniently located to explore the city on foot, although finding restaurants open during the evening was a bit of a challenge.

Room tip: Make sure you know where you are actually booking a room
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Andy T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Khoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 1 May 2024

Dear AndyAquila,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback following your recent stay at The Heritage Auckland.

We appreciate your detailed review and are glad to hear that you found your room pleasant and well-equipped with various amenities. Your observation regarding the unique configuration of our hotel is noted, as we aim to provide a distinctive experience rooted in the heritage of our building, which includes the fusion of two interconnected towers that were once separate entities.

We apologise for any inconvenience caused by the layout of our hotel and the confusion with entrances and exits. Your feedback is invaluable in helping us improve our guest experience, and we will certainly review our signage and communication to ensure a smoother arrival and departure process for our guests.

We're pleased to know that you found our location convenient for exploring the city on foot, although we regret any challenges you encountered in finding open restaurants during the evening.

Thank you again for your review, and we hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back for a more seamless experience in the future.


Best regards,

Adrian Khoo
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2024 via mobile

The Heritage Auckland is a centrally located, genteel hotel with a few quirks. It is a block or so from the Skytower and CBD bus stop. We stayed in the part that resides in an old department store- the room had a lot of character! The staff was always very friendly & helpful when we had questions. Our room was an executive suite, I believe- meaning we had a separate bedroom, with a sitting area and kitchenette. We were on the 7th floor, and our window overlooked the courtyard/ hotel restaurant. The beds were super comfy, the bathroom spacious & the dining area comfortable. The sitting area contained two single chairs which were not super comfortable; I think we would have preferred a comfy couch. The interior was a little faded, but clean. The rooftop pool was marvelous & had wonderful views! (It was a bit of a maze to find it through the large building, but part of the fun).Some of the rooms in the hotel are now privately owned, which creates a bit of confusion if you ask housekeeping for extra towels or coffee, as they need to ensure you are staying in a hotel room. Overall, we enjoyed our experience here and would return!

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled with friends
Thank TenaciousLD
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Khoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear TenaciousLD,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience at Heritage Auckland. We are thrilled to hear that you appreciated the unique charm of our hotel, including its central location and the distinctive character of your executive suite. Our staff strives to provide warm and attentive service, and we are delighted that their efforts resonated with you.

We appreciate your feedback regarding the sitting area furnishings and the condition of the interior. Please rest assured that your comments will be given consideration as we continuously seek ways to enhance our guest experience.

We are also glad that you enjoyed the rooftop pool and its stunning views, despite the adventurous route to get there. Regarding the confusion with housekeeping services for privately owned rooms, we are currently reviewing our communication processes to improve clarity and efficiency.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Heritage Auckland, hoping to surpass your expectations once more with both comfort and service.

Best regards,

Adrian Khoo
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 February 2024 via mobile

had a Superior Tower Room that unfortunately had a connecting door to some very noisy neighbours partying during the day and night until 2.30am after we eventually complained. Very dated and in need of modernisation. Old cooker microwave fridge safe. The bathroom has seen better days. The roof top
Pool area was amazing and very peaceful. Staff were so friendly and very helpful at check in. WiFi was good.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank poroger
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Adrian Khoo, Guest Services / Front Office at Heritage Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 6 May 2024

Dear poroger,

Thank you for choosing The Heritage Hotel Auckland and for taking the time to provide your valuable feedback. We are sincerely sorry to hear that your experience in our Superior Tower Room did not meet your expectations due to the dated condition and the noise disturbance from adjoining rooms. We appreciate you bringing these issues to our attention, and we are actively discussing how we can enhance our accommodation and soundproofing to ensure a more peaceful stay for all our guests.

We are, however, pleased that you enjoyed the rooftop pool area and found our staff to be friendly and helpful. Your kind words about our team and the WiFi service are greatly appreciated.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future, offering improvements that will enhance your overall experience with us.

Warm regards,

Adrian Khoo
Rooms Division Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews