We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$139
Hotels.com
Priceline
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
8 - 13 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2021

$150 for a very old grotty room was far too much. Yellowing walls, vintage aircon so loud you could not sleep with it on and the bathroom’s main feature was exploding particle board.
The place was almost empty, and no coffee or shop restaurant open.
Many of these faults could be forgiven if it was at a lower price point - I would say around $80 to $90.
On the plus side the bed was clean and comfortable and there was a TV.

Date of stay: December 2021
Trip type: Travelled solo
1  Thank Henrietta2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2022

Hi Henrietta 2011, Thanks for your review.... not sure if you were even staying at the Surrey? Our bathrooms are tiled? It is really hard to try and rectify or even work out what room you could possibly have been in as you have chosen not to talk to any of the staff and keep your review anonymous? You are welcome to email me and discuss. Regards Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 June 2021

We had to stay here on the 15 June because of a cancelled flight by Air NZ - who put us in the Hotel for the night. Fortunately our room wasn't to bad although the screen on the shower was loose and we didn't use the shower. We arrived at 2.30 in the morning and were hungry having just come off a 3hr flight. Only food available was fizzy drink and chips - that was fine but the man on the desk keep saying how expensive it was.
The hall was had tarps on the floor and puddles of water - next day we woke to Concrete grinding in the room next door and the smoke alarm in there going off. Bellows of dusk and noise. Other people on our canceled flight saying their beds were damp and like hammocks.
The fire extinguisher in the hall way was two years out of date and there was leaks drip into the indoor pool form the roof above that had bits of wood propping up the skylights.
The ladies in the breakfast room next morning weren't friendly and weren't eager in serving or handing out the menu - couldn't be bothered attitude. We just asked for toast but weren't given an butter.

Date of stay: June 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Rachel1087
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Hi Rachel. Its difficult for everyone when a flight is disrupted and you cannot get to your destination. Late at night it can be difficult to find rooms for everyone and on this occasion we were advised that you would be checking out prior to 7.30am when the construction guys arrived. Obviously we knew we had construction happening in adjacent rooms. Our fire extinguishers are all checked on an annual basis for our building warrant of fitness and all things related to fire, exits, etc are checked on a monthly basis by an outside contractor and are documented. The reason for the construction is we are upgrading our rooms. Our beds are not like hammocks or damp, but I think you knew that too. Everyone else on the flight was very complementary and loved the hotel. I am sorry you had to stay here. Kind regards Denise King.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 March 2021

I checked in at the hotel but my room was across the street in the motels. The location itself was perfect for me and for the price the room amenities were fine and the room was clean. What I didn't enjoy was the continuous thumping through the night from the people walking around the room above me. If I stayed again I would need a guarantee I was in the hotel or I would not bother.

Date of stay: February 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Alastair S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 21 June 2021

Hi Alastair. We are pretty clear on all websites that the motels are located across the road. If you book across the road but prefer the main hotel - we will always change it for you if we are not fully booked. The price difference is minimal, it always come to personal preference. Thanks for your review. Regards
Denise



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 October 2020

We had a team working away from home, managing long days and needing a home-away-from-home. The Surrey Hotel doesn’t disappoint. Friendly service and tasty food. Will definitely be using The Surrey Hotel again.

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank HCC2000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 September 2020

We held an event with approx 50 attendees in the function room next to the restaurant / bar area during the weekend. It was absolutely perfect - our guests absolutely loved the decor and commented that it felt like we were in an old hollywood setting. Our entertainer said it was the perfect space for his performance too. The venue has a natural atmosphere / personality, is unpretentious, and we didn't even have to do any dressing to the function room at all. The bar location was super convenient so guests could easily move between the function area and the bar to get drinks. The catering was great as well, couldn't have been better! Thanks so much to the team at the Surrey for being flexible and helpful, appreciated.

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZjules00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thanks for your feedback - the room you refer to is the Sussex Room and it is a great room for a private gathering - we are very happy you enjoyed it. Hopefully we will see you back again soon. Kind regards Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews