We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$137
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Vio.com
$111
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Hutton & Cameron Contractors

Welcoming and Friendly

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 1 Oct 2020
We had a team working away from home, managing long days and needing a home-away-from-home. The Surrey Hotel doesn’t disappoint. Friendly service and tasty food. Will definitely be using The Surrey Hotel again.
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Tripadvisor
$288
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Hotels.com
3.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $199
3.2 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Tripadvisor
$162
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $162
2.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Tripadvisor
$254
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
3.8 km from The Surrey Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $194
  • Algotels
2.4 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Vio.com
    $138
  • Priceline
    $185
2.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $133
  • Algotels
2.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $226
  • Expedia.com
    $226
3.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $223
  • Algotels
2.8 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
  • Priceline
    $69
  • Vio.com
    $55
  • Algotels
2.3 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
12 - 17 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 28 September 2020

We held an event with approx 50 attendees in the function room next to the restaurant / bar area during the weekend. It was absolutely perfect - our guests absolutely loved the decor and commented that it felt like we were in an old hollywood setting. Our entertainer said it was the perfect space for his performance too. The venue has a natural atmosphere / personality, is unpretentious, and we didn't even have to do any dressing to the function room at all. The bar location was super convenient so guests could easily move between the function area and the bar to get drinks. The catering was great as well, couldn't have been better! Thanks so much to the team at the Surrey for being flexible and helpful, appreciated.

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NZjules00
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thanks for your feedback - the room you refer to is the Sussex Room and it is a great room for a private gathering - we are very happy you enjoyed it. Hopefully we will see you back again soon. Kind regards Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 26 September 2020 via mobile

Excellent service, amazing food and the most friendliest staff ever...the restaurant and bar has an incredible atmosphere, the wood fire pizzas are delish, the pasta devine and the scallops hmmmmm...love the Surrey staf

Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Wrighton123
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Great review, thanks so much! See you again soon I hope.. Regards Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2020

We needed to accommodate and provide meals for our team who were working away from home on a project doing 12 hour days. The team at The Surrey, especially Natalie and the Chef went out of their way to accommodate us, providing comfortable clean rooms, healthy nutritious and substantial meals both in the restaurant and take away lunches. They worked with us to tailor this package to suit our needs and budget, all the while providing a friendly, responsive and amazingly helpful service. We will definitely be using them for all our business needs in the future and strongly recommend them to others. Carla Dobbyn, CALD Enterprises

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CDobbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thanks so much for the feedback Carla, we try very hard to keep all our customers happy and its really good to have this review.
Your team are welcome back anytime. Thanks again. Denise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

When I booked online for the Surrey Hotel, I was expecting a hotel not a motel. We were told we were across the road where we parked right outside the room which was fine. Entering the room and my husband was so close to having a full bag of rubbish dropped on him by the cleaner from the floor above. We were of the impression there was free WiFi but this was limited to a minuscule amount. When the people from above us came back to their room at 1am we heard every step up the stairs, inside and every word they said like the walls/ceiling was paper thin. This went on for a few hours so it was not a restful nights sleep. And I wasn’t even wearing my hearing aids! Won’t be going back

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LiciaCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Good Morning Mrs Collins, You booked with Expedia and it is quite clear on the Expedia website that you booked a motel room across the road from the hotel. If that wasnt the room you wanted we would have happily changed you to the main hotel. I cannot comment on the WIFI except to say it is free and you can use whatever you want? As for the people in the room above I am sorry they were noisy, we have 24 hour staff and a quick phone call to reception could have made all the difference for you. The walls and ceiling are not paper thin and were upgraded a couple of years ago to the current building standard. Sometimes at night when it is very quite noise does travel. Thanks for your feedback. Kind regards Denise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2020

Thank you for a lovely afternoon, booked the restaurant for a birthday lunch and food was delicious, very generous portions...the Roast especially is the winner so will definitely recommend for lunch and dinner. Staff are very friendly and made our guests feel welcome.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallylani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews