We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$137
Expedia.com
Get rewarded with One Key
Agoda.com
$107
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Awright

Surreal Surrey

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 25 Sept 2020via mobile
Excellent service, amazing food and the most friendliest staff ever...the restaurant and bar has an incredible atmosphere, the wood fire pizzas are delish, the pasta devine and the scallops hmmmmm...love the Surrey staf
Date of stay: September 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 29 Sept 2020
Great review, thanks so much! See you again soon I hope.. Regards Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Cordis Official
    $200
  • Vio.com
    $194
  • Hotels.com
    $215
2.4 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$180
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
    $180
  • Vio.com
    $148
  • Expedia.com
    $180
2.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$162
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $139
  • Agoda.com
    $121
  • Hotels.com
    $139
2.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$244
No prepayment needed
  • Vio.com
    $244
  • StayForLong
    $237
  • Hotels.com
    $244
3.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$280
  • Expedia.com
    $280
  • Official Hotel
    $313
  • Hotels.com
    $280
2.8 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$305
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Expedia.com
    $289
  • Hotels.com
    $288
3.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $199
3.2 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Ensuite Double
Booking.com
$85
Fully refundable
  • Agoda.com
    $61
  • Expedia.com
    $85
  • Priceline
    $78
2.3 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$207
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $207
  • StayForLong
    $201
  • Hotels.com
    $207
2.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Booking.com
$253
  • Hilton
    $253
  • Vio.com
    $253
  • Hotels.com
    $253
3.8 km from The Surrey Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
14 - 19 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 23 September 2020

We needed to accommodate and provide meals for our team who were working away from home on a project doing 12 hour days. The team at The Surrey, especially Natalie and the Chef went out of their way to accommodate us, providing comfortable clean rooms, healthy nutritious and substantial meals both in the restaurant and take away lunches. They worked with us to tailor this package to suit our needs and budget, all the while providing a friendly, responsive and amazingly helpful service. We will definitely be using them for all our business needs in the future and strongly recommend them to others. Carla Dobbyn, CALD Enterprises

Date of stay: September 2020
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank CDobbyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 September 2020

Thanks so much for the feedback Carla, we try very hard to keep all our customers happy and its really good to have this review.
Your team are welcome back anytime. Thanks again. Denise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2020 via mobile

When I booked online for the Surrey Hotel, I was expecting a hotel not a motel. We were told we were across the road where we parked right outside the room which was fine. Entering the room and my husband was so close to having a full bag of rubbish dropped on him by the cleaner from the floor above. We were of the impression there was free WiFi but this was limited to a minuscule amount. When the people from above us came back to their room at 1am we heard every step up the stairs, inside and every word they said like the walls/ceiling was paper thin. This went on for a few hours so it was not a restful nights sleep. And I wasn’t even wearing my hearing aids! Won’t be going back

Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank LiciaCollins
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 31 August 2020

Good Morning Mrs Collins, You booked with Expedia and it is quite clear on the Expedia website that you booked a motel room across the road from the hotel. If that wasnt the room you wanted we would have happily changed you to the main hotel. I cannot comment on the WIFI except to say it is free and you can use whatever you want? As for the people in the room above I am sorry they were noisy, we have 24 hour staff and a quick phone call to reception could have made all the difference for you. The walls and ceiling are not paper thin and were upgraded a couple of years ago to the current building standard. Sometimes at night when it is very quite noise does travel. Thanks for your feedback. Kind regards Denise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2020

Thank you for a lovely afternoon, booked the restaurant for a birthday lunch and food was delicious, very generous portions...the Roast especially is the winner so will definitely recommend for lunch and dinner. Staff are very friendly and made our guests feel welcome.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallylani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Terrible treatment from management!!!
Worst ever in my experience.
I went to a lot of trouble to ensure bookings made this year to attend training in Auckland accommodated my physical disability. Only to find this hotel takes bookings but that doesn’t mean the room you booked you will get!! They are not disability friendly, actually basically had to cancel all bookings made in advance because they won’t accomodate those with physical disabilities. You can book a studio but you are not guaranteed the studio room you booked.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Wenztravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Hi Wendy, We have tried to explain to you and your husband on many occasions that we will give you the room type that you request but we cannot allocate a specific room months in advance. We would obviously try our best but we cannot guarantee. Again we have tried to explain this to you? I am very sorry this has been such a terrible experience for you but to guarantee you a specific room number is not something we do. Kind regards Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

No onsite parking; was told we could park in the magician's carpark once he left, asked when that would be, she had no idea... not helpful, ended up parking on road. A lot of miscommunication on where we were first told we could park.
Went to our room and the toilet didn't flush after using it. Room was very nice.
Was told we can't move as fully booked so basically we were left standing in reception.No customer service skills there. Cant stay in a room with no flushing toilet! Went to order food upstairs at pub. Was told a long wait cause there were five dockets in front of us but couldn't say how long wait. Was not that busy.
Went back downstairs to reception to be told noone answering her calls. She showed us a text she sent. Mentioned health and safety and suddenly she had a room that we could change to as the people hadn't turned up. It was a family room which definitely was a downgrade. Not sure how five people could fit in that unit, especially the bathroom, it needs an upgrade. It was very high for my 72 year old mother to step over the edge of the bath to have a shower. The beds were low and soft.
Also went back up to the pub to be told it could be 40 minutes wait for a pizza bread; was only 10 minutes but the worst pizza bread ever.
Thank God we were only there one night.
Disappointed to say the least.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KJB2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews