We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Alicia Collins
Hamilton, New Zealand

Hotel with motel like rooms across the road

2.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 27 Aug 2020via mobile
When I booked online for the Surrey Hotel, I was expecting a hotel not a motel. We were told we were across the road where we parked right outside the room which was fine. Entering the room and my husband was so close to having a full bag of rubbish dropped on him by the cleaner from the floor above. We were of the impression there was free WiFi but this was limited to a minuscule amount. When the people from above us came back to their room at 1am we heard every step up the stairs, inside and every word they said like the walls/ceiling was paper thin. This went on for a few hours so it was not a restful nights sleep. And I wasn’t even wearing my hearing aids! Won’t be going back
Date of stay: August 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise King, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 30 Aug 2020
Good Morning Mrs Collins, You booked with Expedia and it is quite clear on the Expedia website that you booked a motel room across the road from the hotel. If that wasnt the room you wanted we would have happily changed you to the main hotel. I cannot comment on the WIFI except to say it is free and you can use whatever you want? As for the people in the room above I am sorry they were noisy, we have 24 hour staff and a quick phone call to reception could have made all the difference for you. The walls and ceiling are not paper thin and were upgraded a couple of years ago to the current building standard. Sometimes at night when it is very quite noise does travel. Thanks for your feedback. Kind regards Denise.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Cordis Official
  • Agoda.com
    $187
  • Expedia.com
    $211
2.4 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$190
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $192
  • Agoda.com
    $154
  • Priceline
    $190
2.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$249
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $249
  • Expedia.com
    $251
  • Vio.com
    $249
3.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$162
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $171
  • Agoda.com
    $96
  • Vio.com
    $117
2.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$305
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Priceline
    $287
  • Expedia.com
    $308
3.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Twin Room
$105
  • Priceline
    $105
  • Vio.com
    $89
  • Agoda.com
    $97
1.8 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
$233
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $262
  • Algotels
    $262
  • Priceline
    $238
2.8 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$199
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $201
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Hotels.com
    $199
3.2 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Ensuite Double
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $68
  • Agoda.com
    $56
  • Expedia.com
    $76
2.3 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $169
  • Hotels.com
    $159
  • travelup.com
    $162
3.9 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
16 - 21 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 23 June 2020

Thank you for a lovely afternoon, booked the restaurant for a birthday lunch and food was delicious, very generous portions...the Roast especially is the winner so will definitely recommend for lunch and dinner. Staff are very friendly and made our guests feel welcome.

Date of stay: June 2020
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sallylani
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020

Terrible treatment from management!!!
Worst ever in my experience.
I went to a lot of trouble to ensure bookings made this year to attend training in Auckland accommodated my physical disability. Only to find this hotel takes bookings but that doesn’t mean the room you booked you will get!! They are not disability friendly, actually basically had to cancel all bookings made in advance because they won’t accomodate those with physical disabilities. You can book a studio but you are not guaranteed the studio room you booked.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Thank Wenztravellor
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 12 March 2020

Hi Wendy, We have tried to explain to you and your husband on many occasions that we will give you the room type that you request but we cannot allocate a specific room months in advance. We would obviously try our best but we cannot guarantee. Again we have tried to explain this to you? I am very sorry this has been such a terrible experience for you but to guarantee you a specific room number is not something we do. Kind regards Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 February 2020

No onsite parking; was told we could park in the magician's carpark once he left, asked when that would be, she had no idea... not helpful, ended up parking on road. A lot of miscommunication on where we were first told we could park.
Went to our room and the toilet didn't flush after using it. Room was very nice.
Was told we can't move as fully booked so basically we were left standing in reception.No customer service skills there. Cant stay in a room with no flushing toilet! Went to order food upstairs at pub. Was told a long wait cause there were five dockets in front of us but couldn't say how long wait. Was not that busy.
Went back downstairs to reception to be told noone answering her calls. She showed us a text she sent. Mentioned health and safety and suddenly she had a room that we could change to as the people hadn't turned up. It was a family room which definitely was a downgrade. Not sure how five people could fit in that unit, especially the bathroom, it needs an upgrade. It was very high for my 72 year old mother to step over the edge of the bath to have a shower. The beds were low and soft.
Also went back up to the pub to be told it could be 40 minutes wait for a pizza bread; was only 10 minutes but the worst pizza bread ever.
Thank God we were only there one night.
Disappointed to say the least.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KJB2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2020

As this is the first time staying in Auckland i have nothing to compare too.
I liked the location where we could take a stroll round the block and there were a few convenient shops close by. It had everything we needed but 1 night would be enough as i felt quite closed in.
I felt the rooms could have been cleaned better as there were stray hairs on the bed cover and the shower was not as clean ad I'd like.
Tv remote had no batteries and couldnt find buttons on tv so tv was stuck on same channel and same volume which can be hard with a toddler.
Check in staff extremely friendly and helpful and allowed us an early check in which was much appreciated.
Although this would bot be my first choice to stay at again it certainly wouldnt be ruled out as a no either.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

Completely refurbished, modern, tiled bathroom, great value for money short walk to numerous food options, lovely staff! Proximity to the city is great, will definately stay again, even a swimming pool!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank carlyle1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews