We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Wenz

WILL NOT CONSIDER THOSE WITH PHYSICAL DISABILITY OR NEEDS - they would rather not have your business

1.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 10 Mar 2020
Terrible treatment from management!!!
Worst ever in my experience.
I went to a lot of trouble to ensure bookings made this year to attend training in Auckland accommodated my physical disability. Only to find this hotel takes bookings but that doesn’t mean the room you booked you will get!! They are not disability friendly, actually basically had to cancel all bookings made in advance because they won’t accomodate those with physical disabilities. You can book a studio but you are not guaranteed the studio room you booked.
Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled on business
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 11 Mar 2020
Hi Wendy, We have tried to explain to you and your husband on many occasions that we will give you the room type that you request but we cannot allocate a specific room months in advance. We would obviously try our best but we cannot guarantee. Again we have tried to explain this to you? I am very sorry this has been such a terrible experience for you but to guarantee you a specific room number is not something we do. Kind regards Denise
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$209
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $191
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Cordis Official
    $209
2.4 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$185
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $185
  • Agoda.com
    $144
  • Expedia.com
    $185
2.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$210
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $210
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Hotels.com
    $210
3.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Building
$112
  • Priceline
    $90
  • Expedia.com
    $112
  • Agoda.com
    $90
2.3 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$305
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Priceline
    $305
  • Expedia.com
    $304
3.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$154
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $162
  • Agoda.com
    $120
  • Expedia.com
    $157
2.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$242
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $226
  • Agoda.com
    $208
  • Expedia.com
    $269
2.8 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Ensuite Double
$109
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $100
  • Vio.com
    $81
  • Expedia.com
    $109
2.3 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Exterior
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Priceline
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
2.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$151
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $151
  • Expedia.com
    $151
  • travelup.com
    $152
3.9 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
18 - 23 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 16 February 2020

No onsite parking; was told we could park in the magician's carpark once he left, asked when that would be, she had no idea... not helpful, ended up parking on road. A lot of miscommunication on where we were first told we could park.
Went to our room and the toilet didn't flush after using it. Room was very nice.
Was told we can't move as fully booked so basically we were left standing in reception.No customer service skills there. Cant stay in a room with no flushing toilet! Went to order food upstairs at pub. Was told a long wait cause there were five dockets in front of us but couldn't say how long wait. Was not that busy.
Went back downstairs to reception to be told noone answering her calls. She showed us a text she sent. Mentioned health and safety and suddenly she had a room that we could change to as the people hadn't turned up. It was a family room which definitely was a downgrade. Not sure how five people could fit in that unit, especially the bathroom, it needs an upgrade. It was very high for my 72 year old mother to step over the edge of the bath to have a shower. The beds were low and soft.
Also went back up to the pub to be told it could be 40 minutes wait for a pizza bread; was only 10 minutes but the worst pizza bread ever.
Thank God we were only there one night.
Disappointed to say the least.

Date of stay: February 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank KJB2110
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 January 2020

As this is the first time staying in Auckland i have nothing to compare too.
I liked the location where we could take a stroll round the block and there were a few convenient shops close by. It had everything we needed but 1 night would be enough as i felt quite closed in.
I felt the rooms could have been cleaned better as there were stray hairs on the bed cover and the shower was not as clean ad I'd like.
Tv remote had no batteries and couldnt find buttons on tv so tv was stuck on same channel and same volume which can be hard with a toddler.
Check in staff extremely friendly and helpful and allowed us an early check in which was much appreciated.
Although this would bot be my first choice to stay at again it certainly wouldnt be ruled out as a no either.

Date of stay: January 2020
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Belinda A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 30 December 2019

Completely refurbished, modern, tiled bathroom, great value for money short walk to numerous food options, lovely staff! Proximity to the city is great, will definately stay again, even a swimming pool!

Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Thank carlyle1973
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 December 2019

Ooh dear !!. Lovely friendly staff, but facilities very tired and in poor condition. I was moved to an "upgraded " room , but still very tired and poor standard. Great area of Ackland to stay , could be a great asset .

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2019

I stayed at the Surrey last evening and through a chain of events my stay didn't go quite as planned.
HOWEVER the charming and efficient lady on the reception desk was help courteous and kind and saved my stay from being a disaster.
On the plus side the beds are SUPER comfie and the cat is charming.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Pip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thanks for your review. I am very pleased we were able to help you and ensure your stay was enjoyable.

Regards
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews