We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
carlyle1973
Auckland

Great value

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 30 Dec 2019
Completely refurbished, modern, tiled bathroom, great value for money short walk to numerous food options, lovely staff! Proximity to the city is great, will definately stay again, even a swimming pool!
Date of stay: December 2019
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$205
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Cordis Official
    $205
  • Priceline
    $187
  • Expedia.com
    $205
2.4 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$204
Fully refundable
  • MGallery
    $216
  • Priceline
    $173
  • Expedia.com
    $204
3.4 km from The Surrey Hotel
$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $176
  • Priceline
    $199
3.2 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$247
  • Expedia.com
    $275
  • Vio.com
    $214
  • travelup.com
    $277
2.8 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
$185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Vio.com
    $153
  • Official Hotel
    $185
2.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Building
$112
  • Priceline
    $90
  • Agoda.com
    $88
  • Expedia.com
    $98
2.3 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$230
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $230
  • Hotels.com
    $230
  • Vio.com
    $230
3.5 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$305
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Priceline
    $287
  • Expedia.com
    $305
3.6 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
$79
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $72
  • Agoda.com
    $59
  • Expedia.com
    $79
2.3 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
  • AdinaHotels.com
    $149
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • Priceline
    $169
3.9 km from The Surrey Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (234)
Filter reviews
234 results
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
36
65
78
29
26
See what travellers are saying:
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 234 reviews
Reviewed 29 December 2019

Ooh dear !!. Lovely friendly staff, but facilities very tired and in poor condition. I was moved to an "upgraded " room , but still very tired and poor standard. Great area of Ackland to stay , could be a great asset .

Date of stay: December 2019
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Hazel H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 September 2019

I stayed at the Surrey last evening and through a chain of events my stay didn't go quite as planned.
HOWEVER the charming and efficient lady on the reception desk was help courteous and kind and saved my stay from being a disaster.
On the plus side the beds are SUPER comfie and the cat is charming.

Date of stay: September 2019
1  Thank Pip M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thanks for your review. I am very pleased we were able to help you and ensure your stay was enjoyable.

Regards
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2019 via mobile

Hotel is a bit old. Beds were comfy. Breakfast was typical... Scrambled eggs beans hash browns and cornflakes etc. Coffee was instant....
Nowhere to park at night as it was full.
Receptionist gave me a 500mb thing for two... Went back and got a 5 gb one.
Nice place but pretty basic.

Date of stay: September 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank TambonzRobertson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 24 October 2019

Thanks for your feed back. On the rare occasion that the car park is full we can usually find a space that your car can be parked safely. We do have an espresso coffee machine which is available as a preference.

Regards
Denise

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2019

Checked in OK and went straight out to do sightseeing and visit some friends as time was short after a 12 hour drive to get there.
We got back to the room and after looking at the room found public hair from someone else on the bathroom sink, the toilet itself was dirty with what I hope was soap scum under the seat, there was balls of human hair on the floor where the vacuum cleaner doesn't work or hadn't been going and the beds have seen more action than the playboy mansion
In the morning there were ants on the kitchen work top area and my boy had bites on his leg.
We were going to eat breakfast in the restaurant but after a room like that... No way
When we checked out we were speaking with another guest and he had fleas in his room.
I can't see how this place has a 4 star rating.
Oh also tell your staff to not spit at the door before they start work

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Brian S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2019

Hi Brian. Thanks for your review. I am sorry that you felt it was so bad. When you checked out the staff came to see me and told me of your complaint regarding the toilet and the ants. I personally checked the toilet and looked for ants. The toilet was clean and the ants had gone - I did try to call you but you left a false number so unfortunately I didn't get to opportunity to have a chat with you. You could have had this problem solved immediately had you told us, we do have a very clean hotel and we are all very proud of our hotel. Your experience is disappointing for all of us. I am not sure who you saw spitting at the door but it definitely would not have been a staff member. Please feel free to call me if you would like to discuss. Thanks Denise.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2019

Had a really bad experience last night checked pics on the website of this hotel were really nice n the hotel we stay was fully booked so decided to book here. Price was so high like 4star hotel paid $145 for the night, no hygiene care water glasses were in the bathroom, tea table was dancing we were so scared what if we drop our food on the carpet hotel gonna charge us but luckily we didn’t drop, the shower’s door wasn’t closing it kept open one inch and wet the floor and water was just like warm in this cold weather N the beds were not comfy, never coming back again not recommending to anyone

Date of stay: August 2019
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Mannisandhu28
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Denise K, General Manager at The Surrey Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 5 August 2019

Good Morning Mannisandu28 - really hard to answer your review because you have given us nothing to go on. You did not talk to anyone on check out about your experience, and you have chosen to do an anonymous review. . The only issues I can answer is the water is operated through a reticulated system and we have had no other recent complaints about hot water. Our beds are all under 2 years old - the oldest being 2 years and we purchase all beds from Sleepyhead commercial. Really not sure what to say about the "dancing table"" the hygiene care": glasses?
Regards Denise


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews