We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Priceline
$199
Fully refundable before Sat, 1 Jun
Go to your Happy Price
Expedia.com
$199
Fully refundable before Sun, 2 Jun
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Julian
Auckland Central, New Zealand

Good Value Business Hotel

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 12 Apr 2024
Good value business hotel. On going road works outside the hotels can make it a little difficult to access if you are driving your own car, but that's out of the hotels control.
Parking is in the public carpark building right next door and discounted if you are at the hotel.
Nice bar downstairs.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled on business
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
4.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim Pollock, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel, responded to this review
Responded 15 Apr 2024
Good Morning Julian_E_Hall,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. I note your comment regarding the ongoing construction of the cityrail link. We are very much looking forward to the work being completed!

I do hope we have the opportunity to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards
Tim - Crowne Plaza Auckland
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
Booking.com
$185
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $185
  • Agoda.com
    $150
  • Official Hotel
    $185
0.4 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$158
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $167
  • Agoda.com
    $100
  • Hotels.com
    $112
0.4 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Booking.com
$222
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $222
  • Hotels.com
    $222
  • Expedia.com
    $222
0.8 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
TheHotelBritomart
$287
  • Booking.com
    $287
  • Hotels.com
    $271
  • Priceline
    $270
0.7 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$225
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    $252
  • Vio.com
    $223
  • Priceline
    $229
0.1 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $215
  • Cordis Official
    $197
  • Hotels.com
    $215
0.9 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Booking.com
$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • Expedia.com
    $199
  • Vio.com
    $199
0.4 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
Booking.com
$190
No prepayment needed
  • Priceline
    $190
  • Expedia.com
    $162
  • Hotels.com
    $162
0.4 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
Booking.com
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
    $68
  • Agoda.com
    $55
  • Expedia.com
    $75
0.8 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Booking.com
$246
  • Priceline
    $246
  • Hotels.com
    $246
  • Vio.com
    $246
1.1 km from Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel
Pool
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (2,290)
Filter reviews
2,290 results
Traveller rating
934
1,012
255
55
34
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
934
1,012
255
55
34
Show reviews that mention
All reviews sky tower central location new zealand albert street queen street good size comfortable bed long flight city auckland harbour ferries wharf
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2,290 reviews
Reviewed 1 April 2024

Centrally located quite close to cruise terminal, ferries terminal and shopping area. There was a lot of roadwork happening around the area but proved no problem to move around city as you have so many little side streets located near the hotel.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Margaret C
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim Pollock, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Good morning 885margaretc,

Thanks for your feedback from your recent stay with us at Crowne Plaza Auckland. Glad that you found the hotel to your satisfaction and that the current roadworks did not inhibit your stay.

I do hope you enjoyed your cruise?

Kind Regards
Tim - Crowne Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2024

Beautifully appointed room, fantastic food though a bit pricey in the restaurant. We highly recommend the Crowne Plaza. Staff are very helpful. Happy hour in the bar daily. Walking distance to retail shops and dining if you don't want to dine in the hotel.

Room tip: Restaurant is pricey whether it is breakfast or dinner but very nice food.
Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank debbieh470
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim Pollock, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 April 2024

Hi debbieh470,

Thanks for your feedback. Great to read that you enjoyed your room at Crowne Plaza Auckland and the location worked for you. I do hope you had a great time exploring Auckland City.


Kind Regards
Tim - Crowne Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024

We enjoyed our stay at the Crowne Plaza Auckland. A great location, comfortable rooms with great views. Aria has great food and wonderful happy hour. i would like to tell management how lucky they are to have Akshay Verma working at the front desk. We had a tour booked with Cheeky Kiwi and they canceled the night before due to van trouble. We were very upset and I went downstairs late that night, not expecting I could get any help trying to get another tour. To my surprise Mr. Verma was so helpful. He made some calls for us and was able to get us on another tour to Rotorua with Auckland and Beyond tours. We can't thank him enough as our trip would not have been as memorable if he did not go the 'extra mile" to help us.

Date of stay: March 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Teri H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim Pollock, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Good Morning THECHINA,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. I appreciate the feedback for Akshay. We are very lucky to have him as a member of our team and I am glad he was able to assist you with your trip after problems with the initial company you had booked with.

Kind Regards
Tim - General manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 March 2024 via mobile

We recently stayed at Crowne Plaza Auckland for 3 nights. Apart from the challenges of the street closures due to the City Metro works, our stay at the hotel was safe, comfortable and suited our requirements. The rate for the 3 nights was reasonable given it’s a CBD hotel.

My concern and alert to potential guests is to carefully check you account and your credit card you use to pay the account. In addition to the 3 night stay, I had booked an extra night, intending to arrive 1 day earlier. I made the reservation and received a confirmation that if necessary I could cancel that added booking right up to 6.00pm on the day of the reservation, without any charge. Due to changes to our schedule, we subsequently needed to cancel the additional night, for which I received a confirmation email including a cancellation reference. Despite cancelling the additional nights accommodation well over 24 hours ahead of the check in time, and well in advance of the free cancellation deadline, I was charged the Full Nights accommodation as a No Show fee, as well as an international transaction fee. I contacted the hotel by phone to querie the charges and they confirmed the no show charge was made because the operators “maybe” didn’t check that if had been cancelled, but the woman said she was unable to confirm a refund of the incorrect charges and that I would need to send an email with my complaint. On sending the email I received an out of office response suggesting the office will be closed until 11th February (today is 9th March) and that the email box will not be monitored.

My caution is to foreign tourists, who may not notice or check their accounts for incorrect or illegitimate charges made by this hotel. Be alert to opportunitistic and illegitimate charges made by this hotel on unsuspecting guests.

Of course the IHG of which this Crowne Plaza hotel is a member also doesn’t respond to phone or email queries

Room tip: Check your bill and credit card
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank ashman68
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim Pollock, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Good afternoon Ashman,

Thank you for your feedback from your recent stay. I sincerely apologise for the issue you have encountered with the additional charge on your account. I am led to believe from my team that this is in the process of being rectified. Should this not be the case, please do not hesitate to contact me on tim.pollock@ihg.com.

Kind Regards

Tim

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

A central location in the heart of the city, connected to a mini-mall that has a food court, barber, beauty services and more.

Overall the hotel was good, friendly staff all round, including the concierge which was always ready to help with bags and storage.

Although the hotel does advertise a Club Lounge, its very limited. They do not do breakfast, and when i was there the coffee machine in the lounge was out of order for a few days. The fridges are locked throughout the day, so you can't help yourself to a soft drink, or bottled sparkling water. They do have a tap which produces cold still or sparkling water, but that is all you have access too during the day, until evening canapes and cocktails.
The lounge maybe has limited service due to post covid, but i noticed when sitting in there at times working that guests were coming in and not knowing what was going on, so better communication around the limited club lounge services would be good.
Breakfast for guests is done in the ground floor with everyone else, which can be very busy, but in staying that, the service and quick delivery of cooked eggs to your liking was great, even when it was busy busy!!

The lounge is up the top of the building with a great view, good spot to relax during the day and get some work done in a quiet place.

There is no phone in the lounge, so you're unable to order "room service" to the lounge which was annoying, as i would of ordered lunch and stayed there working if it was made easy.

The music in the lounge at times was way too noisy as well, couldn't find the volume, but when its empty the jazz music was a little over the top during the day.

Over all a nice hotel, friendly staff, good coffee in Aura downstairs and only a 7 min walk down to the Viaduct where a lot of bars and places to eat are.

The hotel needs a little more attention to detail - on the welcome letter when arriving, the wi-fi password was last years password, and not updated to this years. Its february, surely this should have been picked up!? Issues with my key on day two as well to access the lounge didn't work, so i had to chase this up and get the keys re-done.

Anyway, the hotel would be better if the lounge was fully operational, but the rooms are still comfortable and quiet, i didn't get a view from my hotel, but the mall location with a food court is handy, and its a small walk to plenty of spots to eat and drink!

Thanks to the friendly front desk staff at all times, and the breakfast staff!

Room tip: Don't pay for lounge access until they lift the services available within the lounge!
Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank OzTravels80
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Tim Pollock, Owner at Crowne Plaza Auckland, an IHG Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Good afternoon OzTravel80,

Thank you for your feedback from your stay at Crowne Plaza Auckland. Your feedback has been very helpful. We have had a phone added into the Executive lounge and I have hopefully found all traces of the 2023 welcome letter and had it destroyed so that we are providing the correct wifi password. I note your comment regarding the lounge offering. We continue to review this and may at some time in the future return to a more substantial offering including breakfast. I was pleased to read that you found the staff to your satisfaction. I do hope you enjoyed your time in Auckland city.

Kind Regards
Tim - Crowne Plaza Auckland

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews