We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“FANTASTIC REAL MALAYSIAN COOKING”

Mamak Malaysian Restaurant
Get food delivered
Ranked #138 of 1,992 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $15 - $19
Cuisines: Malaysian
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Reviewed 13 July 2023

small place with very authentic malay cooking. had the laksa and taste very good with big portion. the guest next table was having fried noodles and it looked very good .... excellent place for real malaysian food

Date of visit: May 2023
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ianfung
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (171)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

3 - 7 of 171 reviews

Reviewed 31 October 2022

A tiny restaurant which also does takeaways tucked away in central Auckland near the CBD. Authentic cuisine. Wide range of dishes. We had chicken satay, green beans and an enormous bowl of chicken laksa.

Date of visit: October 2022
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank david s
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 September 2022 via mobile

We had been to this restaurant a few years ago and were keen to try it once more.
But never again. The chicken kebabs with satay sauce were dry and burnt. There was supposed to be cucumber and onion accompanying the kebabs, instead chopped cabbage. My dish of beef rending was acceptable but the cooked cabbage filling up the plate contained a human hair.
Totally unacceptable.

Date of visit: September 2022
Thank lesley p
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 February 2022

Nasi Lemak Beef Rendang is my go to here. But unfortunately in the last visit it is not as good as before.

Date of visit: February 2022
Thank M1ch3
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 25 February 2021

We have eaten at Mamak several times but this time brought our friends along and we couldn’t have been more impressed! Amazing atmosphere for groups as well as couples. Great food and great value for money too! We will definitely be back lots! I highly recommend the seafood laksa and the spring rolls!

Date of visit: February 2021
Thank alswonderfulworld
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Mamak Malaysian Restaurant also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Mamak Malaysian Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.