We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Always good - but pricey”

Depot Eatery & Oyster Bar
Ranked #44 of 2,221 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: New concept by famous Al Brownoysters, bistro food and great wines
Reviewed 22 July 2016

Reliably good food but a bit on the steep side, pricewise. They don't take reservations so it can be a bit of a roulette, especially if you are coming with a group. I'm not an oyster fan but I am told by those who appreciate raw slimy seafood that they are superb here.

Date of visit: July 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank kdtotara
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a reviewReviews (2,691)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1,142 - 1,146 of 2,691 reviews

Reviewed 20 July 2016 via mobile

I love freshly shucked oysters & they were succulent. The fish sliders delightful & the lamb ribs very tasty. The sweet pie was out of this world! The atmosphere is fun & the service is friendly & efficient.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank katkaren
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

Excellent menu - my picks Oysters, tuatua fritters, fish sliders. Leave room for the desserts. Attentive friendly waiters. I'll be back, highly recommend.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 438angb
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2016 via mobile

We had a great time here with really good food that just kept coming and it was all rally tasty. It was really busy with a really good vibe. The food portions were a really good size with a good selection.

Date of visit: November 2015
Thank pehiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 19 July 2016

Yes I recommend this restaurant for the buzz, the service, the food - tapas - and excellent value for your money. They do not take bookings. The guy at the door took our name, suggested a bar to go to, and he promised to call me when a table was ready in 45 minutes. He did this on the dot, and our table was all set up when we walked back in from across the road. He and the rest of the staff were excellent, super service and efficient. I tipped $20.

Date of visit: July 2016
Thank 693LindaJ693
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travellers who viewed Depot Eatery & Oyster Bar also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Depot Eatery & Oyster Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.