We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Glenn R

Best Hotel in Central Auckland

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 15 Jun 2024
Last time my wife and I were at the hotel was before the weather event in Auckland. We spent a week at the hotel on this occasion. The hotel was spotless loved the refurbished ground floor. It was great going back to the hotel we were welcomed very warmly by all staff. Our room was as we remembered with a very comfortable bed and pillows. Great size bathroom with bath and shower. Breakfast was very good with excellent coffee. The new bar on the ground floor is a standout. There are a number of the staff we would like to thank. If we miss anyone it's not because they weren't good, we'll put it down to not remembering their names. Thanks very much to Reto (GM) who goes out of his way to welcome all Accor Members. Others were Gerardo and Qui in the bar. Great drinks and cocktails. Kathy and the team in Lamaree for breakfast, Angela and Luke in the front office for their very warm welcome and last Charles and his team at the Concierge. All staff very well done. My wife and I recommend this hotel very highly. We've already booked our next trip to the Sofitel and look forward to travelling across the ditch to NZ.
Date of stay: June 2024
Room Tip: Don't be afraid to ask at this hotel if you are not happy the staff will go out of their way to...
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reto Borer, General Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this review
Responded 18 Jun 2024
Dear Glen it was a pleasure to have you in Auckland and we are looking forward to welcoming you in due time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$208
Fully refundable
  • MGallery
    $220
  • Agoda.com
    $176
  • Priceline
0.8 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
$262
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $262
  • ZenHotels.com
    $258
  • Hotels.com
    $262
0.7 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$231
  • travelup.com
    $259
  • Agoda.com
    $187
  • Expedia.com
    $231
0.6 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Pool
$199
Fully refundable
  • Hotels.com
    $199
  • StayForLong
    $200
  • Trip.com
0.9 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Pool
$215
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Expedia.com
    $215
  • Tripadvisor
    $215
  • StayForLong
1.5 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Pool
$273
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $287
  • Expedia.com
    $288
  • Hotels.com
    $287
0.9 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$185
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $185
  • Agoda.com
    $146
  • Vio.com
1.1 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Building
$108
  • Expedia.com
    $108
  • Agoda.com
    $84
  • StayForLong
    $107
1.3 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
$75
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
    $75
  • Agoda.com
    $56
  • StayForLong
1.4 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$152
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Expedia.com
    $169
  • AdinaHotels.com
    $149
1.5 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (3,649)
Filter reviews
3,649 results
Traveller rating
2,327
886
283
97
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,327
886
283
97
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room viaduct harbour rain shower turn down service water view new zealand modern hotel comfortable bed room was large valet parking concierge auckland accor blinds ferries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 3,649 reviews
Reviewed 30 May 2024

Beautiful room with daily service. (Take care that you dont get a room on the same side as the bus station. ) Great location, an easy walk to the Viaduct and nightspots. The concierge Careem was amazing, located a lost bag and had it seamlessly delivered to us!

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank C W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 May 2024

Very disappointing- rooms dated, restaurant over priced and very average food. French theme non-existent and try hard. Booked disability room and ended up with room that could not accommodate wheelchair. Spa facility very average. Definitely not 5 star - maybe 2

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank robp524
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Joaquim Wan, Marketing at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 21 May 2024

Bonjour robp524,

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. I am truly sorry to hear about your recent experience at our hotel and would like to extend my sincerest apologies for the issues you encountered during your stay.

We strive to provide all our guests with a memorable and comfortable experience, and it is clear we fell short in several areas during your visit. I regret that you found the rooms to be dated and the restaurant did not meet your expectations. We are currently in the process of updating our rooms and reviewing our restaurant offerings to ensure we provide a more authentic and enjoyable experience.

Regarding the accessibility issue, I am deeply sorry that the room provided did not accommodate your needs. This is not the level of service we aim to provide, and I understand how frustrating this must have been for you. I have addressed this matter with our team to ensure better communication and proper allocation of accessible rooms in the future.

I also apologise that our spa facilities did not meet your expectations. We are committed to providing a relaxing and rejuvenating experience and will take your feedback into consideration as we work to improve our amenities.

We value your input and would appreciate the opportunity to welcome you back and provide a better experience.

Sincerely,
Joaquim Wan
Marketing Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 May 2024

The arrival and check in was seamless. Staff are friendly and helpful. Our room was beautiful, Junior Suite, room was large and very clean, lovely big bathroom. The bed was so comfortable and huge. We had the continental and hot buffet breakfast, was very good. Nicely located in the harbour. Really enjoyed our stay. Would stay here again.

Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank minilee2018
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 9 May 2024

We stayed at this hotel for our 37th wedding anniversary and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. On arrival we were greeted by the concierge (Kalim) and were shown to reception where we were given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite and a bottle of bubbles. The room was large, clean and tidy and the bed was huge and super comfy. We had guests in the afternoon and the manager Anastasia was very helpful. The breakfast was comfortable and the food superb. All in all a wonderful time and Anja checked us out with a smile. This isn’t the cheapest hotel in Auckland to stay at but the service and the staff are wonderful. Memories remain long after price is forgotten. Thank you for ours.

Room tip: Bring your swimming togs
Date of stay: May 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 511iains
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

Stayed here whilst in Auckland and found it to be up to the Sofitel standard. Check in was seamless and room well appointed. In room espresso available and beds were very comfortable. Extensive breakfast available downstairs including continental and hot buffet. Dining in the restaurant was great albeit not an extensive menu. Service and food were excellent.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rosco_FNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
View more reviews