We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Iain S

A high quality luxurious hotel, centrally located in Auckland

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 8 May 2024
We stayed at this hotel for our 37th wedding anniversary and the staff went above and beyond to make our stay memorable. On arrival we were greeted by the concierge (Kalim) and were shown to reception where we were given a complimentary upgrade to a junior suite and a bottle of bubbles. The room was large, clean and tidy and the bed was huge and super comfy. We had guests in the afternoon and the manager Anastasia was very helpful. The breakfast was comfortable and the food superb. All in all a wonderful time and Anja checked us out with a smile. This isn’t the cheapest hotel in Auckland to stay at but the service and the staff are wonderful. Memories remain long after price is forgotten. Thank you for ours.
Date of stay: May 2024
Room Tip: Bring your swimming togs
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
5.0 of 5 bubblesValue
5.0 of 5 bubblesRooms
5.0 of 5 bubblesLocation
5.0 of 5 bubblesCleanliness
5.0 of 5 bubblesService
5.0 of 5 bubblesSleep Quality
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$195
Fully refundable
  • travelup.com
    $291
  • Agoda.com
    $157
  • Expedia.com
    $195
1.1 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$233
Fully refundable
  • Official Hotel
  • Agoda.com
    $202
  • travelup.com
    $262
0.6 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Pool
$117
  • Vio.com
  • Priceline
  • travelup.com
    $182
0.7 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
Building
$153
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $129
  • Expedia.com
    $162
1.3 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
$75
Fully refundable
  • Priceline
  • Agoda.com
    $56
  • Expedia.com
    $75
1.4 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$169
Fully refundable
  • Expedia.com
  • travelup.com
    $160
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $199
  • Priceline
  • Hotels.com
    $199
0.7 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $305
  • TheHotelBritomart
    $305
  • Vio.com
0.9 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $245
  • Cordis Official
    $245
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
Pool
Twin Room
Get rewarded with One Key
  • Booking.com
    $105
  • Agoda.com
    $101
  • Priceline
1.5 km from Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (3,648)
Filter reviews
3,648 results
Traveller rating
2,326
886
283
97
56
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
2,326
886
283
97
56
Show reviews that mention
All reviews luxury room viaduct harbour rain shower turn down service water view new zealand modern hotel comfortable bed room was large valet parking concierge auckland accor blinds ferries
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 3,648 reviews
Reviewed 4 May 2024 via mobile

Stayed here whilst in Auckland and found it to be up to the Sofitel standard. Check in was seamless and room well appointed. In room espresso available and beds were very comfortable. Extensive breakfast available downstairs including continental and hot buffet. Dining in the restaurant was great albeit not an extensive menu. Service and food were excellent.

Date of stay: May 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Rosco_FNQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 April 2024

Luxury from the moment you arrive. Valet parking is available. Seamless and friendly check-in. Staff friendly and helpful. Rooms are beautiful. Choice of city or atrium views. Everything about the room is great. Luxury bathroom, spacious layout, mist comfy bed, pillow service, bathroom splendid. Hotel restaurant is the best, cocktail bar on site. Hotel has lots of longe areas to relax in and have a snack or drink. Spa on site. Highly recommend this hotel.

Room tip: Walk around the viaduct, visit the pool and spa area. Book a table at the in house restaurant (it won’t disappoint)
Date of stay: September 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank My-Bella-Puka
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 22 April 2024 via mobile

I would have gone a 5 for the accommodation but downgraded to a 4 because of the underwhelming breakfast.
The arrival and check in was excellent. Our room was nice and as we expected. Nice size, good amenities, clean, nice shower etc. overall it was great.
Breakfast for a top hotel was not good. Four of us had breakfast and we all commented negatively about it. Our waiter had trouble taking our order which was simple. One order arrived completely wrong and served by another member of the waiting staff. We tried to let her know it was completely the wrong dish and must be someone else’s but after going round in circles my friend decided to accept what was placed in front of him as there was a communication and language problem. The hot dishes on the buffet were poor. Some empty and others badly presented and not warm. Being a Saturday I’m wondering if they had a stand in Chef on??? For $52 per head for the breakfast that we were served, I would suggest you go to a local cafe or maybe round the corner to the Grand Hyatt where I have stayed and thoroughly enjoyed the breakfast.
In short. The accommodation and service during checkin and out was excellent, rooms great, ambiance and location excellent……. But I don’t recommend the breakfast.
I would definitely stay here again but wouldn’t bother with the breakfast again and would go to somewhere local.

Room tip: Don’t do the breakfast!!
Date of stay: April 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank KingyOE
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 20 April 2024

Our room had mold all over the bathroom - in the shower & even coming out from under the mirror; the mirror mold appeared to be black mold.

There are stains on the curtains, wall paper is peeling from the walls etc. It feels “tired” & no amount of dim lighting and fancy finishes can hide that.

The location is decent if you are wanting to explore the area. Staff was average but not overly accommodating when we needed it, which was rather disappointing.

Would not recommend you stay here until they make necessary improvement for guest safety - like removing mold from bathrooms.

Date of stay: April 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Traveler05220829
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 March 2024 via mobile

Very lovely, elegant hotel with the perfect downtown location. Some minor fixes and it could be a 5 star…i.e. update the heating/cooling system, new carpets, proper technicians providing spa service, valets at door during evening hours…etc. Overall, however, pleased and would consider staying here again on my return to Auckland.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank SavvyJudge
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reto Borer, General Manager at Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour, responded to this reviewResponded 25 March 2024

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at the Sofitel Auckland Viaduct Harbour. I am sorry that your experience did not meet your expectations; please allow me to express my sincerest apologies. Specially the comments in regard to the technicians in the Spa is concerning so is the heating cooling system. We are working on the process in order to get this fixed.

At Sofitel Hotels & Resorts, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore, your feedback is very important to us. Please rest assured that we are taking the appropriate measures to address the problem and prevent future occurrence.

We appreciate your sharing your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.
Reto Borer

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews