We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“An Unexpected Surprise”
Review of Le Garde-Manger

Le Garde-Manger
Ranked #27 of 1,978 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 29 January 2024

After completing Day #1 touring Auckland (and feeling quite tired) we were wandering aimlessly close to our hotel on Queen Street, looking for a place to have dinner. The endless stream of Korean and Chinese restaurants offered up several really good looking options, but then unexpectantly, we happened upon a tiny French restaurant... Le Garde-Manger.

Given I'm writing this review, we obviously decided to give it go.

We were impressed that the entire front of the restaurant was being manager by only one gentleman. And he was in total command all the time we were there, so thumbs up to him.

Bottom-line, the service was great, the food was very good, and we're thinking we'll make a second visit before leaving Auckland.

For the sake of keeping top ratings fair, a star (dot) was deducted for the less than impressive ambiance and no air conditioning (the open front door mildly provided an air flow).

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

5 - 9 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 26 January 2024 via mobile

a delightful French restaurant. The beef bourguigon was delicious. The potato dish was also lovely. What a refreshing way to spend our last day in Auckland. Good food and wine

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank rudyt569
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 21 January 2024 via mobile

This is an unassuming little French restaurant with OUTSTANDING food and ambience. We have eaten here last year when In Aukland and again tonight. This is an absolute must in Aukland if you want GREAT well cooked food

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Anton W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 12 December 2023 via mobile

This restaurant is a tiny unassuming looking place with fabulous food. Large menu with great prices. Everything we had was delicious. The dessert crepes were wonderful. Highly recommend!!

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank sy1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 28 November 2023 via mobile

Loved this small friendly restaurant. The French food I love was available and as I remember it from visits to Paris. We enjoyed escargots, duck rilletes, coq au vin, and duck a l'orange.

There was no sign in front but we knew the address so no problem

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank rac4nd
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Le Garde-Manger also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Le Garde-Manger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.