We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely perfect”
Review of Le Garde-Manger

Le Garde-Manger
Ranked #27 of 1,970 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 13 June 2021 via mobile

Central location in Auckland CBD.

Amazing food, amazing service, quick cooking, great ambience. What more is there to say?! Get to it

Date of visit: June 2021
1  Thank Jfar7052
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (554)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

28 - 32 of 554 reviews

Reviewed 6 May 2021

Unfortunately, the waitress here did a big dis-service to this place and will not consider going back!
I had made a comment ( not a complaint ! ) that the buckwheat galette I had was not as black as buckwheat flour you get in France and not quite the same taste..... she then argued with me that it was the same, and basically then repatedly said because she is french she knows best !!
Also, i had asked which cheese they used on complete galette and she had said Emmental - but unfortunetly it was not, just some more greasy NZ edam or similar.. it also came out with the cheese set and hard - probably due to her not picking it up from the kitchen quickly.
The waitress's whole attidude from when i walked in was off.. they closed at 3pm and i went in just after 2, but she only offered me crepe menu and obviously wanted to work as little as possible. Arogant, rude couldnt care less attitude.
Im sure there are some quite good things on the menu and i really wanted to like this place.... but the waitress absolutely ruined my experince here.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank TheCatMeow
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 2 May 2021

A classic French restaurant in the heart of Auckland, top end of queen street. Could be in Paris or many other French towns. Great food, good service and busy on a Saturday evening with a mix of families, friends and couples.

Date of visit: May 2021
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank alannevillenz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 December 2020 via mobile

I have eaten here a number of times over the years. Apart from difficult parking in the area, there's nothing to dislike about LGM. Great food, great service, reasonable price. We always know what to expect and that's an excellent French meal of some traditional dishes and a focus on crepes. Highly recommended.

Date of visit: November 2020
1  Thank eudele
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 November 2020 via mobile

What a good restaurant ! The food is delicious ! I’ve been few times and it always reminds me my holidays in France ...
The staff team is amazing and lovely
Go for it

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank johannc262
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Le Garde-Manger also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Le Garde-Manger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.