We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Love this place. Had the escargot”
Review of Le Garde-Manger

Le Garde-Manger
Ranked #28 of 1,982 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 18 March 2020 via mobile

Love this place. Had the escargot and coq au vin absolutely beautiful. Back tonight for our last night in Auckland

Date of visit: March 2020
Thank 514peteg
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (555)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

38 - 42 of 555 reviews

Reviewed 14 March 2020 via mobile

Before a show at The Civic we booked at Le Garde-Manger. The Restaurant was buzzing. we came here as my wife has dietary issues and 3 of the mains worked perfectly without modifications. This is so rare to find. Beautiful food, great service. well done Le Garde-Manger.

Date of visit: March 2020
2  Thank alanmcgrathnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 11 March 2020 via mobile

I had a light dinner of Onion Soup and salad. Both delicious, tho I found the soup a little sweet for my taste. Lovely staff and cosy ambience. Opening hours are great, so you can almost always find a time to visit.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank dshbrisbane
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 27 February 2020

This is a laid back place to eat with a great variety of authentic french food to choose from.
Each time we went and we returned 3rd time with friends too - always a sign we think it is brilliant - we had something different and all the dishes were really good.
From escargots to gallette to crepe to cheees to great coffee and lovely bread.
Lovely to have good cider and great red wine.

Date of visit: January 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Alison June M
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 February 2020 via mobile

This was recommended to us by our hotel across the road.

We would have enjoyed it more if not for the language issue and our pre conceived idea of a crepe (NO complaint, just fact).

I ordered a wild pork sausage crepe.. (thinking soft rolled up crepe). It was like a really thin stiff cheesy toasted sandwich with a runny egg (which I like but was just weird).
However simply loved the spicey sausage. A full burst of flavor.

We ordered 2 different crepes for dessert. We explained we were going to cut each in half and share so we could try both flavors. She didn't understand and we ended up with one flavour and 2 plates. The walnut and maple had lots of walnuts and too much (for us) syrup. Would have been ideal if we could add our own amount.
When we explained the mistake she was still unsure but apologized. No big deal as we were now too full to eat another crepe.

Did enjoy dinner and would return again.

Date of visit: February 2020
1  Thank w00fies
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Le Garde-Manger also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Le Garde-Manger? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.