We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Exceeded Expectations”
Review of Ahi.

Ahi.
Ranked #14 of 1,966 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $33 - $55
Description: Ahi. strives to deliver the best, freshest New Zealand dining experience, right in the heart of Downtown Auckland.
Restaurant details
Description: Ahi. strives to deliver the best, freshest New Zealand dining experience, right in the heart of Downtown Auckland.
Reviewed 5 December 2023 via mobile

Excellent, attentive, knowledgeable server who was very accurate with descriptions. Creativity prepared dishes both from an ingredient and presentation perspective. Octopus, lamb, and venison were mouth watering, tender, and wonderfully mixed with other fresh ingredients. We’d return without hesitation.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank ksrichter3000
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (495)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

37 - 41 of 495 reviews

Reviewed 4 December 2023

Ahi in Auckland's food is innovative, fresh, and perfectly cooked. Every dish we sampled off the menu, which was a great read, tantalised our taste buds, and the presentation of each one was a sight to behold. I congratulate the restaurant manager, Edward, and his kitchen, bar and floor staff for giving us a thoroughly enjoyable and memorable dining experience. I'm often disappointed by restaurants that promise excellence (and charge the earth) for their food and services and don't deliver; Ahi in Auckland is NOT in that category.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Lynnie B
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 24 November 2023 via mobile

Amazing staff. Amazing food. Just Amazing. New to Auckland and unaware dining options drastically narrow a lot earlier than what we are used to. Their Kitchen was closed but they sat us anyway and we were grateful for it as it every course was flawless. We particularly enjoyed the wallaby and the venison, and the cocktails were the best we’ve had in NZ so far. Extensive wine list as well, and price point generally was reasonable for what you are getting. Although all the staff were great, especially appreciated the fella managing and hostess on nov 20, just really welcoming.
We’ve been to a few more NZ places since and had some more great food, but this was our best experience so far.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank XerxesAlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 29 October 2023 via mobile

Highly over-rated.
Reservations not honored: we requested a time when we could have a window table and were told 7:15. When we arrived, there was one window table open but was being saved for a reservation made “a month ago.” We were seated along a bench with 3 other tables - and soon after a very loud and obnoxious guest was seated closely beside us. The window table stood empty for 45 minutes while other tables opened. I had a friendly conversation with the guests who were finally seated at the reserved table and learned they had made their reservations 3 days before.

Food Fairy Tales: We were informed their butterfish was sustainably speared (FYI - this is done only in summer, otherwise it is net caught or more likely harvested from the fishery in Cook Strait.) We we’re also told their white asparagus harvested at midnight (LOL-no joke!)

Quality of Food: Beautifully described but poorly executed. The butterfish was room temperature when served and had little to no flavor. The Agria potatoes were crunchy because they had been deep-fried and were served with a “mushroom ketchup” that looked like a facial mud mask that very, very faintly tasted of mushroom.

Seriously overpriced: Be ready to pay $6 for a half a slice of sourdough bread with butter ($12 for a whole slice.) Two spears of asparagus will run you $34 (harvesting at midnight must be expensive - LOL!) And when the menu says the butterfish is served with “globe artichokes,” be prepared for a sixth of a “juvenile” artichoke.

Management: After paying the check, we requested to speak with the manager to inform him of our plan to post this review. Edward was courteous but could provide nothing but excuses in addressing our concerns.

Hot Tip: Go enjoy yourselves with the food and service at Hello Beasty instead - we sure wish we had!

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Cyndy-with-a-y
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 23 October 2023

We dined here for my daughters 30th birthday. The menu was fabulous. We could do a trust the chef or choose our own courses. Two of us opted for trust the chef and the other two chose their own courses. The food was fantastic. Totally lived up to fine dining expectations. The service was exceptional. Absolutely no complaints. We will definitely be back. Well done Ahi

Date of visit: September 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Janeen W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Ahi. also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Ahi.? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.