We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
2 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$416
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Breakfast included
Priceline
$416
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Go to your Happy Price
Agoda.com
$321
Fully refundable before Sat, 20 Apr
Breakfast included
Easy and fast booking
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (223)
Filter reviews
223 results
Traveller rating
216
3
3
1
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
Traveller rating
216
3
3
1
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews breakfast in bed other guests ponsonby road complimentary minibar beautiful boutique hotel highly recommend hotel cocktail hour macaroons welcome drink breakfast was delicious we loved our stay little touches location was perfect amazing hotel home away from home perfect stay mini bar
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 223 reviews
Reviewed 18 February 2024 via mobile

They checked us in early with a big nice room. They have a 4 to 6 pm canapés and drinks. Breakfast is to order in the room or on one of their balconies. You’re a few blocks from great restaurants, shops and people. You’re an hour from a wonderful museum and park in one direction and a zoo in another direction. It’s a nice place.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Road38998164058
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anastasiia Loginova, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Fitzroy curated by Fable, responded to this reviewResponded 21 February 2024

Dear Paul,

Thank you for taking the time to leave us a 5 star review.
It makes our day hearing how much our guests love our canapes between 5pm - 6pm and our breakfast along with the attentive staff. Glad you enjoyed your time with us and that you liked the location.
Looking forward to welcoming you back next time you visit New Zealand.
Kind Regards,
Operational Manager,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2024

Small boutique hotel, great room and excellent breakfast cooked to order and delivered to the room. Set the bar high for the rest of our stay in NZ. Friendly, helpful staff - maybe a little too far out of town for some people but not too far by taxi.

Date of stay: January 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank 378sarahw
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anastasiia Loginova, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Fitzroy curated by Fable, responded to this reviewResponded 14 February 2024

Dear Sarah,

Thank you for sharing your experience!
We are glad you had a wonderful stay and the staff took good care of you.

We hope to welcome you back in the future.

Kind Regards,
Anastasiia Loginova
Operations Manager
Hotel Fitzroy curated by Fable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 February 2024 via mobile

Bizarre breakfast service. A la carte on Day 1, second rate DIY basic foods on Day 2 with mediocre pre-cooked food if you’ve paid in advance. If you come off the street you get a la carte. No one cares. Unhappy staff and shifting standards according to occupancy. Spoiled our stay and the start of our holiday.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Dr Sally V
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anastasiia Loginova, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Fitzroy curated by Fable, responded to this reviewResponded 12 February 2024

Dear Sally,

After reading your review, I can assure that it should have not been posted to our business page.
Here are some crucial points:
We do not have a reservation under your name.
We only do a la cart breakfast - freshly cooked options and continental to go with it.
We do not offer breakfast to people coming off the street.
We do not charge for breakfast- it is always included in the rate.

I am kindly asking you to remove this feedback and to post it to the relevant business if you wish to do so.

Thank you so much .
If you have any questions please contact us at reservations@hotelfitzroy.co.nz.

Kind Regards,
Anastasiia Loginova
Operations Manager
Hotel Fitzroy curated By Fable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 February 2024 via mobile

After completing an independent 30 day caravan tour of the North and South Island of New Zealand, we decided to have a bit of luxury before staying with relatives for the final part of our holiday. The reviews for this hotel were excellent and we prefer smaller boutique hotels.
After a few unfortunate initial glitches upon arrival ( due to one particular member of staff), the hotel staff lived up to their previous reviews and the rest of our two nights stay went like a dream plus they acknowledged my husband's birthday, which is always a nice touch. It's just a shame we live on the other side of the world...

Room tip: There is no formal parking for the hotel. There is space on the grass verge outside or on street parking but this does have time limits at certain times of the day
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank Emma S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anastasiia Loginova, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Fitzroy curated by Fable, responded to this reviewResponded 8 February 2024

Dear Emma,

Thank you for the wonderful feedback!

It was lovely to meet you and Phil.

I am truly sorry about the issue you have faced upon your arrival.
I am very glad that you came forward to introduce me to the problem and that I and the rest of the team were able to recover and provide a great service - we are so happy to read that apart from the check-in everything went well for you!

We hope to welcome you back the next time you visit New Zealand!

Kind regards,
Anastasiia Loginova
Operations Manager
Hotel Fitzroy curated by Fable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 January 2024

There was a lot we loved about this place. It was more like a bed and breakfast than a hotel. There were very few rooms and staff was limited but very friendly. Weather permitting, breakfast was served outside, which was very nice and they had a lovely library with complimentary drinks in the evening. It was a relaxing, cozy place to sit and have a glass of wine after a full day of sightseeing. On the downside, it was off the beaten path and a good distance from a lot of the places we needed to get to. There was nothing within a couple of blocks (I have bad knees so walking more than a few blocks was not an option) so we needed an Uber for just about everything. The room was very clean but a little small. All in all, if you are a walker or if you prefer a quieter accommodation, this place was lovely.

Date of stay: November 2023
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank benbohen
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Anastasiia Loginova, Guest Services / Front Office at Hotel Fitzroy curated by Fable, responded to this reviewResponded 2 February 2024

Dear Ben,
Thank you for the great review!

We are so delighted you had a great time within our walls.
Happy to read that our team once again provided outstanding customer service and made your experience enjoyable.

Sorry to hear that you did not like Ponsonby district, here are so many restaurants, bars, and shops within a 10-minute walk and you also can find great meals even closer.

I was trying to find your reservation and unfortunately did not succeed, but I assume that the booking has been made through a travel agent, which may explain how you ended up staying so far away from all the activities that were booked for you.
I truly believe that the location of the property and distance to your tours should have been communicated with you before the booking. I hope this will not happen again.

I hope you reached home safe and we are looking forward to welcoming you back in the future!

Kind regards,

Anastasiia Loginova
Operations Manager
Hotel Fitzroy curated by Fable

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews