We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Contact accommodation for availability.
There are similar hotels available.
View all
Emma_Jay
Wellington, New Zealand

Delightful luxury with all of the special touches.

5.0 of 5 bubblesReviewed 17 Mar 2024
What a dreamy hotel - such a luxurious experience. The beds & pillows are so comfortable. The staff were wonderful from check in; through to the restaurant. The rooms are so well designed & ooze luxury. The amenities in the room are Sansceuticals which are devine. I highly recommend for anyone looking for a luxury stay.
Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled solo
Problem with this review?
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this review
Responded 17 Mar 2024
Kia ora Emma_Jay_nz,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel Britomart. I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.

We take pride in sharing the very best of Britomart and downtown Auckland with our guests and I am delighted to read that your experience was an enjoyable one for all the right reasons at New Zealand’s first and only 5 green star hotel.

When bringing the hotel to life, we placed much emphasis on the design, look and feel as well as working closely with New Zealand suppliers and manufacturers to showcase the very best of our wonderful country. We are so pleased to have Sans [ceuticals] products for guests to use in the rooms, a fantastic local and sustainable business not to mention our wonderful beds made right here in New Zealand by Sleepyhead.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Britomart in the near future.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of Tripadvisor LLC.
The listings of booking offers for each property take into account the compensation paid to us by our partners. Prices shown may be for varying room types. Prices displayed are the lowest available, corresponding to the least expensive room type available, as provided from our partners as of the time of the user’s search.
Nearby Hotels
$115
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • Algotels
1.1 km from The Hotel Britomart
Restaurant
Bar/Lounge
$201
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
  • Hotels.com
  • Booking.com
  • eDreams
0.4 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
Pool
Exterior
$199
Fully refundable
No prepayment needed
Book Now with Marriott Bonvoy
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.1 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
$159
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Hotels.com
  • travelup.com
0.6 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
Ensuite Double
$75
Fully refundable
  • Booking.com
  • Algotels
  • Hotels.com
1.5 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Priceline
    $249
  • eDreams
0.4 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • ZenHotels.com
    $163
  • Expedia.com
    $190
1.1 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
Restaurant
  • Hotels.com
  • Expedia.com
    $209
  • Algotels
1.5 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
Pool
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $208
  • Hotels.com
0.7 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
Pool
Twin Room
  • Algotels
  • ZenHotels.com
    $104
  • Hotels.com
1.8 km from The Hotel Britomart
Free Wifi
View more hotels in Auckland Central
Reviews (491)
Filter reviews
491 results
Traveller rating
409
42
23
9
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
409
42
23
9
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blackout blinds green star great location beautiful hotel rooms are small love this hotel room service central city within easy walking distance reception staff comfortable beds new zealand would stay again valet parking libraries auckland staycation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
54 - 59 of 491 reviews
Reviewed 16 March 2024

Great stay, location and service .
Clean rooms ,quiet and all appointed
.Restaurant was excellent with great food.
Valet parking made it easy
Location is great for downtown Auckland

Would recommend this hotel

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank scmover
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Kia ora Scmover,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Hotel Britomart, it is always such a delight to read that we have exceeded guest expectations.

We are very lucky to have such a genuine, knowledgeable, and friendly team - very much the style of our proudly kiwi owned hotel and kingi restaurant. Thank you for your many compliments, we are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience throughout your entire journey.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Britomart and the Britomart neighbourhood in the near future.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2024

The Hotel Britomart is in an ideal position if embarking or disembarking from the Auckland Cruise Terminal. We arrived at the cruise terminal and had just a short walk to the hotel without the need for a taxi. The hotel is surrounded by cafes and restaurants and the city shops just a short distance away. The Kingi restaurant serves wonderful local seafood albeit some unusual treats.

Date of stay: March 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Susan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2024

Kia ora Susan A,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Hotel Britomart.

I'm delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience with us. We are so pleased to be located in the heart of the Britomart neighbourhood, only a small 5 to 10 minute walk from the international cruise terminal in downtown Auckland. We take great pride in the beauty that our space has to offer around 65+ Boutique restaurants and outlets.

We are very lucky to have such a genuine, knowledgeable, and friendly team that offer great service and incredible food across the board - very much the style of our proudly kiwi owned kingi restaurant.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Britomart in the near future.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2024 via mobile

We stayed in a corner room on the 6th floor, (608), for 4 nights overlooking to harbour. The room cost was varied between $683 & $623 per night. The rooms are the same size but the corner ones have 3 windows instead of just 2. The side or east view was an office building with Westpac logo which was not much to look at but the 2 north windows overlooked the wharf & harbour where ships were unloading cars. The hotel was just a short walk from where we caught the ferry & in the middle of the bar & restaurant area together with several upmarket shops. We thought that the 500ml water in the bar fridge was included but found out it cost $9 a bottle. We should have known better so that was our fault.

NZ banking system seems very hungry as everywhere we were charged a credit card fee of 2% to 3%. Unlike in Australia where most fees are waived or are only up to 1.5% and vary between the type of card used to reflect what the establishment is charged. The hotel charges 2% which was low by comparison to other NZ places.

To me it is more of a business hotel as the small room size makes it very cramped for 2 people with suitcases. And having only 9 coat hangers was not enough. There were really no useful drawers to put your clothes, just 2 shelves.

Staff were excellent & breakfast which was included in our room rate, was table service.

Room tip: Corner rooms have 3 windows not 2. Higher up the better.
Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank David_Albert_Park
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 15 March 2024

Kia ora David Albert Park,

Thank you for taking the time to leave feedback on your stay with us, I appreciate your comment in relation to the room size and I apologise that this was not to your expectations.

Careful consideration went into the design and procurement of our hotel, our rooms serve to be functional and provide guests with a luxury lodge feel, all while being based in the heart of our Britomart neighbourhood where guests have access to 65+ luxury shopping and hospitality outlets.

As you have stated the excess bank charges are very much nationwide in New Zealand as is unfortunately something we cant help. I do apologise though that our team did not make you aware of our minibar charges and I will be following this up.

We are so pleased to be located in the heart of the Britomart neighbourhood, and we take great pride in the beauty that our space has to offer and its always wonderful to read that you enjoyed our team's service as this is something we love sharing with our treasured guests.

We look forward to hosting you at The Hotel Britomart again soon.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 March 2024 via mobile

Centrally located near quays and docks in Britomart area with great restaurants, shops, etc. Clean, well appointed rooms—on the small side. Have coffee set up but no fridge. Check-in and out was easy. Can refill water bottles in gym. Close to coffee shops, bakery, grocery and other shopping right on same block. Didn’t try on-site restaurant as staff never mentioned it.

Date of stay: March 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank O9524BGjohnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 11 March 2024

Kia ora O9524BGjohnp,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Hotel Britomart.

I'm delighted to read that you had a wonderful experience with us overall.

Please do accept my apologies that our team did leave out a few things such as the minibar fridge located in all rooms below the tea and coffee station and our wonderful sustainable seafood inspired in-house restaurant kingi.

We are so pleased to be located in the heart of the Britomart neighbourhood, and we take great pride in the beauty that our space has to offer. We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Britomart in the near future.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2024

This was the first stop on our honeymoon trip. The staff was so friendly and accommodating. Rooms were clean and lovely! Location is prime - we were able to walk most places. Great bars and restaurants nearby and the hotel restaurant was fabulous as well. Definitely recommend!

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank LMasc4986
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2024

Kia ora Seaside46593626550,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel Britomart during the beginning of your honeymoon. I appreciate you taking the time to share this wonderful 5 star TripAdvisor review.

We take pride in sharing the very best of Britomart and downtown Auckland with our guests and I am delighted to read that your experience was an enjoyable one for all the right reasons at New Zealand’s first and only 5 green star hotel.

We love being based in Britomart where guests have access to 65+ luxury shopping and hospitality outlets.

We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Britomart in the near future.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews