We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
3 people are viewing this hotel
Booking.com
$322
Priceline
$322
Go to your Happy Price
Hotels.com
$322
Get rewarded with One Key
Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect total costs of the stay, including all taxes and fees known to our partners. Please see our partners for more details.
Payments made by partners impact the order of prices displayed. Room types may vary.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (452)
Filter reviews
452 results
Traveller rating
376
38
22
8
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
376
38
22
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews blackout blinds green star great location beautiful hotel rooms are small love this hotel room service central city within easy walking distance reception staff comfortable beds new zealand would stay again valet parking libraries auckland staycation
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 452 reviews
Reviewed 26 February 2024

Beautiful hotel, lovely room (although small, but didn't matter), everything felt SO nice....except it soured it for me that the staff were wearing a WINTER UNIFORM (full length pants, shirts and WINTER BLAZERS) on a 25 degree day in SUMMER! When I asked they if they were roasting they said "omg yes"...I asked if they'd brought their uniform up with management and they said "yes we've tried".

I overheard a staff member say they couldn't wait to go on break because they were SO hot, and literally sweating. I saw another lady who I presumed to be a manager in there, and she was wearing a short sleeved top (not in uniform - typical!). Seriously...sure you might be a 'green hotel' but if you don't look after your staff what does that matter? Honestly it felt a little cruel to me. It was SOOOOO hot and I felt soooooo sorry for your lovely staff. I'm happy to take this 3 star review down once you fix it.

PLEASE TREAT YOUR STAFF BETTER

Date of stay: February 2024
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Freedom73650
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 28 February 2024

Kia ora Freedom73650,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel Britomart. I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay.

When bringing the hotel to life, we placed much emphasis on the design, look and feel as well as working closely with New Zealand suppliers and manufacturers to showcase the very best of our wonderful country and are delighted to see you enjoyed this overall.

I would like to thank you for your open and honest feedback with regard to our uniform. Rest assured we have taken this seriously. As per my response to you via our in-house survey submitted on Monday, whilst this is not intended to be a winter uniform and similar to a normal suit jacket that you may have seen some of our management team wearing, we understand your concerns on warmer days. We have addressed your feedback with our front office team and have encouraged our Duty Managers during summer months to make a shift by shift call on whether jackets are worn. As you will appreciate uniform is an important part of our overall brand delivery, team members looking part of the team and identifiable from a guest experience perspective is an important part of this.

Rest assured that our team is the most important part of our hotel and we take all such feedback with great importance.

Should you have any further questions please don't hesitate to contact me directly on cmolloy@thehotelbritomart.com

We sincerely hope that we get to host you again sometime in the future at New Zealand first and only 5 star green eco rated hotel.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager



Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 February 2024

Terrific experience where no request was too difficult to accommodate. Really appreciate the kind staff catering for my mobility and treatment requirements after completing but suffering a leg injury at the UTMB Tarawera Miler. The food for breakfast was spectacular, fresh and tasty. The concierge, service and room was amazing. Will definitely be back ☺️

Room tip: The resturant and bar are definitely worth a visit.
Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Go65174449344
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 26 February 2024

Kia ora go65174449344,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel Britomart. I appreciate you taking the time to review your stay with us.

We are very lucky to have such a wonderful team with us here at The Hotel Britomart who consistently strive to assist our guests in anyway that they need and on this occasion noting your requirements after your leg injury its such a delight to read that you were so well cared for.

We take pride in sharing the very best of Britomart and downtown Auckland with our guests and I am delighted to read that your experience was an enjoyable one for all the right reasons at New Zealand’s first and only 5 green star hotel.


We very much look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Britomart in the near future.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 February 2024

We had a wonderful stay at The Hotel Britomart for my mother's 60th birthday celebration. The facilities were just beautiful - architecturally unique, aesthetic, functional, impeccably clean and very comfortable. We absolutely loved our breakfast at Kingi in the morning and have previously dined there in the evening, enjoying a similar wonderful experience. The highlight of our stay was the service - everything about it was personal and warm, and the staff went above and beyond to make the occasion feel special for my mum. We will without a doubt be back!

Date of stay: February 2024
  • Trip type: Travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Dreamer17374021129
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 25 February 2024

Kia ora Dreamer17374021129,

Thank you for taking the time to review your stay with us at The Hotel Britomart, it is always such a delight to read that we have exceeded guest expectations especially during such a special occasion like your Mothers 60th birthday.

Our entire team pride themselves on offering exceptional kiwi experiences in the heart of our Britomart Neighbourhood. We are very lucky to have each and every one of them who are truly so genuine, knowledgeable, and friendly - very much the style of our proudly kiwi owned hotel and kingi restaurant. Thank you for your many compliments, we are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience throughout your entire journey.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Britomart and the Britomart neighbourhood in the near future.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 19 February 2024 via mobile

The service was excellent. They spoke to us each time we entered and left the premises. They gave us good recommendations. They were engaging hosts. The libraries bar offered interesting drinks. The breakfasts were hearty and tasted excellent.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank colo_757
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 20 February 2024

Kia ora colo_757,

Thank you for choosing to stay at The Hotel Britomart. I appreciate you taking the time to review your experience, and I am delighted to read that it was a memorable one for all the right reasons.

Its great to hear that our team acknowledged you at all times when coming and going as it is a key component of how we want to treat our guests and make them feel during their stay with us.

We are very lucky to have such a genuine, knowledgeable, and friendly team - very much the style of our proudly kiwi owned hotel and kingi restaurant.

We look forward to welcoming you back to The Hotel Britomart and the Britomart neighbourhood in the near future.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 February 2024

High tea was absolutely to die for. A vast array of beautifully presented deliciousness on a number of plates. I would highly recommend and I will be returning again. The staff and service was exceptional and the restaurant was of the highest standard. Thank you.

Date of stay: February 2024
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Trip165088
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Ciaran Molloy, Guest Services / Front Office at The Hotel Britomart, responded to this reviewResponded 19 February 2024

Kia ora Trip165088,

Thank you for taking the time to review your time with us at The Libraries and giving us a 5-star rating, it is always such a delight to read that we have exceeded guest expectations.

We are very lucky to have such a genuine, knowledgeable, and friendly team that offer great service and incredible food across the board - very much the style of our proudly kiwi owned kingi restaurant.

Thank you for your many compliments, we are delighted to read that you had an enjoyable experience. We look forward to welcoming you back to The Libraries and The Hotel Britomart again soon.

Ngā mihi nui,
Ciaran Molloy
Operations Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews