We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delicious food beautifully presented and attentive service”
Review of Cafe Hanoi

Cafe Hanoi
Reserve a table
Ranked #20 of 1,966 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Vietnamese
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Description: Café Hanoi is a modern Vietnamese restaurant housed within a heritage warehouse space in Britomart, the city’s oldest commercial district. The restaurant reflects our passion and respect for Vietnamese food and culture. Our menu offers authentic Hanoian street food that has made the city world famous, and other more modern dishes that pair traditional Northern Vietnamese cooking techniques with the best of New Zealand produce. We are very careful to choose ingredients that have been sourced with a deep respect for the environment.
Reviewed 11 January 2024 via mobile

Absolute gem! So glad we found this wee place - so much so that after a delicious lunch of chicken salad and a gorgeous eggplant dish, we came back for dinner!
We again shared this time - pork skewers -wrap your own in lettuce leaf and help yourself to fresh herbs cucumber and spicy sauce- very good. And a tofu curry that was flavourful and vege full, the dessert offerings were amazing, the chocolate tart was decadent and the french patisserie selection was sublime.
Highly recommended.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Safari50093321510
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (1,421)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

26 - 30 of 1,421 reviews

Reviewed 11 January 2024

Went here because it was recommended to us. Service a bit slow but atmosphere okay. My main course of tofu curry was okay, but I’ve had far better Vietnamese food in Sheffield! My wife ordered a chicken salad. When it came it had four prawns and three very small pieces of chicken in it. The rest was bean sprouts and grated carrot. When the waitress asked if all was ok I said no and explained about the chicken salad. The response was ‘sorry about that’ and walked off. When I went to pay I said the same thing but the response was ‘you got what you ordered’. What is the point of training staff to ask if customers are happy but then not doing anything about it when they say ‘no’? I should have refused to pay for her meal.

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank paulaV6875AY
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 January 2024

We have been going to Cafe Hanoi since it opened in its old location and continue to go every opportunity we get.
The food is the best and the standard has never dropped.
The portions of food have gotten smaller over the years and the prices have increased to a level where it is no longer cheap but if you are looking for an excellent selection that has excellent flavor do not miss this restaurant

Date of visit: January 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Zede333
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 6 January 2024 via mobile

Great food and great service. We had the NZ char grilled octopus, the Café Hanoi pork and the tiger prawns and the 3 dishes were fantastic. The sides as well, we had the Asian greens and the eggplants. The service was very helpful with good advices and great knowledge of the dishes. We will come back very soon !

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank papou97
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 5 January 2024 via mobile

Food and service was excellent and super friendly. We were guided through the menu and were all very happy with our choices.

Date of visit: January 2024
Thank Dream07809645121
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Cafe Hanoi also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Cafe Hanoi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.