We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant: Crafting Unforgettable Birthday Memories”

Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell
Reserve a table
Ranked #22 of 1,970 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Price range: $12 - $60
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Neighbourhood: Parnell
Description: Auckland's taste sensation in a warm cosy atmosphere with great service. Whether for a romantic dinner or lunch, a catch up with friends or family or for business entertainment, we can cater for your needs. With seating capacity maxing out at around 40 to 50 (depending on seating arrangements), it is advisable to make a telephone reservation. The restaurant also offers great wines, cocktails, beers and a nice selection of teas. Open 6 nights (closed Mondays & public holidays)
Reviewed 6 April 2024

An unforgettable birthday dinner experience! From the warm welcome by the manager to the impeccable service throughout, our evening at Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant was nothing short of extraordinary. The authentic Thai dishes served were visually stunning and bursting with traditional flavors, a true testament to their commitment to authenticity. We left feeling fully satisfied and already planning our next visit. Highly recommended to all Thai food enthusiasts – Blue Elephant is truly the best Thai restaurant we’ve ever been to! Thank you so much again :))

Date of visit: April 2024
Thank coffeeight
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Bevins, Owner at Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 9 April 2024

Thank you so much

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (827)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

1 - 5 of 827 reviews

Reviewed 17 March 2024

We came here for a long awaited family reunion and were so looking forward to it, given the reviews and people we had talked to generally. We are not from Auckland but the family came together in Parnell for this special occasion.

The food, when it came- very ad hoc - was really very good, hence the 3 stars. The service however was forgetful and chaotic, probably the worst we had ever experienced in NZ. The waiting staff really did not know whether they were coming or going. Our orders were either simply forgotten or came so late that everyone ate at different times or lost interest by the time the food did arrive.

We noticed the takeaway service was thriving. At the same time, tables of people were patiently waiting for what seemed like an age for their food.

The service for us was so slow and forgetful and this will be our overriding memory of eating here. On a good day, maybe this place is the place to go but we won’t be returning.

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Acrobatic1
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Bevins, Owner at Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 21 March 2024

Thank you.
Yes we know the day you are talking about. It was a very hectic day for us. From time to time this sort of thing can happen in restaurants - thankfully only on very rare occasions. We were advised by our manager and have put in place some suitable measures to help.
We are always looking for ways to remedy situations such as this, without creating issues for customers.
Our sincere apologies for any delays you endured.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 November 2023 via mobile

Great little restaurant in Parnell
Hidden in a walkway off main street this was a real gem to find.
Reasonably priced meals and drinks.
Excellent service and food was delicious.
Can't wait to return again in February 24

Date of visit: November 2023
1  Thank Geoff T
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Bevins, Owner at Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2023

Thank you for the review Geoff

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 November 2023 via mobile

Definitely worth a visit the food is amazing.
For entree we had the Elephant sausage which had a lovely kick to it. Enough pieces for two to share.
For main we had the sweet and sour pork which was excellent. The meat was so tender and the fruits in the sauce just gave it a lovely taste. We also tried duck pad Thai which was lovely. The duck gave it just a delicious touch. Both mains were enjoyed with the jasmine rice. Meals sizes were very large.
Dessert we shared the banana fritter again delicious.
Wine a little pricey but we shared a bottle of the Syrah from Hawke’s bay.
The restaurant is nearly deserving of a 5 but service was a little slow but don’t let that out you off.

Date of visit: November 2023
Thank T5356VKbarbarah
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Bevins, Owner at Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2023

Thank you

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2023 via mobile

We stumbled across this adorable restaurant by following the blue footprints. The food was amazing! It felt like you were receiving a big warm hug…comfort food with a kick. The Tom Kha soup is outstanding…the best I’ve ever had. I highly recommend this fabulous restaurant.

Date of visit: October 2023
Thank Libbynelson
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Wayne Bevins, Owner at Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell, responded to this reviewResponded 22 November 2023

Thank you Libby

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.