We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best Thai in town!!!!”

Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell
Ranked #18 of 2,468 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$41
Cuisines: Asian, Seafood, Thai
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Delivery, Reservations
Description: Auckland's taste sensation in a warm cosy atmosphere with great service. Whether for a romantic dinner or lunch, a catch up with friends or family or for business entertainment, we can cater for your needs. With seating capacity maxing out at around 40 to 50 (depending on seating arrangements), it is advisable to make a telephone reservation. The restaurant also offers great wines, cocktails, beers and a nice selection of teas. Open 6 nights (closed Mondays & public holidays)
Reviewed 27 June 2016

went to this restaurant with business partner, heard about this restaurant from my friend, we had tofu dish, scallops and grilled fish of the day and white jasmine rice, my favourite was the scallops dish with coconut cream, broccoli and mushroom,love the atmosphere of the restaurant, Romantic!!!! the staff were really friendly and the service was good.

Date of visit: June 2016
1  Thank HalfKiwi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (747)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

197 - 201 of 747 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2016

This small restaurant is tucked away down a small alley in Parnell Rd. We were welcomed with an opened door and went in to a beautifully warm area.Very attentive staff who continually topped up the water glasses. Lovely food and plenty of it. The fish was cooked just right and the stir fry was delicious. The entrees were an art with wonderful combinations of flavours and just the right heat in the spices. One guest was Gluten Free and this was no problem with separate menu. Staff please be reminded that GF soya sauce is readily available so you can remove the comment at bottom of menu. You can start adding to the food. Nice to go somewhere where the music is at the correct level, the place is warm, the staff are continually talking with you and the food and service is out of this world. Congratulations on keeping the standards high!

Date of visit: June 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank richardmartin747
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 June 2016

The food was great, the service was fabulous (they're dressed like flight attendants, what's up with that?), all in all a wonderful way to end an afternoon walking around Parnell.

Date of visit: April 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Monica94601
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2016

Since my wife and I are vegetarians, we wanted to try something other than Italian so decided to give thai a try, considering it has good ratings.
The restaurant is in a small street so can be a bit difficult to find - we walked by the street two times before realizing/noticing the street.
The restaurant is small and quaint - with nice decor. We had made reservations ahead of time via hotel, and we were glad we did. The hotel was full around 8 PM and there were a handful of other tables all with reserved signs.
The staff is very friendly and easy to talk to.
We had spring rools, panang curry, and lychee/pineapple/cashew fried rice, a glass of wine, and beer between the two of us. The spring rolls were okay but the panang curry was really good. We wish we didn't order the fried rice as it wasn't very good. The rice didn't have enough flavor to battle the sweetness from lychee and pineapple. We ended up eating all the lychees from the rice.
The wine my wife ordered wasn't very good either. I wouldn't recommend their wine. However, they have a decent selection of beer so you are better off sticking to that.

The area itself is not very exciting. We had hoped to walk around after dinner, but after walking up and down the street two times, we decided to go back since all we could find was an ice cream joint.

Overall it's a decent place if you want to eat dinner in the area instead of by the harbor. I am sure their meat dishes are much better but for veg, stick to the curries.

Date of visit: January 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 581anishs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 June 2016

We are so impressed with this place. Thai is our absolute favourite culinary and Blue Elephant I believe presents the best we have eaten... worldwide. A divine mix of tradition and innovation. So well balanced, increased by exciting and surprising explosions of flavour. The service is full of empathy and goodness... you feel embraced. So much for anonymity in the city,...the beautiful lady owner recognized us from our first visit 12 months earlier. Now that's a rare gift these days. We highly recommend this fabulous restaurant. It has so much we are missing in modern society. Take your time, explore the menu,... ohhh and if you like beer, Hop Federation Golden, a local NZ craft beer, provides the perfect pairing to these outstanding dishes.

Date of visit: May 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank gansjes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Blue Elephant Thai Restaurant Parnell? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing