We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, but poor service, particularly the Somm”
Review of Sidart

Sidart
Ranked #9 of 1,982 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $210
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sidart Restaurant is an award winning fine dining restaurant located in the Three Lamps Plaza, 283 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby, Auckland. We are open Tuesday to Saturday for dinner from 6pm and Saturday's for lunch. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
Reviewed 3 June 2024 via mobile

Have had amazing experiences here before. Came with my partner on a degustation deal they were running. The food was great, although not quite up to the standard I had been used to before. It was the service that unfortunately let them down. For a top five restaurant, you don’t expect to have to think about the service. Your water and wine is refilled before it’s empty, you’re asked if u want another drink when you’ve finished your current one. Unfortunately this didn’t happen and was frustrating as we saw staff standing around. Desert also took a long time to come out. The biggest let down was the Sommelier, who was apparently covering for someone else and was rude and arrogant, which is completely unacceptable.

Date of visit: May 2024
Thank RyanGhisi
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (951)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

2 - 6 of 951 reviews

Reviewed 16 May 2024

Very professional service. Excellent food. Great atmosphere. Interesting menu which changes. Been for both Lunch and Dinner and still delighted!

Date of visit: March 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank JaneJ2114
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 7 May 2024

Great Scran ... wasted on a neanderthal like myself as I eat anything that moves .. literally.

However my good lady was more than impressed with her birthday night out and a 10 course tasting for her dinner, paired with wine to suit it put a constant smile on her face... she's the classy one in this sketch

But Seriously .. the Menu and Wine was really out of this world in both taste and presentation and I would rate the whole experience worth if you want to experience fine dining plus great creative food art and flavour.

Nailed it Sidart Thankyou !!!!

Date of visit: May 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Raptor72
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024 via mobile

I had heard good things about Sidart, and put it on my list as a must do when in Auckland.

The service was outstanding, nothing too much trouble, including altering dishes to suit dietary requirements.

The food was wonderful, the Waygu probably the best beef I have ever had!

The views were also stunning, if you get a chance to go, you will not be disappointed!

Date of visit: March 2024
Thank Alan-Manc86
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 16 April 2024

We went to Sidart to celebrate a special birthday, with a special dinner. We opted for the 6 course tasting menu, which was both very well presented and of course very tasty. For our group, the six courses was enough to fill us up, but we did have the option of adding in a bit more if it was required. The team at Sidart were very friendly and knowledgeable about the food and wine. Our first choice of red wine was not available on the night, however our wine we settled on was excellent.

This is a top end dining experience, which I rate as good as any top end dinner we have had overseas.

Date of visit: April 2024
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Tony H
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sidart also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sidart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.