We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A very disappointing fine dinning experience”
Review of Sidart

Sidart
Ranked #9 of 1,978 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $25 - $210
Cuisines: International
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Description: Sidart Restaurant is an award winning fine dining restaurant located in the Three Lamps Plaza, 283 Ponsonby Road, Ponsonby, Auckland. We are open Tuesday to Saturday for dinner from 6pm and Saturday's for lunch. We are closed on Sundays and Mondays.
Reviewed 13 July 2020 via mobile

We ordered Chef's table experience for 4 of us. To be clear, we are very keen foodies and tried many places before including other fine dining restaurants in NZ. However, we were quite disappointed with the experience given what we paid for. We love the snacks very much but from there on all 5 out of 7 courses were quite similar in flavour, just with different protein. The website doesn't say it's an Indian restaurant so it's a bit misleading. We agree that the execution is great the protein is cooked to perfection. But if it's just good cooking we could have gone elsewhere and pay much less. We expected more interaction with the chef other than just explaining the dishes which is not much different from other diners, or had us experiment something special at the table. The seating is not ideal either. I was facing my back to the kitchen so couldn't see anything in the kitchen unless I kept turning around. Would not recommend, I personally think it is overrated and is not worth $195pp.

Date of visit: July 2020
6  Thank SpontaneousSGN
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (950)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

68 - 72 of 950 reviews

Reviewed 12 June 2020 via mobile

Outstanding! This restaurant has many accolades and it’s easy to see why. Everything was delicious, beautifully presented and so, so tasty. Hard to pick out any particular dishes as they were all magnificent. Brilliant

Date of visit: June 2020
1  Thank RDMacLeod
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 26 May 2020

Came for a anniversary dinner - Loved the food very cool.

Design of the restaurant needs a refresh - loose the carpet - feels a bit like you are dining in someones house/apartment a bit which is fine in a way but could be better.

Great food though! Service great too

Date of visit: June 2019
3  Thank SmallGrey
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 17 March 2020 via mobile

It was brilliantly presented and cooked - but the spices were overpowering and caused us much grief afterwards. We are not used to such concatenation of spices. We have been to top places in India and not had this reaction. Prefer Sid at French Cafe.

Date of visit: March 2020
1  Thank Dick74
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 15 March 2020

The Maitre'D was exceptional, and the food beyond delicious. The mushrooms, eggplant and fish were so spicily tasty, and the serving of beeswax with the cheese really appreciated. A beautiful restaurant.

Date of visit: March 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Ranipuss
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Sidart also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Sidart? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.