We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dinner and Drinks”
Review of Hello Beasty

Hello Beasty
Ranked #7 of 1,982 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Description: Contemporary NZ fusion cuisine, inspired by the cuisines of Japan, Korea and China. Relaxed all day dining on Auckland's Viaduct Harbour. Open every day from 12pm.
Restaurant details
Description: Contemporary NZ fusion cuisine, inspired by the cuisines of Japan, Korea and China. Relaxed all day dining on Auckland's Viaduct Harbour. Open every day from 12pm.
Reviewed 15 December 2020

We were lucky that we booked since it was quite packed when we arrived for dinner. The menu had a few interesting looking items but I was kinda disappointed that they didn't have their cup noodles anymore. We grabbed some dishes to share.
We had a few orders of the Wagyu brisket gua bao and katsu sando so that we had enough for everyone. Both were quite tasty. The chicken in the katsu sando was cooked perfectly as it wasn't dry even though it was breast meat. I also quite liked the stick pork hock bun but was surprised it can as pan fried baos.
Although all the dishes we had were really tasty, there were two that were really good, the KFC, Korean Fried Cauliflower, and the prawn and crab toast. The cauliflower was crispy and really tasty. The prawn toast was really crispy and had a really nice flavour. the crab on top make it decadent and then the slices of beef on top was almost like a surf and turf.
The desserts were interesting quite interesting. The marshmallow was really nice. I liked the stickiness and lightness of it. The coconut sorbet was interesting, it had the flavour of coconut water so the flavour was a bit more subtle than I was expecting. The doughnuts with the salter caramel were very easy to eat too.
It was a really nice place for dinner. The menu is very interesting and there were a few items on there which are worth the trip back for.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
2  Thank Acineto
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviews (319)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

141 - 145 of 319 reviews

Reviewed 3 December 2020

I have become a recognized regular here and I've taken almost all of my friends, clients and family here as it quite frankly is the shining star of restaurants in Auckland in fact in NZ.
The service is perfect the food sublime and everyone I bring here goes again.
Be warned...the food is highly addictive 😋..

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank Debzfromnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 3 December 2020

while not a great fan of shared plates this restaurant does it very well. We took the wait persons advice and were very pleased with the variety, presentation and quality of the dishes.
Desert, not a shared item? rounded out the meal very nicely.
excellent crema on my short black too.
meal and drinks were good value for the money.
The only drawback that it seems a very noisy space

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank nzfargo
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 8 November 2020 via mobile

Did the $85 chef's favourite dishes outstanding. So tasty, sat up at the chefs bar and watched the action in the hot house. A great team, fantastic food and great service. Well recommended!!

Date of visit: November 2020
Thank GaryA193
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
Reviewed 18 October 2020 via mobile

Visiting Auckland and met with family for dinner. Service was awesome and we had a range of tapas. The flavours were delicious and it was a fun atmosphere. The tapa meal sizes didn’t quite work with a group of six, so was almost like having canapés, probably needed to order more, but it was more about the night out and catching up with family and as a location it worked well for that.

Date of visit: October 2020
Thank Pukekawa
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.

Travellers who viewed Hello Beasty also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Hello Beasty? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.