We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food and service, despite hassles from the ferry.”
Review of The Riverhead

The Riverhead
Ranked #64 of 2,345 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$28
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
Reviewed 8 September 2017

I was part of a group of 20 friends who took the ferry from Auckland to have lunch at the famous Riverhead Tavern. We had booked 2 tables from 11.30 to 2.00 to give plenty of time for a large group to be fed without rushing. Unfortunately, through no fault of the restaurant, things didn't turn out as we had planned.
Firstly the ferry left Auckland nearly half an hour late and this would not have been a problem, had the skipper not announced as we arrived that the ferry would be leaving at 1pm rather than 2pm. We told the restaurant staff who were very helpful, sat us down and took our orders quickly. The food we ordered was very good in variety and with large (sometimes too large) portions. Because of the limited time, we were not able to order coffee or desserts, although when we got back to the ferry we were told that the sailing time was now 2pm so we trooped back up to the restaurant for more lunch. They made excellent coffee and several of us had very good affogatos.
It is a pity that lunch was a bit of a hassle through no fault of the restaurant, as the food was good and the serving staff were great, organising our meals in a rush. Maybe at some time in the future we'll go back and have a real leisurely lunch.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Anne W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 10 September 2017

Hi,
It was lovely having you up at The Landing...I remember your group well as we were thrown under the bus by the ferrys that day. Thanks so much for being so understanding and we'd love to see you again under less stressful circumstances.
Kind regards
Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (547)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

17 - 21 of 547 reviews

Reviewed 4 September 2017

Great Atmosphere , nice venue, good meals
Nice friendly staff , very attentive
Enjoyable night
Kids loved their desert.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Natalie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 6 September 2017

Thanks for taking the time to post your review...so glad you and the kids enjoyed yourselves! See you again soon cheers Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 August 2017 via mobile

Always had a vision of a spot that was a standout worthy of the famed boat trip or a bit of a drive from the big smoke - not!
Were was the selection of local (Ak) brews? Instead as good a craft beer selection both tap and bottle to be had was Monteiths -surely...... The wine selection same - zero imagination - zero effort. Salt & Pepper squid was great in a spicy Harissa sort of way but not true to name. Tarakihi (fish of the Day) was fresh and appropriately subtle but the mushy peas were dry and lacking in interest and had none of the comfort food element that the real thing would add to the dish. Overall there was nothing other than the view from the window to make our visit something to remember. We could have sat for quite a while ... supping and sampling - instead we left the city at 12.15 and were back within 2 hours - pity.

Thank dajaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 30 August 2017

Humm interesting! We don't claim to be the craft beer capital but we do have a large selection of beers including Tuatara and Lagunita, (Americas largest selling IPA) and a wide range of Monteith's Craft range which includes Pilsners, IPA and double IPAs, Pale Ales, Aged Porter, Stout & Ripa Red. Our wine list has been designed to offer a wide cross section of some of New Zealand’s premier wines from boutique wineries through to the larger producers. It also showcases 7 varietals from our local wineries given that we are in the oldest wine making area in New Zealand. We are very proud of our wine selection which we hand selected.
Our Salt & Pepper Squid is served with fresh chilli, spring onion & kimchi dressing…sorry there’s no harissa anywhere near this dish??
Your explanation of the boat trip also sound very odd… it takes 1.5 hours to make the trip from central Auckland. The ferries stay here for 2- 2.5 hours and it’s another 1.5 hours to get back to Auckland. It can’t be done in 2 hours?? ....were you at The Riverhead??

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2017

Not my first time at the Riverhead. And I am again very pleased with the service and the great meals. The standard has never gone below high. I will always recommend this as my favourite restaurant.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank bob19472016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks so much, what wonderful review! I'll pass this on to our team, it will make their day, kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2017

Stopped in the bar for a drink before going for a meal. My wife ordered a coffee. After a seriously long time I asked where the coffee was to the embarrassment of my wife among the group. The bar staff went looking and came back with a cold coffee. Very poor service despite the bar staff standing behind the bar twirling the bottle opener around his finger looking bored. then I ordered a bar snack, perhaps not hard to believe that the same sequence of events ensued. Time to sort the staff out before they drive the customers away.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Neil R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 29 August 2017

Thanks for the feedback...we hear you.
This is totally not acceptable and I have passed your comments on to our bar manager.
thanks again Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing