We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delightful environment ”
Review of The Riverhead

The Riverhead
Ranked #83 of 2,260 Restaurants in Auckland
Price range: US$7 - US$27
Cuisines: Bar, European, Pub, New Zealand, Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Kids, Child-friendly, Groups, View, Special Occasion Dining, Business meetings, Local cuisine, Bar Scene, Romantic
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Brunch, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Outdoor Seating, Parking Available, Private Dining, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Description: Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
New Zealand
Level Contributor
71 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Delightful environment ”
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Whether you choose to be seated inside or out, both options offer a delightful setting. Outside offers the beauty of nature with the trees, birds and waterway running alongside, inside offers warmth on those colder afternoons and evenings. Having frequented several times now, I continue to return. The meals are mostly consistent and recently there has been a marked improvement in the dessert menu. Worth a visit for couples, friends or business.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank kiwifamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review, 9 September 2016
Thanks so much...we hope that you will continue to come to The Riverhead. We are continually looking at ways to add more to the experience and have a few small developments underway for summer including a covered deck area outside the Boat House and Portage Bar and we're extending the dock space before summer. Looking forward to seeing you again...kind regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

499 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    215
    132
    79
    43
    30
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
13 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Two visits”
Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Our daughter suggested this restaurant after our visit to the Saturday markets at Matakana. We were served by Jules on our first visit. She was lovely & very knowledgeable with the food on offer. The first visit was outstanding due to Jules' personality & service. We can't help but book for dinner. Dinner was mediocre but the food was still very good. We will definitely come back.

Visited August 2016
Helpful?
Thank Marissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review, 7 September 2016
Hi, I take it you enjoyed your experience with us and we'll look forward to seeing your next time...thanks Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
253 reviews
109 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
“Good Food”
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We had dinner with friends, and we really enjoyed it. The atmosphere was good. The meals were all very good as was the service The setting and atmosphere were very pleasant and a great night was had by all.

Visited June 2016
Helpful?
Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review, 7 September 2016
Great to hear you had a lovely time here at The Riverhead. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon...thanks for taking the time to post your review, cheers Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
Level Contributor
27 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Average”
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We arrived for lunch and sat outside where smoking is not allowed and that is probably the best thing going for this restaurant. Idyllic views but unfortunately this upmarket restaurant does allow small children and we felt like we were in a crèche at times with the noise. We both had beer battered fish and chips (2 pieces of fish per portion) we were not aware of this so ordered onion rings as a side which were also a massive portion. Comments from staff member that we ordered enough food for a week unacceptable and again when we were finished and our plates removed the comment was that 'gee they ate all of it'. We had not eaten all the chips (they were soggy) and 1/3 onion rings remained. Both my husband and I also left pieces of thick gluggy batter and I left a piece of fish that was undercooked. No comment about that to us and in fact we were not asked if the meal was satisfactory. Batter was awful and cakey and fish did not flake nicely like it should if cooked properly. Also quite tasteless. Served on paper (which it does not state on menu) and personally I don't like eating salad and other food on paper in a restaurant where you are paying a lot of money. Wine expensive. No RTD's for sale but there are expensive cocktails. Service average. Welcoming staff but no need for waitress to give opinion on what their choice of food and wine are because we didn't ask for it.

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank 524CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review, 7 September 2016
Thanks for your review. I'll take your comments on board and will discuss all of them with our team. We are a family friendly restaurant and assume that parents will keep an eye on their well behaved children. We supply toys and activities for them in the hope that they will have as enjoyable time as their parents. kind regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Auckland, New Zealand
1 review
“beautifully renovated, historical hotel overlooking river”
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Meals great value, nice atmosphere, fire in the hearth, good service, can highly recommend it. Plays nicely to its historical origins.

  • Visited September 2016
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank f0rdy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this review, 5 September 2016
I'm glad you enjoyed your time here, we'll look forward to hearing from you again sometime? kind regards Paula
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

Kumeu, Auckland Region
Auckland Region, North Island
 
Kumeu, Auckland Region
Auckland, Auckland Region
 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing