We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Delightful environment ”
Review of The Riverhead

The Riverhead
Ranked #68 of 2,344 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$11 - US$29
Cuisines: Gastropub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Nestled on the shores of the upper Waitemata, The Riverhead is steeped in local history and was a vital part of the development of early New Zealand. Prior to The Riverhead being built on this site, Thomas Deacon, the original owner, owned a pub on the point just below where The Riverhead now stands. The early Maori used this landing point as the place to disembark and portage their waka across land to the Kumeu River to get easier access to the lands in the Far North. Early immigrants then used this same route to travel north, disembarking at Helensville and continuing by ship north via the Kaipara Harbour.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 via mobile

Whether you choose to be seated inside or out, both options offer a delightful setting. Outside offers the beauty of nature with the trees, birds and waterway running alongside, inside offers warmth on those colder afternoons and evenings. Having frequented several times now, I continue to return. The meals are mostly consistent and recently there has been a marked improvement in the dessert menu. Worth a visit for couples, friends or business.

Thank kiwifamily2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 9 September 2016

Thanks so much...we hope that you will continue to come to The Riverhead. We are continually looking at ways to add more to the experience and have a few small developments underway for summer including a covered deck area outside the Boat House and Portage Bar and we're extending the dock space before summer. Looking forward to seeing you again...kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (533)
There are newer reviews for The Riverhead
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

184 - 188 of 533 reviews

Reviewed 6 September 2016 via mobile

Our daughter suggested this restaurant after our visit to the Saturday markets at Matakana. We were served by Jules on our first visit. She was lovely & very knowledgeable with the food on offer. The first visit was outstanding due to Jules' personality & service. We can't help but book for dinner. Dinner was mediocre but the food was still very good. We will definitely come back.

Thank Marissa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Hi, I take it you enjoyed your experience with us and we'll look forward to seeing your next time...thanks Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We had dinner with friends, and we really enjoyed it. The atmosphere was good. The meals were all very good as was the service The setting and atmosphere were very pleasant and a great night was had by all.

Thank john j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Great to hear you had a lovely time here at The Riverhead. We'll look forward to seeing you again soon...thanks for taking the time to post your review, cheers Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 September 2016

We arrived for lunch and sat outside where smoking is not allowed and that is probably the best thing going for this restaurant. Idyllic views but unfortunately this upmarket restaurant does allow small children and we felt like we were in a crèche at times with the noise. We both had beer battered fish and chips (2 pieces of fish per portion) we were not aware of this so ordered onion rings as a side which were also a massive portion. Comments from staff member that we ordered enough food for a week unacceptable and again when we were finished and our plates removed the comment was that 'gee they ate all of it'. We had not eaten all the chips (they were soggy) and 1/3 onion rings remained. Both my husband and I also left pieces of thick gluggy batter and I left a piece of fish that was undercooked. No comment about that to us and in fact we were not asked if the meal was satisfactory. Batter was awful and cakey and fish did not flake nicely like it should if cooked properly. Also quite tasteless. Served on paper (which it does not state on menu) and personally I don't like eating salad and other food on paper in a restaurant where you are paying a lot of money. Wine expensive. No RTD's for sale but there are expensive cocktails. Service average. Welcoming staff but no need for waitress to give opinion on what their choice of food and wine are because we didn't ask for it.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 524CAS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 7 September 2016

Thanks for your review. I'll take your comments on board and will discuss all of them with our team. We are a family friendly restaurant and assume that parents will keep an eye on their well behaved children. We supply toys and activities for them in the hope that they will have as enjoyable time as their parents. kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2016

Meals great value, nice atmosphere, fire in the hearth, good service, can highly recommend it. Plays nicely to its historical origins.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank f0rdy1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ribs300, Owner at The Riverhead, responded to this reviewResponded 5 September 2016

I'm glad you enjoyed your time here, we'll look forward to hearing from you again sometime? kind regards Paula

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Riverhead also viewed

 

Been to The Riverhead? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing