We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Artistic Presentation of dishes”
Review of Cooke's

Cooke's
Reserve a table
Ranked #16 of 1,968 Restaurants in Auckland Central
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $1 - $70
Description: Located in Fable Auckland, Cooke's Restaurant & Bar pays homage to the famed eatery of the same name which first occupied the Windsor House building in 1928. Immerse yourself in the opulent art deco surroundings as you enjoy carefully crafted dishes. With a strong focus on nourishing wholefoods, the menu also features signature dishes that put a modern twist
Restaurant details
Description: Located in Fable Auckland, Cooke's Restaurant & Bar pays homage to the famed eatery of the same name which first occupied the Windsor House building in 1928. Immerse yourself in the opulent art deco surroundings as you enjoy carefully crafted dishes. With a strong focus on nourishing wholefoods, the menu also features signature dishes that put a modern twist
Reviewed 2 January 2024

I chose the ŌRA KING SALMON MOSAIC described as "cucumber and jalapeno gazpacho, yuzu gel, wasabi and avocado mascarpone puree, squid ink tuile, tobiko"
Being unable to envisage how a gazpacho, which is a cold soup, could be served as a Salmon dish I queried the waiter who confirmed that the dish was cold and advised that the salmon was raw. Being intrigued, as I still could not picture the dish, I ordered it in spite of my misgivings concerning raw seafood, having had an unsavoury experience when consuming raw oysters many years ago at an upmarket Auckland Restaurant. To my relief the Salmon was hot smoked, which I prefer. When this was pointed out to the waiter he insisted it was raw salmon that had been smoked, so still was, in his judgement, a raw food dish. There was no tuille, the squid ink appeared to have been used to create the Salmon Mosaic effect.
A great dish deserving 5 stars, but waiter ignorance and inaccurate description loses a star.

Date of visit: December 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Peter W
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FB Manager, Other at Cooke's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Hi Peter,

I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Cooke's restaurant as your dining venue and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

We are delighted to learn that you enjoyed our Salmon Mosaic and we apologize for the inconvenience caused. I am further investigating to avoid similar situations in the future. Thank you for bringing to my attention.

Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Arber Hysko
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviews (221)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

7 - 11 of 221 reviews

Reviewed 28 December 2023

We made reservations for Christmas Dinner. When we arrived they did not have our reservation but sat us anyway which was nice. It was a pre-set meal - some of the dishes were better than others. The green gazpacho lacked any seasoning and the poached apricots were as hard as a rock. The smoked venison and the lamb was delicious.

Date of visit: December 2023
Thank JacobFDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FB Manager, Other at Cooke's, responded to this reviewResponded 29 December 2023

Hi Jacob,

I would like to sincerely thank you for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our restaurant ambience, food and service provided by our team. Your comment on Gazpacho will be shared with our kitchen team to avoid any mistake in the future.

Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Arber Hysko
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 December 2023

This was our first booking through First Table and it was amazing! The timing was perfect for dinner before a concert. There were only two or three other couples in the whole restaurant, so it felt like we had the place all to ourselves. We wondered whether we would experience a lower standard of service because we were getting the food for half price, but if anything we got special treatment. Service was prompt and attentive. They gave us complementary fresh-baked bread with oil before dinner. The cocktails were superb - powerful tastes - they do not skimp on ingredients or water them down. The eye fillet steak was nice - at least 8/10. But the chicken was unbelievable - the tenderest we have ever eaten - 10/10. The dessert of roasted peach and dark chocolate gelato was excellent. The portion sizes were perfect for us, but be aware that you dine at Cooke's for the taste and quality, not for the quantity. The presentation is top-notch. The chef and bartender each personally came to the table to check that their work was up to standard. We would not often dine at a restaurant of this calibre, but First Table made it affordable, and we are so glad that we did.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Roger K
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FB Manager, Other at Cooke's, responded to this reviewResponded 4 January 2024

Hi Roger,

I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Cooke's restaurant as your dining venue and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our restaurant ambience, food and service provided by our team.

Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Arber Hysko
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 November 2023

We enjoyed a very special meal, and really appreciated the attentiveness and care of the staff, especially Umut.

Date of visit: November 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Kim S
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FB Manager, Other at Cooke's, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2023

Dear Guest,

I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Cooke's restaurant as your dining venue and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our restaurant ambience, food and service provided by our Umut.

Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Arber Hysko
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 November 2023

Excellent service and food
Realise that getting our child sorted would mean extra would run smoothly
Child meal included a dessert as well
Food was excellent

Date of visit: October 2023
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank johnfencing
This review is the subjective opinion of a Tripadvisor member and not of Tripadvisor LLC. Tripadvisor performs checks on reviews as part of our industry-leading trust & safety standards. Read our transparency report to learn more.
FB Manager, Other at Cooke's, responded to this reviewResponded 28 November 2023

Hi John,

I would like to sincerely thank you for choosing Cooke's restaurant as your dining venue and for taking the time to share your feedback on Tripadvisor.

I am delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay with us and that you were pleased with our restaurant ambience, food and service provided by our team.

Once again, we truly appreciate your feedback and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

With kind regards,

Arber Hysko
Food and Beverage Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Cooke's also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Cooke's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
Revenue impacts the experiences featured on this page, learn more.
© 2024 Tripadvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in New Zealand. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.