We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top notch walking, views and food in the Waitakere Ranges.”
Review of Awesome Walks

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Auckland Central
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Awesome Walks
Reviewed 7 June 2017

Multi day hiking isn't always easy if you don't have all the gear or skills, but some of us want to do the hard walk without then pitching a tent at the end of each day while surviving on dehydrated camping food. Which is what makes Awesome Walks so well.. awesome. The Hillary Trail in West Auckland has never been more achievable with Pip and Alex helping choose at itinerary based on their experiences, and then when you finish walking for the day, you'll find a beautifully appointed caravan waiting for you, all snug and cosy. And what's more all your food will be waiting for you too. Gourmet delights, a hot shower, it really couldn't be better thought out. If only all hearty hikes were like this!

  • Stayed: June 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank elisabeth e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipMandis, Owner at Awesome Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Many thanks Elizabeth, lovely words and really pleased you had a great time. Yes, the Hillary Trail is very magical and it's our delight to make it more accessible, achievable and, well, enjoyable!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (7)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 7 reviews

Reviewed 12 May 2017

My parents organised this trip so I didn't know much about it before I went - I was absolutely amazed by the whole experience. It was a joy to meet Pip and Alec, their two beautiful dogs, two cats, and three chickens! They were so welcoming and had thought of everything we could possibly need. The trip was a perfect balance between adventure and holiday - the walks were beautiful but exhausting (!), so it was lovely to spend our evenings in the comfort provided. The food was truly incredible too! Thanks so much for a wonderful time.

  • Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Grace F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipMandis, Owner at Awesome Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thanks Gracie, it was our pleasure to host you and your parents and are delighted that you had a wonderful time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 April 2017 via mobile

Fantastic hosts Philippa and Alec made this a 3 day walking adventure to remember! From well planned and stunning views on our walking routes, to delicious and interesting artisan food and condiments, and warm, well equiped caravans with such attention to every detail, this was without doubt the finest glamping and trekking experience. Cannot recommend more highly.

Stayed: April 2017
1  Thank Alister B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipMandis, Owner at Awesome Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thanks Alister - we loved hosting your group and are so pleased that you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 April 2017 via mobile

Who'd have thought you could experience such a primeval setting only 40 minutes from Auckland? Superb hiking along the Hillary Trail, hosted by a hyper-professional crew at Awesome Walks. Camping with a difference - luxurious caravan accommodation and unbelievable food. You won't lose weight on this hiking trip. Highly recommended!

Stayed: April 2017, travelled with family
1  Thank Lawrence S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipMandis, Owner at Awesome Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thanks so much Lawrence - yes, the Waitakeres are indeed a magical getaway so close and accessible to Auckland. And I'm quite sure you walked off the home-baking!!!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2017

This is such a great find. A really unique experience coupling comfortable, clean accomodation, with access to the best of the Waitakeres hikes and walks. There is so much flexibility around what walks you can do and with Philippa and Alec's great knowledge of the local area this can be adapted for anyone of any ability. We had to change ours because of bad weather but still were able to get out and experience the magnificent bush and coast, followed by truly magnificent home cooked food. The caravans are very comfortable and well equipped to make this an incredible weekend.

  • Stayed: March 2017, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank Anne M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PipMandis, Owner at Awesome Walks, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2017

Thanks for the lovely review - and for choosing Awesome Walks. We love sharing this magical area with our guests and are delighted that you had a great time.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Auckland Central
19.7 km away
Kiwi International Hotel
Kiwi International Hotel
#32 of 66 in Auckland Central
702 reviews
21.9 km away
Quality Hotel Parnell
Quality Hotel Parnell
#18 of 66 in Auckland Central
687 reviews
7.7 km away
Bush Sand and Sea
Bush Sand and Sea
#1 of 1 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
43 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 km away
Bamber House Hostel
Bamber House Hostel
#1 of 130 in Auckland Central
383 reviews
8.7 km away
Bethells Beach Cottages
Bethells Beach Cottages
#1 of 2 in Te Henga (Bethells Beach)
140 reviews
19.3 km away
Haka Lodge Auckland
Haka Lodge Auckland
#3 of 130 in Auckland Central
322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Awesome Walks? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Awesome Walks

Address: 27 Turanga Road | Henderson Valley, Auckland Central, Auckland 0612, New Zealand
Region: New Zealand > North Island > Auckland > Auckland Central
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #27 of 130 Speciality Lodging in Auckland Central
Price Range: $225 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Awesome Walks offers unique, fully catered accommodation to hikers in the Waitakere Ranges west of Auckland. Accommodation is in cabins and fully equipped caravans and food, linen and all supplies are provided. Hosts help plan the hike and, once guests set out with a day pack only, they relocate the caravan, complete with personal possessions, food and beverages, at the overnight destination. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing