We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Seriously!!?? What!!??”
Review of Tart Bakery

Tart Bakery
Description: We are Tart Bakery, a vegan, full of soul, family bakery producing food with flavour and ethical for the future generations and our beloved planet. We pride ourselves on offering affordable and tasty food for every costumer that walks in one of our two shops. Pop up in one of them (either Grey Lynn or 183 Karangahape Road, St Kevin's Arcade) and try one of our pies, yes... VEGAN pies! Have a chat with the staff and treat yourself with a kind food.
Restaurant details
Description: We are Tart Bakery, a vegan, full of soul, family bakery producing food with flavour and ethical for the future generations and our beloved planet. We pride ourselves on offering affordable and tasty food for every costumer that walks in one of our two shops. Pop up in one of them (either Grey Lynn or 183 Karangahape Road, St Kevin's Arcade) and try one of our pies, yes... VEGAN pies! Have a chat with the staff and treat yourself with a kind food.
Reviewed 10 September 2017 via mobile

This place is incredible. It took a lot of convincing that I wasn't eating cheese and ham in my beautiful flakey pastry treat this morning.

Amazing quality and tastes amazing.
Highly recommend for any plant based eaters looking for a bakery treat.

1  Thank Vckm2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa S, Proprietário at Tart Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2017

Hey Vckm2014, we brag ourselves about the light and flaky pastry coming off the oven every single morning! We are glad your breakfast with us was tasteful and absolutely animal free, what makes everything meaningful! Spread the word, ethical food is being served! Thank you very much for your review and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (29)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 23 of 29 reviews

Reviewed 19 July 2017 via mobile

Best bakery yet for Vegan sweet treats and savouries. The pies are beautiful, pizzas delicious with plenty of toppings and the blueberry custard sweet is so scrummy! Would highly recommend to anyone and I mean anyone. You don't need to be Vegan to adore and appreciate the food they provide. All around yummy! And get in quick, they're very popular and tend to sellout of their food on the day! Yep, that's how good they are!
Also you can purchase some of their products on the cruelty free NZ website if you find it hard to travel there.

1  Thank katyw593
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa S, Owner at Tart Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Hello Katyw593, there's room for all food lovers at Tart Bakery, bring your vegan and no-vegan friends to treat yourselves with our food full of soul and love. If the Grey Lynn shop is sold out pop up at our St Kevin's Arcade brand, 183 Karangahape Road or the other way round.
Thank you my dear, Tart Bakery.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 July 2017 via mobile

Vegans and vegetarians this is a must visit! So many delicious and delectable treats to choose from! Special mention to the spinach & cheese pies, cream donuts and pain au chocolate. Yum!

1  Thank gintyminnie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Philippa S, Owner at Tart Bakery, responded to this reviewResponded 2 December 2017

Wow, what a lovely description of our beloved Tart bakery! You make our big heart full of joy with your words!!
Thank you and see you soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 July 2017

The lady behind Tart has cleverly figured out the aspects of butter that you need to make a croissant (with the layering of the pasty etc) and replicated this using animal-free alternatives. The results are the most realistic tasting pain au chocolates I've ever tried! Their pizza is to die for (definitely my highlight) as well as their monthly burger night and their constant stream of tasty pies in the pie warmer, all vegan but otherwise just like any other bakery in NZ. It's no wonder they won a NZ Herald Best Bakery 2017 award! I'm a regular to this place now, love it.

2  Thank Kelda B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2017 via mobile

I have just discovered this little gem, ordered almond milk latte, blueberry pastry and a vegan sausage roll! It is a hit! So unusually pleasant! Food looks and tastes delicious, so fresh and served with a smile! You need to try this place out! Today!

1  Thank Extraordinary448412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tart Bakery also viewed

Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 
Auckland Central, Auckland
Auckland Central, Auckland
 

Been to Tart Bakery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing